We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds,Fablulous location,Awesome views”
Review of Estate Lindholm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estate Lindholm
Ranked #1 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gillsville
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful grounds,Fablulous location,Awesome views”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Estate Lindholm for 8 days,April 25-May 3,2013. Lauren picked us up at the ferry as we did not rent a jeep like most do.The gardens at the estate are breathtaking! Hibiscus,bougainvillea,gardenia,palms and many other well kept plants made us feel like we were truly in paradise.Our room-Genti was perfect for us,very clean and cozy.Had everything we needed.
We chose to hike the trail daily to "our" Honeymoon Beach and spend the day relaxing and swimming there. We walked down the hill into Cruz Bay and enjoyed some great meals at a different restaurant each day. After dark we would take a cab back up to enjoy the rest of the evening on our balcony taking in the view of Cruz Bay & St.Thomas.
Lauren and Brion are delightful hosts and take time to add little details that really make a difference.Sweet Leo is the groundskeeper,Nellie took care of our room,they both do a fabulous job.
I only wish we didn't have to leave. We WILL be back one day!!! Marte & Erik

Room Tip: We stayed in Genti - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    41
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
339
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent 5 nights at Estate Lindholm and I'd say that our experience was both pleasant but disappointing. It's not entirely the hotel's fault--we had terrible weather and were forced to spend a lot of time in the room--but the hotels's shortcomings were magnified as a result.

PROS
- Fantastic location above Cruz Bay, walking distance down hill but not really up unless you are prepared to sweat - on the north side, meaning easy access to north coast beaches (Trunk, Cinnamon, Hawksnest, etc). Recommend renting a car in any case.
- Excellent views of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas - definitely get a room with a balcony facing the bay
- Beautifully manicured grounds
- Decently large rooms with high ceilings, ok bathrooms, nice balconies, good A/C, mini-fridge (helpful to store your own beers/sodas/beach snacks), plates/silverware, bottle opener
- Complimentary beach chairs, coolers with ice - very useful when hitting beach

CONS
- NOT a service-oriented hotel - they clean your rooms (as long as you get out early enough in the day) but everything else is basically do-it-yourself, including continental breakfast. This is fine as long as you don't expect to be waited on at all. That said, everyone is nice and professional.
- Shower would literally go from hot to lukewarm within 90 seconds. Don't expect to take a long shower. It was explained to use that we only get 6 gallons of hot water. Understandable because fresh water is at a premium on the island but still, it's disappointing when you're taking separate showers and you're showering in pool water. Could be due in some way to perhaps solar heating (if they have it) not providing enough warmth due to poor weather while we were there.
- We hated the bed and pillows - odd-shaped bedframe where mattress didn't go to the head so there was a big gap which pillows fell into Not nearly enough usable pillows. They should provide more (and am sure would have had we requested such)
- Honestly a bit dirty at times - it's the islands but you hope not to have ants in your room which we did. And one day our room was not cleaned even though we left the room at 11am.
- A bit pricey ($300/night) for just the room with view without any other real amenities but St. John tends not to be cheap so weigh that against other options.
- Can't really blame them for this but rain on roof is incredibly loud and we had a lot of it. Downside to having a room on the 2nd floor.

Lauren and Christy(?) were very nice and helpful and they do a good job but it's definitely a somewhat do-it-yourself, low-key place. Just know that you're not staying at a 'resort'. Honestly, unsure whether we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with the bay view. We stayed in Jumby which was solid with high ceilings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cofernuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our stay at Estate Lindholm was a wonderful experience. Perched high above Cruz Bay, the place is quietly and unfussily beautiful. Lauren and Brion Morissette make you feel most welcome, have plenty of information available and let you go the way you would do with guests at your home... set up a variety of good and simple breakfast items, get to know you a bit and let you spin out your own version of leisure and exploration. The serene ambience and time taken to bring beauty into even the small details speak of much thought and care. This is not a resort, nor is it meant to be. We took taxis instead of renting a car and did fine with that. Rooms all have lovely views and are clean and comfortable. Thanks to Lauren for making this such a special place.

Room Tip: If you have creaky knees and have spent any time on the short, but steep walks up from town, conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel2mundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with Estate Lindholm and will stay there again on our next visit to St. John. We stayed in the Rendezvous room, and the view from the balcony was spectacular. The rates are a bit pricey considering they are fairly standards and not luxurious, but everything on St. John is expensive. Honeymoon Beach is a quick hike away, but you will want to rent a car if you plan to explore the island and its beaches. We walked down to Cruz Bay for dinner every evening (except the one we spent at Asolare) and opted to take cabs back after the dark. The setting, gardens, and view are beautiful. We enjoyed floating in the pool and enjoying the scenery. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We didn't make it back last year but plan to return in the winter!

Room Tip: Choose a higher harbor view unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecc1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The are lots of beautiful places to stay on St. John but this 14 room B&B has some unique characteristics. It is high on the hill overlooking Cruz Bay with a wonderful view of the harbor. It is only a .3 mile walk into town (easier going down than up) and it is right next door to the excellent Asolare restaurant, which might be the best place on the island to eat. The rooms are very comfortable and Lauren (the owner) and her daughter are extremely accommodating, including a pick up at the ferry. The grounds and the pool are well tended and reinforce the sense of being "away". And as with B&Bs everywhere it is very nice to meet other guests over breakfast and compare notes on how to take advantage of the wonderful assets St. John has to offer... don't just do the various beaches; try the many trails that wind through the National Park that makes up a large percentage of the island. We rented a jeep for the week we were there (avoid C&C Car Rental) but could probably have gotten around almost as well using the ubiquitous taxis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was such a great place to stay. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Beautiful view. Beautiful property and gardens. Nice, clean rooms. Not a lot of breakfast options in the morning, but who wants a big breakfast before a day of snorkeling? The walk into Cruz Bay is quick and easy, consider getting a cab back to the Estate because the hill is a climb. We rented a jeep to drive around the island, but borrowed chairs, coolers, and beach towels from Estate Lindholm. Can't say enough wonderful things! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Genti" room, and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAC514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a great 4 night stay here. We were able to walk into Cruz bay every night for dinner and were able to easily access other parts of the island. Grounds are beautiful with great views and the rooms are spacious. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.5 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Lindholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Lindholm

Property: Estate Lindholm
Address: P.O. Box 1360, Cruz Bay 00831-1360, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Estate Lindholm 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic small inn within the VI Nat'l Park, overlooking picturesque Cruz Bay harbor - walking distance to gorgeous white sandy beaches and the shopping and restaurants of town. Modern, comfortable rooms, with all amenities. Charming old-world ambiance with beautiful gardens. A rare property, with very personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Estate Lindholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estate Lindholm Hotel Cruz Bay
Estate Lindholm St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing