We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique location on St. John”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estate Lindholm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Estate Lindholm
Ranked #1 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
298 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A unique location on St. John”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The are lots of beautiful places to stay on St. John but this 14 room B&B has some unique characteristics. It is high on the hill overlooking Cruz Bay with a wonderful view of the harbor. It is only a .3 mile walk into town (easier going down than up) and it is right next door to the excellent Asolare restaurant, which might be the best place on the island to eat. The rooms are very comfortable and Lauren (the owner) and her daughter are extremely accommodating, including a pick up at the ferry. The grounds and the pool are well tended and reinforce the sense of being "away". And as with B&Bs everywhere it is very nice to meet other guests over breakfast and compare notes on how to take advantage of the wonderful assets St. John has to offer... don't just do the various beaches; try the many trails that wind through the National Park that makes up a large percentage of the island. We rented a jeep for the week we were there (avoid C&C Car Rental) but could probably have gotten around almost as well using the ubiquitous taxis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    41
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
323
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was such a great place to stay. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Beautiful view. Beautiful property and gardens. Nice, clean rooms. Not a lot of breakfast options in the morning, but who wants a big breakfast before a day of snorkeling? The walk into Cruz Bay is quick and easy, consider getting a cab back to the Estate because the hill is a climb. We rented a jeep to drive around the island, but borrowed chairs, coolers, and beach towels from Estate Lindholm. Can't say enough wonderful things! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Genti" room, and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAC514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a great 4 night stay here. We were able to walk into Cruz bay every night for dinner and were able to easily access other parts of the island. Grounds are beautiful with great views and the rooms are spacious. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Estate Lindholm in December and cannot wait to return. The rooms were clean and the property was beautiful and extremely well managed. Lauren picked us up, dropped us off at the ferry and even saved us from missing a day trip by driving us back to the hotel to pick up our passports. The perfect host, there when you needed her, but never intrusive and extremely sweet and sincere. Not being into large resorts and wanting to avoid small BBs, this was perfect. We really cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I just spent five nights at Estate Lindholm. We describe the experience as the perfect vacation. The hotel room was just right for us. Very clean and the room had an amazing view. We enjoyed breakfast each morning and access to the honor bar throughout the day. We often felt like we had the resort to ourselves.

The Estate is in a great location. Easy access to Cruz Bay and the north shore beaches. You will definitely want to rent car. It is very easy to get around, not a lot of traffic. You drive on the left.

We went to several great restaurants during our stay. Aslorae, Banana Deck & Fishtrap were our favorites. Margarita Jim's good for lunch was great.

Our favorite beach was Maho Bay and Trunk Bay was great early in the morning. We would defiantly go back. St. John is the best kept secret. Lauren and Brion were great hosts.

Room Tip: Rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and i first visited Estate Lindholm in December 2008. We returned to St. John in Dec 2012 and stayed at Estate Lindholm again. Although this was our sixth visit to St. John, Estate Lindholm is the first place to stay that we have returned to. We'll be back to the island and will stay here again in the future. We had a very nice comfortable room (Caneel Room, less expensive) with a nice view. The breakfast though simple was quite adequate and enjoyable. The hosts are friendly and gracious. We even had wifi in the room this time - a great convenience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfrank08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for the first part of our honeymoon in July 2012 and had an excellent experience. Lauren picked us up at the ferry (and dropped us off at the end) and was helpful throughout. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of flowers and a small pool. The breakfast is light and informal, but that's all we needed in the morning. There's an honor bar open all the time, which is convenient. The room was perfectly comfortable, with a small fridge. We had the "Mingo" room, which had a splendid harbor view. The location is great, with Cruz Bay down the hill (note: it is steep and dark after dinner) and convenient access to the main road. There's plenty of parking (free) for your rental, which you'll need on St. John. The second part of our honeymoon was at the Ritz-Carlton on St. Thomas, which was lovely, but our stay on St. John was fabulous. We loved our stay and highly recommend Estate Lindholm.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
665 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Lindholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Lindholm

Property: Estate Lindholm
Address: P.O. Box 1360, Cruz Bay 00831-1360, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Estate Lindholm 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic small inn within the VI Nat'l Park, overlooking picturesque Cruz Bay harbor - walking distance to gorgeous white sandy beaches and the shopping and restaurants of town. Modern, comfortable rooms, with all amenities. Charming old-world ambiance with beautiful gardens. A rare property, with very personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Estate Lindholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estate Lindholm Hotel Cruz Bay
Estate Lindholm St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing