We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillcrest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hillcrest”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Found Hilcrest online and we were very pleased with our stay. Location is great, very clean room and well stocked for all your needs. Great view and Phyllis was very sweet.
Our only complaints were that the bed is a bit slumpy and the noise from Cruz Bay at night from the bars is extremely loud.
Besides the that we found the rooms well equipped and maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMooreDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillcreststjohn, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I'd like to thank B. Moore of NYC, for the review.

All of the beds and the futons have a foam topper from QVC. I even have one on my bed, but each person is different and have their own preferece.

Cruz Bay does have music coming from downtown and that is why I installed air condition. Again, not everyone likes A/C.

Again, thank you for the kind words.

Warmest regards,
Phyllis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Me and my husband were travelling for a last minute business/pleasure trip and he had to book fairly quickly. Besides getting some miscommunication from an owner or NO communication from owners with places showing availability for our two-night stay, my husband found Hillcrest. Phyllis responded to us quickly...which everyone take note....this will keep you in business..actually responding to potential customers. We had a peaceful stay and we were pleasantly delighted with the snacks, other food and beverages we had in our room...that was a nice touch! Thank you Phyllis for accommodating us on such short notice, it was appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NishaGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful vacation in St.John and enjoyed our stay at Hillcrest, Orchid suite. The size of the apartment was perfect for our 2 kids and us. It was clean and stocked well with lots of alcohol, drinks, snacks, and breakfast foods which saved us alot of money. It is on a hill, but we didn't mind the walk, and our 4 and 7 year olds handled the walk uphill well too. Phyllis was very nice and accomodating. The neighborhood is safe and fairly quiet. Just an occassional dog barking or hearing a neighbor early in the morning hear and there, but just bring ear plugs and you'll be fine. The location was perfect to go in and around town and we were able to walk everywhere. We didn't even need to rent a car and only needed to use a cab a couple times to go to farther away beaches. If you are looking for a more reasonable place to stay and enjoy St.John and don't need luxury, this is your place! We plan on staying here again!

Room Tip: choose a room with a view and the pagoda was nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gotomeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice place to stay but one heck of a hill to hike up after an evening at happy hours! Cheaper than most.

Helpful?
Thank MCGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We accidentally booked only one night for our five night stay in St. John, so spent the remaining 4 nights in one of her rooms, last-minute. She was so accommodating! The room was ready at a moment's notice & having a kitchenette made all the difference in our stay here. Being able to make our own breakfast every day really made us feel "at home".

She also has a load of beach gear at your disposal, which we loved since we didn't bring any of that with us (snorkel gear, umbrellas, towels).

The one down side was walking up and down that hill when we came/went during our stay.

The view from the room was unbelievable and if we ever go back to STJ, we will absolutely stay with Phyllis.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

spent 3 nights here at the beginning of june. i called owner phyllis from st thomas to confirm our arrival the day before and she reminded me check in wasn't until 3pm. our apartment was called peaceful retreat, which is on the ground floor. the house is up a steep hill just above town: easy walk downhill, not so easy back up, but we made it . if you have a car, there's free parking in front, which is great, because there's almost no parking in cruz bay, and the few lots are very expensive! the apartment was very clean, but a little bit dated. the queen size bed was very comfortable ( we both slept well). there's a flat screen tv in the living room with only 1 channel (espn2), but there are lots of dvds and books in the bedroom closet. phyllis also said there was free wi-fi, but we never used it. i was disappointed there was no bacon and eggs for breakfast (as is mentioned by the website), so we ended up buying coffee, orange juice, bagels and muffins for breakfast, which was fine. phyllis also supplied a bottle of cruzan rum, and 4 cokes and sprites in the refrigerator, plus beach towels and a cooler to take some cold ones to the beach. all in all, we had a very nice stay!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassnitz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

OK.....this is the real deal with Hillcrest. For those people (myself included) who are normally used to staying at 5 Star Hotels this place is not for you. And that is OK. I came to St John with a good friend last year and stayed with Phyllis for 5 days. Our goal was not to stay at a resort with all the trimmings that you'd expect. We wanted a clean place with a good bed, shower and basic kitchen facilities. We weren't looking for Bali Hai. And to be honest for the price we paid we didn't expect it. What we got is exactly what was promised........central location, good sturdy 5 minute walk from downtown Cruz Bay, clean room, bathroom and kitchen. OK....the view is good from the common areas. And it's nice to sit out and have a glass of wine at the end of the day. But it's not the $700 a night view from your private balcony at Caneel Bay. And I think most people realize that when they come.....or at least they should.
We had a great time on St. John. We were out and about everyday from early morning until dark. We'd come back, change and go out to dinner somewhere and come back and go to bed.
St. John is just about as perfect as you can get, especially being so easy to get to from the US. No accomodation on the island is perfect. People can always find something to complain about.
And yes....not everything was perfect at Hillcrest but when we arrived we were met by Phyllis. The room was clean, the shower worked, the refrigerator was stocked and we only had a 5 minute walk to town. Go stay at Caneel Bay if you want something "refined". It really is a beautiful property. Stay at the Westin is you like chain hotels. It won't disappoint. Stay at Estate Lindholm if you want a pool with a real "boutique hotel" experience. It is what it says it is.
For us....the Hillcrest worked great. The price was right. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked just fine and we were able to get anywhere we needed to go without having to rent a car. You get the point.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Property: Hillcrest Guest House
Address: Number 157 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831-0033, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Guest House is a romantic accommodation with million dollar ocean and garden views. $185 to 235/day. 2 day minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel Cruz Bay
Hillcrest Guest House St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing