We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“A false economy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed here as it was one of the cheapest places to stay on the island (not cheap in general terms however) but was disappointed mainly with the standard of cleanliness and the insect infestations but let's start with the positives :
Pros - excellent location, walking distance to cruz bay shops and restaurants (however the steep hill climb was not easy esp in the heat), owner picked up from ferry terminal, welcome guest basket of fruits very nice touch, AC in good working order and good sized rooms.

Cons - thick layer of grime on most surfaces including the kitchen, holes in the mosquite grilles so hey got in and we got bitten to death and worst of all at night cockroaches came out to play in the kitchen!
I wanted to leave but my travelling companion refused. I wish I had as despit how beautiful st john was as an islanf when I remember it the memories as marred by the dread I felt on having to return to this place...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillcreststjohn, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

A professional crew cleans suites before and after arrival. Guest are encouraged to place trash in receptacles just outside their door. Suites are inspected and sprayed in case of attracting anything crawling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

Give it a try, much nicer than a hotel. Walking distance to everything, charming with great food. Hosts know all the ends and outs of the island and are excellent and friendly innkeepers. I come to St John a lot and always recommend this place. Great value, great people, great place.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Equineannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I chose Hillcrest after reading consistent online reviews for 2 years. My last visit to St. John I stayed at Caneel Bay which is extremely pricey. I have to say I enjoyed this trip even more! The owner of the Hillcrest was so welcoming and such a lovely woman. I loved her dogs as well! We stayed in the Front Suite. She stocked the room with lots of alcohol and some snacks and breakfast food, so basically we just ate dinner out each night. So close to town, the hill is a little too steep for me to climb but going down was a breeze. Easily took cabs everywhere, it turned out cheaper than renting a jeep, plus didn't have to worry about navigating those roads! The absolute ONLY recommendation I could think of is to bring your own snorkel equip. or rent it down at Low Key Water Sports. The owner keeps a few sets but if other guests are using your size fins your out of luck. If I had $$ I'd buy some snorkel equipment to donate to the Hillcrest. Loved it and can't wait to visit again.!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank musicsaves9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I had a wonderful time staying here. The place was beautiful, the view was spectacular and the owner was such a pleasure to be around. I think everyone will have an experience like mine when staying here. You will not find another place as welcoming on the island. The owner really makes you feel like family.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jy_brn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Hillcrest is in a perfect location, easy walk to town (the hill is steep but not very long) and quick walk to Frank Bay for great local snorkeling. We stayed there for 3 nights in April 2011 and loved it. Phyllis is a wonderful host and supplied us with some staples in the fridge, not to mention delicious island rum. Her prices are affordable for nice clean basic rooms. When the rest of our group arrived in St. John we moved to a Coral Bay villa and while it was very nice, we really missed the convenience of Hillcrest. If I am lucky enough to go back to St. John, I will be staying at Hillcrest again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookWormTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Hillcrest Guest House on St. John this week. I wasn't for sure of my online choice when we pulled up, but the owner has made it a clean and comfortable place to stay. I enjoy staying at places that are not "chain hotel types". This one reminded me of a restored plantation cottage we stayed in on Maui a few years ago. We stayed in the Tropical Garden Suite at the Hillcrest. It had a bedroom with a queen-size bed, closet, safe; and window air conditioner; a living room with a futon, tv and air conditioner; an adjoining dining area with table/chairs; plus a kitchen with full-size refrigerator, oven, sink; dishes, pots/pans. There is also a private bath with sink,stool and shower. There was a basket provided with bagels, muffins, apples, peanuts, chocolate, tea and coffee; and the refrigerator was stocked with sodas, juices, drinking water, eggs and bacon. I believe there are 3 units/suites that are available for guests and the owner lives in the downstairs suite. We could only get 2 or 3 channels on the tv, but there are DVDs and VHS tapes available for watching. There were outside sitting areas with a couple having ocean-views. There are books and board games for your use. Parking is a little difficult to maneuver, but it is a problem on the entire island. You can walk to town, but it is a good "heart-workout" to get back up the hill. It is only a few minutes walk down to the water - but again a good walk back up the hill. The owner is very nice and has made a comfortable place for her guests. The only con that I can think of is that there is only 1 washcloth and towel per person and those are changed out on 3rd day. Water is a precious commodity on the island though, so I can understand the need for "conservation" by not doing a lot of laundry, etc. Restaurants and food are very expensive on the island - so the full kitchen is nice to have so you can prepare your own meals. It was a little noisy with the neighbor doing some remodeling, but wasn't too bad. There was a wonderful morning and evening breeze outside, so being able to open up all of the windows or sit outside and enjoy it was nice. I would recommend the Hillcrest and we would stay there again if we get a chance to re-visit St. John. If you are wanting "luxury" - this is not going to suit you -- if you want a good clean place to stay with a neighborhood feel to it - you will enjoy your stay here. One recommendation for groceries is the Dolphin Supermarket (by Jake's Cafe.) There is a smaller market, but the food is a lot higher in it. and not as good a selection. Cafe Roma is a good place to eat, though as most places on the island - a bit on the expensive side.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This charming guesthouse has several studio housekeeping apartments with everything you could want for your stay, not only pots and pans but also snorkel equipment, cooler and beach chairs! The thoughtful owner also gives you a welcome basket of food goodies and some basic breakfast items to cook, plus a bottle each of rum and wine. Nice covered outdoor lounge area. Hillcrest is a great place to stay at a reasonable cost. The only negative is an uphill walk from town - short but steep!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Address: Number 157 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831-0033, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $179 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Guest House is a romantic accommodation with million dollar ocean and garden views. $185 to 235/day. 2 day minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel Cruz Bay
Hillcrest Guest House St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing