We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best happy hour on St. John”
Review of Joe's Rum Hut

Joe's Rum Hut
Ranked #17 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definitely the best happy hour on St. John”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We really enjoyed having a few drinks during happy hour (and once after happy hour). Its a really relaxing place with a nice view. The kind of place, that makes you think, yes I am on vacation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPMINFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    269
    64
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Bar food with a view”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We took our kids here for dinner our first night on the island. Every place was packed and it was the only place that could seat 7 people. (So much for June being the off season) There really is no where to go with children on St. John that isn't going to cost you. It was overpriced bar food. Kids enjoyed the burgers. My fish tacos were a huge disappointment. Drinks were great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 6GRTKDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good show, good food, good wine”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Why do I say "good show"? This place is so busy that they have three bartenders all moving as fast as they can to keep up. It was pretty loud the night we were there and super crowded. But the server was so kind and attentive.

We had the Margherita pizza, which they make right there. Man it was great! Believe or not, so was the wine.

But the best part was the service. You really feel welcome and not at all rushed. Great spot with a super view of Cruz Bay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonRainGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great late first dinner on island”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We arrived on island late Sunday night and decided we'd venture to town for a quick beer and bite before bed after a long day of traveling. Food was great (guys loved the burgers, Mom and I loved the fish tacos) and service as friendly and quick. Nice view up above the beach a bit. Good value too. Will return there over Beach bar next time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumne617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great beach fare”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Loved sipping on BBCs and Bushwhackers watching the sunset. The food was great especially the peel and eat shrimp.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Rum Hut also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Rum Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing