We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true delight!”

Singing Dog Sailing
Ranked #19 of 42 Tours in Cruz Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Singing Dog Sailing Catamaran Charters offers luxury USVI & BVI sailing catamaran excursions for private groups of up to 12 passengers departing from St. John & St. Thomas. Superior amenities, attentive service & performance sailing capabilities are features of our charters aboard our spacious 45' (1100 square feet of usable deck and cabin space) luxury sailing catamaran, 'OFF CAY.' So UPGRADE your Coach vacation to First Class with a Singing Dog Sailing catamaran private charter. Let us be your hosts for a memorable day on the water during your next St. John or St. Thomas island vacation. As 'OFF CAY' as you want to be! Singing Dog sailing's luxury catamaran, 'OFF CAY' is stable, comfortable and spacious; you don't have to rub elbows...unless you want to! It's your private yacht for the day! Sailing catamaran 'OFF CAY' ('cause that is where we take you and that is also how the dog sings...) is twice the boat in size compared to mono-hulls of equal length & St John's only first class sailing catamaran offering charters for private groups. Why pay (sometimes more) for an inferior experience? Make your day on the water one you will treasure forever with Singing Dog Sailing where you come as a guest and leave as a friend--without the price-tag you'd expect for a luxury private charter! A NOTE: Trip Advisor members looking for Captain Kelly from St. John--Singing Dog Sailing is the place to find her. So come join the fun and sail with Kelly and the crew of Singing Dog Sailing. Also if you are looking for a reasonably priced mono-hull sailing charter, please consider Salty Dog Day Sails. We are the same company (our sister boat is not new to us, but is a new trip advisor listing, so the rankings are not high YET) with two different boats and levels of service! Try Salty Dog Day Sails for Classic Day sail charters from St. John. (same company, same great service & reputation)!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A true delight!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a wonderful day aboard Off Cay! Kelly, Stephen and Jake graciously welcomed us aboard and made us feel that it made THEIR day to be able to spend it with us. They were perfectly willing to do as little or as much as we wanted to do. As we sailed Kelly shared lots of interesting information about the geography and history of this beautiful spot in the world and never tired of answering questions and sharing stories. We caught up with them later in the week to hear Stephen sing at a local venue and Jake even joined in. The boat is beautiful and comfortable --- the crew is very skilled, loves what they do, and delights in sharing it all with their guests --- the scenery is gorgeous --- who could ask for more!! No doubt we will catch up with these new friends again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PamCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best !”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stephen and Kelly were great hosts and provided us with a day sail we will not forget. Stephen picked us up on the beach at the Westin at 9 am and we were off snorkeling and cruising the north island beaches of St John. We spent the afternoon at JVD before beginning a relaxing two hour journey back. My only compliant was that it should have been a two day excursion. Minot enough time on the boat. The boat is beautiful and the time spent with Kelly and Stephen was great. Thank you so much for a great day on the water and sharing your boat with us. Ric D.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing, Absolutely Perfect Day”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I were headed to St. John, USVI in March. We only had a few days there and I wanted to do something really, really special. A friend from work recommended Singing Dog Sailing, and am I ever grateful that he did. From my first email interaction with Captains Kelly and Stephen, I knew that this would be a special experience. They made all the preparations super easy before the trip, suggesting days and itineraries and other details to make our day amazing.

We were met on the day of the sail by a smiling Stephen in a dingy at the dock of Caneel Bay; I don't think that smile left his face the entire day. As we pulled up to "Off Cay" I could see immediately that the boat was absolutely immaculate. Pride in their boat and in their business was evident in every detail. We met Kelly on board- who quickly proved to be a gracious and warm host- and of course Jake, the dog.

We sailed for the day along the coast of St John where we did some snorkeling in a little-known spot, then on past Tortola over to Jost Van Dyke, hitting Foxy's and the Soggy Dollar Bar. Along the way we were treated to fantastic hospitality complemented by the most genuinely nice people we've encountered in a long time. By the end of the day we felt like we'd known "the Captains" for years.

I can't thank Kelly and Stephen (and Jake!) and Singing Dog Sailing enough for giving us one of the most amazing days ever; they are at the top of our list of places to go back, the sooner the better! You absolutely can NOT go wrong with Singing Dog Sailing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaJoeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh what a day!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent an amazing day sailing with Captain Kelly, Captain Stephen and Admiral Jake. The Catamaran was absolutely gorgeous. We could not have been catered to any more. They welcomed us as if we were family. They shared their knowledge of the USVI and BVI alike. We set sail from STJ with an incredible snorkel at Waterlemon, then off to Foxy's and the Soggy Dollar Bar. If you have any reservations about snorkeling rest assured that they will put you at ease. We truly enjoyed an amazng day with amazing people. Lots of love and thanks to the Capt'ns and their trusty Admiral.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sailing Perfection!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Singing Dog Sailing is a MUST when traveling in St. John. Captains Kelly and Stephen are true professionals. The day was spent enjoying great sites, great food and plenty of drink. If you are looking for a first class experience, Singing Dog Sailing is the ticket. Thank you Kelly and Stephen for a truly wonderful day!

Judy C

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singing Dog Sailing also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Singing Dog Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing