We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Good Shopping

The Starfish market is clean and well-stocked with good selection of groceries and sundries. The... read more

Reviewed January 23, 2019
Skater741
,
Short Hills, New Jersey
Visited the Starfish everyday

Our condo was within a mile of the Starfish market, so we came here everyday. Yes, prices here are... read more

Reviewed August 1, 2018
otseng
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Read all 46 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cruz Bay
from $550.00
More Info
from $800.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $800.00
More Info
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
22
15
5
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
15
5
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hardware store starfish market one stop shopping deli groceries jacks lunch
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 46 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

Pros:
- You'll find just about anything you need to survive during your island vacation stay.
- Opens early and closes late.
- Liquor store right next door.
- Lots of parking spaces.

Cons:
- Expensive, but comparable to other markets on the island.
- Staff is definitely not very friendly with tourists, but who cares, you're not there to make life long friends. You are there to get essentials!
- Lines can be long during busy hours of the day, and the cashiers are not in a big hurry to check-out customers so plan accordingly.
- Big parking lot, but can be full during high traffic times of the day and may find yourself waiting for a space.

***If you are headed for the beach, get CANS of bear. No glass bottles on the beach!! ***

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Traveler1975_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

We were on a cruise which landed in St Thomas so we took the opportunity to visit St John, a picturesque "Sister Island" about an hour by taxi and ferry. A taxi from the cruise port to Red Hook Ferry Port and a 20 minute ride on the hourly ferry took us to a magical place, a little fairy tale island. We had lunch at the Market Place, which makes the best smoothies in town. Thomas, the owner is so generous and hospitable and his staff were so attentive to us. Not only did they cook the delicious conch fritters and chicken filets, they made the most DELICIOUS SEASONAL FRUIT SMOOTHIES and expertly wielded the machete to make the delightful "Rum coconuts", a combination of your choice of flavored local rum - pineapple, coconut and many other flavors - added to your coconut water. REFRESHING! You have to try it when you go there.
We had plans to go to the beach but never made it. We stopped at the Vendor's market next to the wharf and by the time we were done browsing and shopping, it was time to get back on the ferry to our cruise ship. The ferry ride was exhilarating and a scenic taxi ride got us back to the port on time. We have to visit the island again for a longer stay next time, there is much more to see on the island and the beaches looked so inviting. It was a magical experience which we will treasure until we go again.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank DonFerdy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

The prices and selection here are better than any other grocery we have tried on St John. The only downside is that it's a $10.00 cab ride, each way, from the Cruz Bay Area.

Wine and soft drinks in particular are 40-50% less than the in town groceries in Cruz Bay.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank emichaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017

I visited the Marketplace after a morning of kayaking and snorkeling and am very happy I had my taxi driver take me straight there from my hotel. It is on the Eastern edge of Cruz Bay, well away from the water and most of the tourist places. It is is three story open air shopping center with restaurants, shops, a grocery store and a drug store. I went here to grab lunch at Sam and Jack's Deli which sits on the third floor and then made a quick stop at the drug store for aftersun gel. It was a very nice area to shop without the crowds but just a long ways from the main drag.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Central location, bring snacks and cookies form home as they are very high priced, other foods more reasonably priced. Meats, fish, veggies plentiful. Weigh the price against going for BBQ for supper.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank sngvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews