We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful view and wonderful amenities”
View overlooking Rendezvous Bay and the Caribbean Sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View overlooking Rendezvous Bay and the Caribbean Sea
Upper Deck Seating and View Hot tub on upper deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
View overlooking Rendezvous Bay and the Caribbean Sea
Upper Deck Seating and View
Hot tub on upper deck
Lower Deck Seating and View
Pool on Lower Deck
Living Room View
Gated entrance across from off-street parking
Gated entrance across from off-street parking
Native Stone Stairway leads to Villa  Entrance
Featuring Caribbean-Style Pole & Beam Construction
Great Room Living Area
Great Room Gourmet Kitchen
Native Stone Breakfast Bar separates Kitchen and Dining
Great Room Dining for 6
Covered al fresco dining and BBQ on Upper Deck
Sitting for six or four
Covered Breezeway leads to Master Suite and Garden Suite
King Master Suite with en suite Bath
View from Master Bedroom
King (convertible to twins) Garden Suite with en suite Bath
Garden Suite Bathroom
Upper and lower decks
Pool Side Queen Suite with en suite Bath
Lounging areas on Lower Pool Deck
Pool Deck Bath
Experience Caribbean-Style Living at its Finest!
Outdoor dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LovesNewE...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and wonderful amenities”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this fabulous home through Cimmaron St. John and were very happy with our decision. They were responsive to all our questions and booked an excursion for us after listening carefully to what we wanted.
The house had two decks...on one deck was a hot tub, two spacious tables and a state of the art grill, and the other had a small dip pool that was just right for hot days.
Bring mosquito repellent as we had a fair number of them while we were there. It had rained a lot the previous week.
You will need a car to get around and be careful with the very tight switchbacks and hills.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
So happy to see you "loved your new experience" working with CimmaronStJohn and your stay at Phoenix By the Sea! Thanks for providing the island advice for other visitors on bug repellent in the tropics and driving (keep left) on St. John. Finally, glad to hear CimmaronStJohn's personalized concierge staff booked you on the excursion of your choice! We look forward to welcoming you back to St. John!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, New Hampshire
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charbarre...
Orlando, Florida
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice, but...”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If a nice, working jacuzzi is important, this is not the place for you. The jacuzzi is long past needing to be replaced. The controls do not work and it looks like it could fall through the floor to the deck below at any moment. It was also had murky and nasty looking water until the pool guy came halfway through our 2-week stay. He was able to improve the looks of the water a bit, nothing he could do about the non-working controls. So the jacuzzi is basically a large outdoor warm water bathtub.... used by lots of people. Ick!

My husband and I stayed here with two other couples for two weeks. The location and views are heavenly and the furnishings are very comfortable and the pool perfectly refreshing. After the first morning of our friends running out of hot water during showers, they reported the problem. The maintence person responded promptly, but left a note saying there was no problem; that the the two upstairs bathrooms share a 12-gallon hot water heater (the 12 is not a misprint). My husband and I stayed in the downstairs room and that bathroom must have not much more than a 6-gallon hot water heater, as one very quick shower would deplete the hot water supply. There is lots of emphasis on water conservation, so that must the way to insure you don't take long soaking showers.

The kitchen was adequately stocked with dishes, but not well stocked for 6 people -- only 5 coffee cups and reporting the shortage must have fallen on deaf ears, as a 6th cup was never provided. The pans are garage sale cast-offs... Warped skillets that make it impossible not to burn whatever you cook in them.

The outdoor decks were the best part because the views of Rendevous Bay are so magnificent. We spent lots of time outside on the decks. Just heed the warning about raising the shade umbrella when it's windy. And even if it doesn't seem windy, check to make sure the anchor screws are tight before you raise it. Unbeknownst to us, they were not tightened down and a light gust of wind turned the shade umbrella into Mary Poppins' umbrella and it went soaring up and away and crashing down on the roof.

I gave this a Very Good rating because we did have a wonderful stay, with only some minor annoyances related to the house. Overall, it was a wonderful vacation!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2015
Good Day Jean and Leonard,
Thank you for your stay at a CimmaronStJohn property and for providing valuable feedback in your review. At CimmaronStJohn our goal is to meet all of our guest’s expectations and we strive to improve our properties with each guest’s comments. We do apologize for the aspects of the villa that you were less than happy with, but are grateful that this did not overshadow the enjoyment of Phoenix By The Sea and your St. John stay. Rest assured we are addressing your comments and hope to welcome you back for another “wonderful vacation” in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Va.
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: gorgeous location and view
Liked least: Beach chairs are in a bin by car parking space and aren't able to be locked up. As a result, 2 of them were taken by non-renters one day and not returned by the time we departed. Mgmt. co. was informed about this.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kansas City
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toothmom3
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful house on St. John”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just went to St. John for the first time. We found this place online loved it because it seemed to have everything we wanted. It was perfect! Everything was just as described. Our representative, Chris, met us at the ferry dock and led us to the house. Get a 4WD! The hills are crazy. The house was great. Only about 5 min from Cruz Bay. The view was wonderful. They had everything we needed. The third bedroom is downstairs, separated from everything else, so consider that if you are going with kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing, it was great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polymerch...
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So good I hate to let the secret out with my review!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Phoenix by the Sea for a week. It was everything that the online photos and description stated! You couldn't ask for a better location on St. John and the view over Rendevous Bay is amazing. We felt it was just far enough from town and the beaches to have solitude. The deck and all of the sliding doors were great to enjoy the warm breezes. It was a nice perk to have A/C - we only used it in the bedrooms to cool it off before sleeping after being outside all day. The overhead paddle fans in every room provide a great breeze. We even grilled one night and ate out on the deck. The house comes fully equipped with anything you may need: utensils, wine opener, placemats, candles, cooler, ice packs, zip lock baggies, mosquito spray and coils (a must!), laundry detergent and washer/dryer, beach chairs...etc. The decor in the house is nice and bright - the furniture in the living room looked new and the kitchen was recently remodeled. We enjoyed the pool and there is a nice pool shower/bath to use before heading into the house. The management staff is very responsive and was there to answer our call regarding a door handle that came loose and were out within 15 minutes! We would definitely rent this unit again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the bedroom(s) and the great deck
Liked least: the master bedroom is accessed by an outside breezeway that attracted mosquitos around the doors - just come prepared with bug repellant!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing