We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of The Lime Inn

The Lime Inn
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lime Inn restaurant is located in downtown Cruz Bay and has been a favorite between locals and visitors alike since 1984. Still owned and operated by the Meyer family (now daughter, Chelsea, and son in law, Richard) your St. John experience is not complete without a visit to our open-air, friendly, restaurant. We are known for our wonderful staff and delicious and consistent meals. Join us for our all day Happy Hour 11:30 AM to 5:30 PM, where our signature cocktails are $4 and Presidente Beers are $2. Fresh Grilled Caribbean Lobster is served daily along with our famous cracked conch, rum ribs, and house made pasta, just to name a few. You can also eat light with an awesome appetizer selection, fresh salads, and famous soups. No one can leave, either, without a taste of our famous Key Lime pie. We are open for Lunch Monday thru Saturday from 11:30 to 5, happy hour Monday thru Saturday 11:30 am-5:30 and Dinner Monday thru Saturday from 5:30 to 9:30. We look forward to seeing you!
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The food was excellent, the staff was perfect and the atmosphere was just great. I would expect nothing more from my favorite restaurant.
We had a delightful evening and a great bottle of wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks so much for the awesome review, we are lucky to have customers like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    308
    97
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Dined at the Lime Inn with a group of eight friends. Most of us really enjoyed our meal. Our complaints were few, and not entirely the fault of the restaurant. There was confusion on the prices of the dishes and drinks, therefore our bill was much larger than we expected. The $68 lobster tail was the best I'd ever had, however, we enjoyed ever more thinking it was only $34. Oh well. Servers were very quick and friendly. Had to wait an extra 20 minutes even though we had a reservation and were on time. I got the whole flounder and didn't think it was that great. Others had the tuna and mahi and said it was so so. The gazpacho was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CSIguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for hanging with us. Glad your group was generally happy. Sorry you weren't a fan of your dish, we do serve a whole snapper so I think that is what you might have had. It is one of our most popular dishes, so I'm sorry it didn't seem up to par. We are very busy, it's been a great season! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lunch”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We got there into cruz bay and this was a recommondation with a local to eat here. It was excellent food, I had a lobster roll and my husband had the mahi mahi. Both excellent choices. Our waite was friendly and told us of places to check out on the island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
So glad you had a great lunch, it's a great cool stop from the sun for a little swamp water and fresh fish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Friendly staff but food is average”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We choose Lime Inn for dinner based on TripAdvisor reviews and were a little disappointed with the food. My wife and I had the filet and the tuna. The food was okay but certainly not as good compared to the other restaurants in Cruz Bay. The wait staff was very attentive and very friendly which made the dinner enjoyable despite the lackluster food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Recommeded by a local, it had to be good”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Lime Inn was recomended to us by a local, so we know it had to be good. I'm just glad we got there (party of 8) right at opening time becasue boy did it fill up quickly. The food was very good, the atmosphere was enjoyable and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing