We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Twice in one trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lime Inn

The Lime Inn
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Lime Inn restaurant is located in downtown Cruz Bay and has been a favorite between locals and visitors alike since 1984. Still owned and operated by owners Rich and Chris Meyer, your St. John experience is not complete without a visit to our open-air restaurant and a taste of our extensive menu. We are known for our wonderful staff and delicious and consistent meals. Join us for fresh grilled Caribbean Lobster or our whole jerk seasoned and pan seared snapper! You can also eat light with our selection of salads or our famous clam chowder. But don't forget, you can't finish up lunch or dinner without famous Key Lime pie. We are open for Lunch Monday thru Friday from 11:30 to 3, happy hour from Monday thru Saturday at our courtyard bar from 3-6 (1/2 priced drinks), and dinner Monday thru Friday from 5:30 to 10.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Twice in one trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our third trip to St.John, so we were familiar with the Lime Inn. On this trip, we went one night for dinner, only had the out bar and three small tables open, but we found a seat at the bar. Beer is cold, and the food is excellent. Only one server working, and he worked his tail off. Meatball sub (I don't eat seafood) was excellent, and was a large portion. Grilled Caribbean lobster was also delicious. We went back to this restaurant two nights later, and the owner remembered our names. Really made us feel welcome, which we appreciated. Crab legs this night were excellent as well. Always good food here, will definitely eat here again when we return to St. John.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hsvjen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for coming back to see us 2 times on your trip! The Out Bar is a cool little spot and we're glad you enjoyed it. See you soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    272
    83
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was my birthday and folks recommended this restaurant as some place special. Only the prices were special, food was not very good and service was negligent. Waitress argued with me when I wanted a different sauce. Really? I would not return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Artist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
So sorry that you found your waitress to be rude. We pride ourselves on the best service possible and it does not sound like that is what your received. We also try to keep our prices as low as we can, and again, sorry that you did not find that to be the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We showed up with a party of 11 and the staff was terrific. We were seated quickly and served with care, Every dish was tasty and plentiful without being over the top. Seasoning was perfect and presentation was pleasant. The lobster was sweet and perfectly prepared.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgiuffre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant since the 1980's and never miss at least one meal while on St John. The meal I had this year was the best ever- maybe I never had it before- Shrimp dijon- the sauce was to die for. The atmosphere is casual and fun. If you are looking for gigantic portions this is not the place for you but if you want a quality meal don't miss it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Glad you loved the dijon, its been a specialty of ours for 30 years. Can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis MD
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quiet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We returned late from the beaches but managed to slip into the Lime Inn just before closing. They were very gracious and served us a delicious island dinner with great service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank menmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing