We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Aqua Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aqua Bay Villas
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It was just the vacation we needed. The check in went smoothly from the ferry to the condo.Kerry (probably not spelled correctly), was not the usual property manager but she was fantastic! We were even shuttled to the grocery store that evening. BIG help! The condo was just right. Not too big and not too little as Goldilocks would say.
The bedroom was air conditioned and that worked just right. We didn't need the air in the morning or in the evening when we were "at home". We enjoyed the deck with the swing hammock until the mosquitoes would take over. (Bring bug spray or buy it like we did.) The kitchen was adequate. We did not do any cooking there. We ate a light breakfast of fruit and protein bars and packed lunches or bought sandwiches everyday. Then we ate out at night.
The sitting area was again, just right for us. The TV was small but we are not TV people on vacation and didn't need it. The wifi did not work all week but we decided we needed to disconnect anyway and were glad that was the case. We had taken our laptops/ipads and if we had been aware that we would not have access, we would not have lugged them down there. But no biggie.
Kerry responded to our text messages promptly and was a great help with suggestions for a day trip excursion. We took Bad Kitty to the British VI one day. We ran into Kerry a couple of times that week and each time she was available to chat and give suggestions. Could not have had better service at a high end resort!
We were looking for a private, low key, relaxed kind of place and that is what we got. The location was a nice walk into town. Not too far away and not right in the middle of things. Uphill and down hill both ways so we got our exercise in. We could carry out beach chairs and backpacks without melting down to the taxi area. We took the beach taxis around the north shore.
Goldilocks couldn't have said it better--"It was just right!"

Room Tip: There are bugs on St John. It's a battle to keep things clean in the tropics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhaynes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Aqua Bay Villa exceeded all of our expectations!!! The villa is spacious and beautifully decorated. Conviently located to downtown Cruz Bay (a short walk) and a few steps from Frank Bay which has some of the most amazing sunsets you will ever see. The owners are very accesible and will make sure your stay will be a memorable experience. Their management and cleaning team are exceptional. We have been to this beautiful island over 20 times and Aqua Bay Villa is by far the nicest property we have had the pleasure to rent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family had a wonderful stay at Aqua Bay Villas. The 2 villas we stayed in were wonderfully decorated with tropical decor and original artwork of the area (Azul La Mer and A La Plage were the villas we stayed in) It was truly a secret tropical hideaway for us. Every morning we ate breakfast on A La Plage's lovely porch. We walked to town easily and often, and down to Frank Bay, so close by, for sunsets. The beds were extremely comfortable, the pool was refreshing, the iguanas in the lush trees by the pool were a wonderful entertainment for the 2 kids. The a/c was wonderfully cool for the warm summer nights. We loved the showers with views out to the back gardens. The kitchens were well equipped. Parking our rental car was easy, we did not need a 4wd car! I recommend these villas highly. This was one of the best vacations we have ever had, a perfect base for all our hiking and beach days around the island. There were plenty of books to choose from, you could spend months there reading (I enjoyed a Carl Hiaasen novel!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaFlora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The minute I walked through the door I knew we had picked the right spot! We stayed in the villa L'isle Amour and it was heavenly. The design and decor are relaxed and island chic. A great kitchen,couch and TV,wifi,balcony with BBQ and deck furniture. You walk up a spiral stair case to the bedroom where you wake up to a ocean view. Does it get better than that?
Every detail to make your stay great has been thought of. There are beach chairs and a cooler for the beach you can fill with food and drinks for a great day.
The villa is a 5 minute walk from town. Just around the corner is Gallows Point which has a little store that stocks basics,does breakfast etc and rents snorkel gear.
When you arrive Robin picks you up from the dock and takes you to get groceries etc.
I just can't say enough about how great our stay was and we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steep narrow stairs the L'isle Amour villa is not for you. I would look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MitchB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Aqua Bay Villas in Dolphina from 7/1-7/10/2012 for our honeymoon and had an amazing experience. From the moment we walked in till we closed the door the last time, we were in heaven. Robin, the property manager, picked us up for the ferry and took us right to grocery store so we could stock up for the week. This was an awesome touch! It was so nice to have food when we checked in after 18 hours of traveling! The villa was immaculate, beautifully decorated, and contained everything we needed. As you first open the gates to Aqua Bay Villas, the sounds of the bubbling fountain and the sight of the palm trees and other tropical trees and vines invite you into your own island paradise.The kitchen had everything we needed to cook while we were there, including a full stove and oven. And we did cook often! The living room and kitchen were one large open space. The couch is gorgeous and comfortable! A great touch was the iHome- we used it constantly to set the tone while we cooked and relaxed. The bedroom has a beautiful mahogany king sized (super comfy) bed, 2 dressers, an extra large closet, a bookcase with books, and a chair with an ottoman. However, the best feature of the bedroom is the air conditioning! We were there in July and it was hot and humid. The A/C cooled the bedroom right down and allowed for a nice comfortable sleep! There is also a large bathroom and a loft with a queen bed (it was just my husband and myself so we never slept in it). Our favorite feature of the house was the veranda. Not only was there a table large enough to seat 8 but also a grill, a couch and a chaise lounge. Almost everyday after returning from our adventures we would sit out on the deck while reading, napping or just enjoying the great views of the ocean. Another great thing about this place since they provide beach towels and beach chairs! None of that trying to lay on the beach in an itty-bity white bath towel or having to take up all that space in your luggage! We also enjoyed jumping into the pool after a hot day walking through town. There is also a little cabana by the pool that is stocked up with books. On the front side of the property is the little fountain, which you can relax by in the several chairs surrounding it. Thankfully, Aqua Bay provides bug spray (a life saver because after a rain shower the bugs do come out all over the island!) and a book filled up with recommended restaurants, beaches, car rentals, boat charters, and anything else you might want to do on your trip. Since we arrived during Carnival and figured it would be hard to drive around with all the festivities going on, so we only rented a car for the second half of the trip. Luckily, ABV is a short walk (probably 2 minutes) from the beach at Frank Bay (which has beautiful sunsets) and a 5-10 minute walk to the down town area of Cruz Bay. Despite being so close to town, the villas were surprising quiet. We knew there were other guests but rarely saw them. It felt like we were in our own honeymoon hide-away. We definitely felt at home while here and can not wait to come back again. We We had an amazing stay at Aqua Bay Villas and highly recommend it! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Aqua Bay Villas from July 17 to July 26, 2012 and had a wonderful time. This time we stayed in Azul Le Mur, which is a one bedroom villa with a kitchen, dining area as well as a living area. It also had a great deck with a dining area for two. I traveled with my husband and 10 year old son. The villa met all of our needs and then some. Towels and beach chairs are provided which was wonderful since we rented a jeep and beach hopped the entire stay on the island. The villa is in walking distance to town and we were able to walk into town nightly for dinner and shopping but I recommend renting a jeep so that you can explore all that the island has to offer. The villa also has a small plunge pool. The pool was great to cool off after a day at the beach. We also enjoyed using the grill by the pool daily.
The property manager Robin, was extremely helpful by picking up our family from the ferry and taking us over to the jeep rental company.

I would recommend sampling the many restaurants as well as touring the island by jeep. There are so many beautiful beaches and having a car makes it easy to access all of them

We all loved the villa and plan to return again next year with friends or family. We are already planning our trip to Aqua Bay next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at Aqua Bay Villas from July 14 to July 22, 2012 and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in L'Isle Amour, which is a one bedroom villa (read: condo) that has a first floor sitting area, kitchen, and balcony and a second floor bedroom, bathroom, and balcony. The views from our bedroom were fantastic -- and -- the bedroom was air conditioned. This is not common in many of the other accommodations on the island. Meanwhile, Aqua Bay is about a 5-10 minute walk to Cruz Bay, so you are close enough to restaurants, bars, taxis, etc., but far enough away from the crowd. The grounds at Aqua Bay are nice and the atmosphere is very peaceful. The dipping pool was a plus, especially after a day of snorkeling and being in the sun and sand. Because we were so close to Cruz Bay, we didn't need to rent a car or jeep. We took the taxis to the various parts of the island, especially the beaches.

One of the best parts of staying here is that Robin, who manages the property, picks you up at the ferry and takes you grocery shopping the minute you get there. You get to stock your fridge and get your vacation going immediately. We saved a lot of money eating meals at "home" although we enjoyed many of the yummy restaurants in Cruz Bay as well. The only downside was that there is no housekeeping, so you need to tidy up after yourself. Overall, Aqua Bay was a great value not to mention a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cruz Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lavender Hill Suites
Lavender Hill Suites
#4 of 17 in Cruz Bay
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bay Villas

Address: 238 Seagrape Lane, Cruz Bay, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $195 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bay Villas is in a wonderful St. John location; ideal for any vacation, honeymoon or family island destination. A tropical, private paradise of Caribbean styled, fully equipped, rental villa suites located in a lovely neighborhood within walking distance to Cruz Bay where most of the activities, restaurants and shopping are located and approximately 100 steps to a nice snorkeling beach so renting a car is optional. The villa does provide complementary, private parking for our guests who do decide to rent a car for all or part of their stay. Select among four villa suites; each with a seperate entrance, a fully equipped kitchen, a living/dining area, an air-conditioned master bedroom with the bathroom en suite and their own veranda overlooking the gazebo, pool and Caribbean Sea beyond. All the villa suites are fully furnished along with flat screened TVs and WiFi, in addition to kitchens that come complete with: refridgerator, gas stove, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, blender and all kitchenware and utensils. The villa also provides beach chairs, beach towels, all linens, coolers, hair dryers, as well as many other amenities and a triple filter water system. From the moment our guests arrive at the St. John ferry dock, they are transported to a tropical vacation paradise with incredible natural beauty, beaches, views, watersports and delicious restaurants. A wonderful management team, combined with immaculate, comfortable and affordable accommodations that often become one's "island home away from home" make for an experience to be cherished forever! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aqua Bay Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing