We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous deli - just have to know where to find it!”
Review of Sam & Jack's Deli

Sam & Jack's Deli
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $14
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous deli - just have to know where to find it!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Thank goodness for Trip Advisor as we otherwise wouldn't have known about this place! We had visited the Starfish Market several times during our week stay this March, but there is no signage outside of the building to indicate that this deli exists! Once you get inside the building, there is a small sign indicating what's upstairs. We only tracked it down after our Villa manager mentioned it and I looked it up on TA. It's even better than we expected. The sandwich choices are really varied and creative, service was quick and our sandwiches were fresh and quite good. As another reviewer mentioned, the sandwiches are big enough to share. Definitely worth checking out, especially if you want a lower cost option to some of the pricier restaurant fare on the island. Would be perfect to take along for a beach day or hike.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank embie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    132
    28
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!! perfect for a beach picnic!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Most Sandwiches are about $12 and are big enough to split. I asked them to wrap each half individually, which was nice when passing out at the beach. Super yummy breads. I would advise you call your order in, in advance. It took about 20 minutes for my order. They sell blueberry muffins for $1 each. Cinnamon Rolls are pretty pricy, though…depends on the size of them, but about $3-$5 and they aren't that big.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adding to the Praise”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I read a number of reviews of Sam & Jack's Deli that begged a visit when my wife and I went to St. John in March. It was as described and better. The sandwiches, my wife and I had four different offerings during our stay, were large and delicious with a fine mix of quality meats and condiments. "Aunt Dute's Eggplant, described by some as lasagna, is a luscious stack of breaded eggplant layered with cheese and topped with a very tasty tomato sauce. Not to be missed if a rich plate is what you are looking for. One of the owners mentioned that the visitor population is primarily from New England, North Carolina and Colorado, which explained why they had a marvelous barbecued pulled pork sandwich that was the best I had enjoyed since visiting "12 Bones Smokehouse" on Riverside Drive in Asheville. Great food, really nice people and prices that make you enjoy the meal even more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Traveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Based on a friend's recommendation we picked up a sandwich to take with us to the beach.
It. was. delicious!

I believe the name of the sandwich was a Hammy Sammy, which was a very generous portion of ham, with Gouda cheese, crispy friend onions (think French's like you use in the green bean casserole, but homemade) and some tasty dressing. After an hour of hiking and two hours of snorkeling we devoured the sandwich! It was big enough for two adults to split. We were so impressed with the taste and quality.

We will without a doubt return here. I only wish I had known about all they had to offer the day we arrived...we could have picked up one of their ready made meals instead of having ramen noodles!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A16ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Food”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This deli is great! . We stopped either on way to beach or homeward bound. Sandwich selection is interesting and each sandwich feeds two. The only complaint I had in sandwich selection not enough vegetarian choices . Chips are made daily, and the hummus was excellent. Although available, I didn't try the grab and go dinners , but they looked good, too hot to turn oven on! Worth the trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alynn5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam & Jack's Deli also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Sam & Jack's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing