We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BBQ and Happy Hour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Cowboy

Barefoot Cowboy
Ranked #24 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Barefoot Cowboy in Cruz Bay on the beautiful island of St. John in the USVI serves fresh cooked Texas BBQ. Smoked brisket is our specialty. We also offer ribs, chicken and pulled pork. Our sauces are made in house and all our sides are made from scratch. We are open from everyday from noon until we sell out !
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We always love stopping by for happy hour and whatever is on the smoker. Wayne always makes you feel welcome and makes some great Texas style BBO. It is also the only place to find some country music in town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    65
    30
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

My mom and step-dad heard about Barefoot Cowboy earlier this year while they were in Barbados telling a fellow traveler they were headed to my wedding in St. John in July. He told them they MUST go to Barefoot Cowboy for real BBQ. We made an attempt in the early afternoon for lunch but soon learned we were about 3 hours early. So we decided to try again that evening and were so glad we did, The brisket was absolutely amazing. It literally melted in your mouth. The pork and chicken were also delicious. The beans, the coleslaw.....all legit! Our table also had the sliders and tacos which were YUMMY! And of course you MUST give the pineapple-jalapeno tequila a shot. This place was so awesome we went deep sea fishing, caught a Mackerel and immediately took it to Wayne to throw on the grill. He did not let us down. It literally fell off the bone. That night we also had the frito pie and nachos...and yes you guessed it...DELICIOUS! The live music was a great touch and of course we toasted our night with a good ol' PBR. And last but not least our service was fantastic both nights!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BBQ Joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

If your craving BBQ food, head to this restaurant. The appetizers were good as well. Pain in the neck to use bathroom as you need to borrow large spoon key to use it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great island BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wayne has a great Texas style BBQ with an island feel. By god you can't miss his all you can eat on Tuesday and Thursday. Amazing brisket.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctigerlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Friendly service, huge portions, great prices. I have had many items but my favorite is the BBQ nachos.... definitely enough to share!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bridgett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Cowboy also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
 

Been to Barefoot Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing