We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Smoked BBQ in St John”
Review of Barefoot Cowboy

Barefoot Cowboy
Ranked #26 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Barefoot Cowboy in Cruz Bay on the beautiful island of St. John in the USVI serves fresh cooked Texas BBQ. Smoked brisket is our specialty. We also offer ribs, chicken and pulled pork. Our sauces are made in house and all our sides are made from scratch. We are open from everyday from noon until we sell out !
Greenwich, Ct
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Smoked BBQ in St John”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Ate twice at BCL in St. John. Food was very good but unfortunately they ran out of food during their $20 all you can eat dinner so owner managed to put together a couple of sandwiches. Would recommend giving this place a try if wanting smokey BBQ brisket or chicken

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    70
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands Down! The best food on the island!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stopped in here for a drink a few days after we arrived on the island. During this time we viewed the menu and spoke with the owner. We returned for lunch the next day and I have to say I was BLOWN AWAY! Great staff and INCREDIBLE food! We've eaten at a lot of restaurants during our 7 trips to the island and I have to say nothing compares to this place!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravlr799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food! Great Fun! Great View!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had a group party here and it was a blast. Pool tables, foose ball and a great view over the National Park dock. Had the sausage, puled pork and slaw. It was SO GOOD! Parking can be a little trickey.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank VISunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this bar as a tourist”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was a local's hangout, but they made us feel very welcome and the drinks were cheap and the music was great!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrows5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Food, Service, and Entertainment were great!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The redneck sandwich was soooo good. Some of the best pulled pork barbecue ever! Try the vagilicious drink! And they have live music every so often....playing country music, of course. The service here is also top notch. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blanquita79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Cowboy also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Barefoot Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing