We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food, excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sogo's Restaurant

Sogo's Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 57 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thi was just what we were looking for! Food with a local flare in a casual environment! The owners were wonderful. We had the kingfish creole special and it was awesome!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic flavor, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We eat here every time we're in St John. Don't be fooled by the unpretentious appearance, the food is excellent and always served with a smile.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanackmamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
small town
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True taste of Caribbean in a simple looking place...soo GOOD!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Sogos 3 times on our visit. It is simple looking but dont be fooled...Wonderful Flavors!! King fish in creole sauce is excellent, Jerk chicken paks a spicy PUNCH, yum!!(entrees are around $20...but u get a LOT!!! With sides)
But the chicken curry Roti $10 was the BEST!! It is made on Wednesdays & Saturdays ONLY!! So come for it!! The soup of the day was so delicious>>Pumpkin($6) and "Velt" makes homemade Johnny cakes to go with it (they are incredible, melt in your mouth GOOD)
We will be back!!! For more..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wannabecruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“💛💙💜 Best Food in St John's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Tired several restaurants in Cruz Bay and hands down this was my favorite. I'm a foodie who loves quality over quantity and typical never finishes my plate. I ordered the curry goat and came close to licking my plate clean. The flavor and tenderness of the dish was perfection. Only regret is I wished we found the place earlier in our stay, as we would have gone back several times.

If you are looking for amazing carribean food Sogo is the place. Plus the owner is a really sweet, chatty and friendly man.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Caribbean meal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in Sogo's on an early Saturday night and had a wonderful meal! My husband and I both had a special of the day ...the king fish in creole sauce. The creole sauce was a delicious complement to the meaty king fish as were the six accompanying side dishes. We were truly surprised with my son's dish which was also a special of the day ... spaghetti with meatballs in a home made tomato sauce. The golf sized meatballs were the most tender I have ever eaten. Between the three of us we ate them all!! The johnny cakes were also a delicious treat. The If you are a foodie, then dinner at Sogo's is a must ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sogo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sogo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing