We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Food”
Review of Fatty Crab - CLOSED

Fatty Crab
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Barbecue, Malaysian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving Funky Southeast Asian Inspired Cuisine!We serve our food in an unconventional manner, where there are no appetizers or entrees. The food comes out of the kitchen as it is prepared by the Chef. Therefore, we recommend ordering several dishes off of the menu and encourage sharing. Our cuisine is made up of locally sourced ingredients when available. Our flavor profiles are comprised of spice, sweet, sour, salty, and savory. Our cocktails are just as flavorful and as interesting as our cuisine. All of our wines were sourced from Michael Skurnik Wines and were hand-picked by Michael himself. The wines were selected to complement the wide variety of flavors in our cuisine and they were shipped in temperature controlled containers to ensure the integrity of the wines.We believe this style of dining creates an intimate, comfortable, and fun atmosphere. We serve sophisticated dishes in an unpretentious manner.If you are a diner looking for a traditional dining experience, there are lots of other great restaurants on island, come in for a drink and we'll recommend a few.Live well and be happy!
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Creative Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Got some late night apps here and was pleasantly surprised with the food. Everything in St. John is expensive dining wise, this was perhaps a little better value than most. Very creative food in a modern-ish but attractive setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedoublee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    112
    33
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious, delicious, delicious”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

There are so many things to love about this restaurant - the staff is so nice, the food is both creative and delicious, and the vibe is super relaxed. But what we loved the most is that the Fatty Crab folks clearly LOVE food. They create amazing, complex dishes. They spend time explaining the food when it arrives, and are great about giving recommendations. It is such a pleasure to eat at a restaurant that knows food, loves food, and shares its passion for food. We went twice in one week. We loved everything, but were particularly impressed by the fish fry sliders, mango papaya salad and the pulled pork. And whatever you do, don't miss the coconut panna cotta for dessert - it is indescribable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Familywingerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite meal of the trip!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The most unique food! Amazing. Papaya salad and the indonesian fried rice were so delicious that I'm still thinking about them. We wanted to go back a second night on our trip. Delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitty153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food Makes Up for Any Shortcoming”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Located across the street from the local Curz Bay baseball field and on the edge of Wharfside Village, Fatty Crab doesn't exactly look worth a visit. If you go, however, the food more than makes up for its location. The fare, as described at its website, is Malaysian-inspired. While I do not know much about Malaysian cuisine, everything we ate on our visit was superb. Like virtually all the good restaurants on St. John, Fatty Crab is not cheap eats, but it is well-worth the cost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great mahi over curry noodles and shrimp fried rice and great service. Just barely off the beaten path, but great atmosphere and unique menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank malks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty Crab also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing