We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Classy Sea Legs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatty Crab - CLOSED

Fatty Crab
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, Spanish, Asian, Fusion, Wine Bar, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Serving Funky Southeast Asian Inspired Cuisine!We serve our food in an unconventional manner, where there are no appetizers or entrees. The food comes out of the kitchen as it is prepared by the Chef. Therefore, we recommend ordering several dishes off of the menu and encourage sharing. Our cuisine is made up of locally sourced ingredients when available. Our flavor profiles are comprised of spice, sweet, sour, salty, and savory. Our cocktails are just as flavorful and as interesting as our cuisine. All of our wines were sourced from Michael Skurnik Wines and were hand-picked by Michael himself. The wines were selected to complement the wide variety of flavors in our cuisine and they were shipped in temperature controlled containers to ensure the integrity of the wines.We believe this style of dining creates an intimate, comfortable, and fun atmosphere. We serve sophisticated dishes in an unpretentious manner.If you are a diner looking for a traditional dining experience, there are lots of other great restaurants on island, come in for a drink and we'll recommend a few.Live well and be happy!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classy Sea Legs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The squid! The crab fritters! And the duck sauce! All so good! It's one of those restaurants that's on the upper echelon but is well worth it. Compared to the rest of the bars on St. John Fatty Crab has the best music and is the cleanest most modern establishment. TRY THE RECESSION SHOTS

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CALIBUDz2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    112
    33
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not really worth a visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The atmosphere is nice.. Their portion sizes are quite small for the price you are paying. I had ordered the pulled pork.. bad idea.. it tasted ok but wasn't anything worth complimenting. I ended up Nauseous for a few hours after we left. It was really just a bad experience all together. Not going to eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting menu for those with an adventurous palate.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've been to St. John previously and avoided Fatty Crab, due to the menu selections. Didn't seem like our cup of tea. We were encouraged by a friend who raved about his dinner there, so we decided to bite the bullet and give it a shot this time we were on the island. The results were mixed. We ordered 5 menu items to try (all small portions). Loved the fried wahoo sliders! The pork sliders left something to be desired. The pork was a little fatty and the sauce wasn't the best. The salad of local greens was bitter and not what I was looking for. The crab fritters were excellent and the crispy fried potatoes were good. The sauces were different and surprisingly good. The service was above average and the restaurant itself was very clean and nicely decorated. I would recommend a visit, although I don't know if we will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovindislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ehhh, Skip it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The food mostly tasted good, if you like spicy foods, but the portions are expensive TINY.
How tiny? I mean $40 local fish entree was about 1" x 2" 1/2" and had no side other than some a couple of weird vegs.
Food served as it cooked? This is truly bizarre one why the heck did we ordered an appetizer then the first think they serve is an entree which my friend ordered - btw: Fried shrimp - about $28 - whole 5 of them on tiny plate. My wife rightfully confused it for an appetizer ...

Look at bad reviews : Most of them are right on the money. The deserts "menu" , which was told to us (vs just printed one) confused as us much we just decided to skip it all together

There are plenty of decent restaurant in the area. Just skip it

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Value1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas T, General Manager at Fatty Crab, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I would like start by saying thank you for not only giving us a try, but also for taking time out of your day to write a review. Restaurants like Fatty Crab use customer response as a tool to improve. In this case it seems that we missed the point during our greeting process. Our service staff is taught to explain our style of service, spice levels and the portion sizes well before any guest orders. By your comments I have to feel that we somehow failed to achieve that. Please know that I will recover this aspect of our standard tomorrow. As for your critique of our prices, they are not correct. The line caught local fish is listed at $27.00, not $40.00 and the 1/2 pound order of shrimp list at $22.00. Fatty Crab St. John always aims to have every guest leave understanding our concept and with the impression that their money was well spent. Hopefully, we will have another chance to impress you somewhere down the road. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The sliders are BEST we have ever eaten. The pulled pork was great. Also, The Recession is nice. Go there and have a few!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tlong60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty Crab also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing