We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to try the others!”
Review of Fatty Crab - CLOSED

Fatty Crab
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Barbecue, Malaysian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving Funky Southeast Asian Inspired Cuisine!We serve our food in an unconventional manner, where there are no appetizers or entrees. The food comes out of the kitchen as it is prepared by the Chef. Therefore, we recommend ordering several dishes off of the menu and encourage sharing. Our cuisine is made up of locally sourced ingredients when available. Our flavor profiles are comprised of spice, sweet, sour, salty, and savory. Our cocktails are just as flavorful and as interesting as our cuisine. All of our wines were sourced from Michael Skurnik Wines and were hand-picked by Michael himself. The wines were selected to complement the wide variety of flavors in our cuisine and they were shipped in temperature controlled containers to ensure the integrity of the wines.We believe this style of dining creates an intimate, comfortable, and fun atmosphere. We serve sophisticated dishes in an unpretentious manner.If you are a diner looking for a traditional dining experience, there are lots of other great restaurants on island, come in for a drink and we'll recommend a few.Live well and be happy!
Watchung, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Can't wait to try the others!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food was great - the staff very friendly. Must try the Indonesian Rice - went back again 2 days later because it was that good!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rjbk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    112
    33
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went to dinner at Fatty Crab on a whim. An absolute must try! Our server was excellent and answered all of my many questions about the different items. He was so knowledgeable on all menu items and I really enjoyed talking to him about the food after we finished.

For dinner we had the mussels, fried rice, pulled pork and crab ramen (sharing plates is suggested). Wow! Those mussels were DEVINE! How they make them so spicy but in a tolerable way, I just don’t know? Crab ramen so so good! I could eat that for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pulled pork yum and now dessert: Coconut Panna Cotta. WOW WOW WOW! I have never tasted a panna cotta so rich and creamy without any heaviness what so ever.

Can’t say enough good things about this place. If you’re in St. John, treat yourself to a little Fatty Crab.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari6625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fair food, small portions, high prices”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our least favorite eatery on St. John. We didn't like most of the food, the service was slow, and the prices were high. The Indonesian Rice was good as was the the pulled pork but the portions were very small and the prices were high, even by St. John standards. The ribs were rubbery, the mango salad was tough and not very tasty, and the sliders were tough and also not very good. I would not recommend the Fatty Crab.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TonesterPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of Cruz Bay's Best!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The past week was our first trip to St. John and we dined at The Fatty Crab 3 times, with each visit was better than the last. Everything from the salads (Josephine's Greens were outstanding) to the BBQ (great pulled pork sliders), to the rice dishes (try the Indonesian fried rice) was excellent. The waistaff was friendly, efficient, and enthusiastic about the menu. The drinks were creative and refreshing. If you're in Cruz Bay, make sure The Fatty Crab is on your agenda!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recessions and Crab Ramon Noddle Bowl”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you are spending anytime at all, Fatty Crab St John is a must. We had THE BEST time there downing their signature cocktails, Recessions and eating their amazing food. The pork belly and watermelon is so good, you can't order just one. The Recession is 3 separate parts made up of pickle juice, whiskey and beer...yep, it's amazeballs!! Cara and Branden are incredible servers and know how to have a great time. Tell em the crew from Sarasota sent you!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank assuntaswier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty Crab also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing