We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night life”
Review of The Beach Bar

The Beach Bar
Ranked #17 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good night life”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Seemed like the place to be in Cruz bay. Always had a good crowd and a band playing. I unfortunately drank too many pain killers my first night there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robdawg925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    431
    111
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great bar, surprisingly good food!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stopped by here several times during the day for drinks, and once at night, after a sunset cruise. I can only recall what my husband and I had, but everyone enjoyed their food.

My husband had their fish and chips, and I had the special that night, which was some sort of chicken wrap, served with fries.

No live music the night we were there, but the music played on the speakers was wonderful. It was nice sitting on the sand and looking at the boats lit up in the bay, some decorated for Christmas. While we were out there, some guy stopped and drew our pictures with what looked like a 1/4" piece of charcoal. The drawing was so far off from how we all looked, that it was hilarious. We got a huge kick out of it. We each gave him $10, even though our gut instinct was to tell him we weren't interested at first. It ended up being one of our favorite memories, and it was fun interacting with the people who are lucky enough to call this island their home.

Keep in mind, while sitting on the sand, there is no wait service. We had to walk back into the bar area to order. Our food was brought to us, but we had to go back in for each reorder or drinks. No biggie though.

We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OctoberLuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
“The place to go...!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you're looking for fun, relaxing, good food, awesome music, right on the beach place to go, then head to The Beach Bar. The staff is equally as friendly and attentive. Every night we were in St. John, we ended up at The Beach Bar. What a great atmosphere and overall great time! I'll be back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best bar on the island”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place on St John.. Food is decent, but the draw is actually the location.. Here you can sit with your drink right on the beach with live music in the background twice a week. Ultimate wind-down spot!

Helpful?
Thank AennKaezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good bar food and great view”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Good selection of bar food and good "island" drink selections. I highly recommend the "Dark & Stormy" rum cocktail and the Crab Dip. Just the right combo coming off the beach.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Bar also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing