We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, generous hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved the place. The room was clean and comfortable, although it might use more storage options like shelves or hooks. The hotel is within minutes walking to everything in Cruz Bay and the hosts will point you in the right direction. The simple but just what's needed breakfast on the deck was a welcomed part of our stay. We could hear some of the nightlife noises one night, but we enjoyed the island and the hotel so much that a tiny inconvenience like that didn't matter. Vibrant nightlife is a part of St. John's attractiveness. I recommend this hotel to anyone who loves the simple life and prefers to spend the vacation enjoying all the island has to offer. We will be coming back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KryskaTNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 476 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

David and Denise were amazing hosts and their hotel was exactly as advertised and what we had hoped for. As other reviewers have indicated, the location is right in the heart of Cruz Bay within a 3-4 minute walk from the Ferry. It is an easy walk to shopping/restaurants and there is a Jeep rental company right next door if you want to rent a car. The room was very clean and the staff all extremely friendly and helpful. They provide coffee and breakfast treats each morning which also gave you the opportunity to ask questions and obtain advice as you plan your day's activities. This was our first trip to St. John and we were just completely blown away by the beautiful beaches and amazing food. We will definitely be back to both St. John and the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel as it was truly a perfect trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Its downtown location is perfect. You can walk everywhere. The rooms are small but offer everything you will need. The fridge in the room was nice. We enjoyed the breakfast on the patio and chatting with the other guests. There are 2 car rental places right next door. David and Denise can give you beach towels and beach chairs for the day. There is also a beach within walking distance, Salomon Bay or you can hike to Caneel Bay. Thank you David & Denise for a great stay! Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the perfect spot for a single traveler, or young person looking for a small budget friendly place in the heart of downtown St. John. It is in a great location just feet from all the central shops and restaurants of Cruz Bay. We spent one night there, and unfortunately it happened to be the one night out of the year that a big rap festival was going on right outside our window shaking our whole room with the loud bass until the early morning hours. However, after only getting 3 hours sleep, the owner, David, was super apologetic and accommodating and helped us to relocate to another hotel for the rest of the week that was less surrounded by the downtown noise. If you are looking for a luxury resort with all the perks and a great view, this isn’t the place for you. If you are looking for a basic room to hold your bags while you spend more time playing around the island than in the room, then this boutique hotel is perfect for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevojax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Boutique Hotel 4 nights while we where exploring St John. We rented a jeep from Delbert Hill Jeeps next door which was convenient while staying at Boutique and parked free in their lot overnight.

The price is good, the hotel rooms were very clean and the location is very centrally located to explore Cruz Bay and St John. The continental breakfast on the porch was nice. The owners Denise,David and his mother were very friendly and helpful. Our room #2 had a welcome package that included snacks, drinks and rum. Rooms had a mini-fridge and were stocked with bottled water daily which was handy for taking while hiking. There was free use of coolers, chairs and other items. Some other reviews said that the rooms were small, but we didn't think so. There was plenty of room to walk around bed. We were very satisfied and would stay here again. The rooms could use a little TLC like maybe a couple more shelves and places to hang stuff. The rooms were kept spotless daily.
The entire Cruz Bay is only a couple blocks, so Boutique Hotel is very well situated to most of its restaurants,bars and shops. Everything is very walkable and the area seemed safe. A 5 minute walk you can be anywhere in Cruz Bay from this hotel.
.
We like to note something that happened. We misplaced a hat that one of our kids gave us, we searched jeep, and room with no luck and figured it was lost. We mentioned it to Denise as we where checking out. Just as we were getting ready to board ferry we saw Denise running down the street with our missing hat. Thanks Denise for finding it..

A negative thing that happen, but not fault of Boutique Hotel. Our first night there a band was playing at a local bar a couple doors down. We were warned in advance when we checked in by David and Denise and they provided earplugs and a free drink coupon for the inconvenience. We went to dinner and went back to our rooms by 10pm, and no band noise, so we thought everything was good. NOOO, from about 11pm till about 3am this band played nonstop loud-pounding music. Even with earplugs, AC on and radio it was impossible for us to sleep. Cruz Bay needs to put noise ordinance in place, so music is toned down maybe by midnight. I love music, but night all night while trying to sleep.Where we live, they all be arrested. Again, this is no fault of Boutique Hotel, they did not cause the noise but we felt it needed to be mentioned. All the other nights were quiet and we had no problems sleeping.

We recommend a stay at the Boutique Hotel while visiting St John. This is a great central location to explore St John.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My mom and I just returned from a wonderful stay at Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. Denise and David are excellent hosts. They always had helpful suggestions for what to do or wear to eat. Thy even have beach towels, chairs, coolers, and sunscreen that guests can use free of charge. The room was very clean, spacious, and well decorated. At night with the air on any street noise was blocked out. The breakfast on the front deck was excellent. They had yogurt, fresh fruit and bread, fruit juice and oatmeal. It was just perfect for us. Durning the day the deck got a great breeze and it was the perfect place to relax. Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel helped to make our stay on St.John amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm almost afraid to write too positive a review because Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel only has 5 rooms currently (although they are building more) and I'm worried they'll always be sold out. In my mind, there are 3 types of hotels in St. John. The expensive (Caneel, Westin - although I would not want to stay at Westin), the middle (Lindholm, Gallows - although that's pretty pricey too), and Cruz Bay Boutique. I think I paid $170 a night. Let's face it, it's not posh. But, it's totally clean and VERY centrally located to restaurants, et al. And how much time do you spend in your room? Rent a Jeep and hit the beaches. Plus, they have a nice breakfast and a great deck to kick back on before dinner. We bought a bottle of rum and some mixers and had drinks on the deck every night. I loved this little jewel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackdogggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing