We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on Cruz Bay....very small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel has a great location on Cruz Bay, is clean and the staff is very helpful. Great location for cars and restaurants and within walking distance from everything. The room was VERY small. If you are looking for a clean place with a central location on Cruz Bay and a good breakfast at a reasonable price, this is for you. Just know the rooms are very small....very small

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersLV08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 476 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a few days in March for an extended weekend get-a-way. We were met by Denise, the friendly owner who had great suggestions for things to do and where to eat. We stayed in room 5, which overlooked the street and had a tiny balcony.

Pros:
Great Cruz Bay location -- two blocks from the ferry dock
Car rental places right next door -- no need to find a downtown parking place near hotel.
Super clean rooms
Very chic decoration
Nice continental breakfast
Helpful staff
Nice toiletries

Cons:
Downtown Cruz Bay can be very noisy at night -- we had to shut windows and run the ac at night to drown out the sound.
Small rooms-- the bed is squeezed up against the wall, so you have to climb over one person to get in and out of the bed.

Room Tip: Room5 has a tiny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelingas_sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights, and we did not want to leave. The hotel is walking distance to all that Cruz Bay has to offer, and is very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, and provide all that you need for an enjoyable stay on this wonderful island. The breakfast is light (pastry/sweet breads, yogurt, fruit, coffee & tea), but it is sufficient for a day of sunbathing and relaxing in paradise. If you are expecting all of the posh amenities of a resort, don't stay here, but that is in no way a negative.
The rooms are small, but well appointed and comfortable. The restaurant below opens late and closes early, but that seems the norm for the island, so keep that in mind when planning your days. Cruz Bay Boutique & St. John are a delight, and we will surely return.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a small balcony overlooking the street below, which is nice, but by no means scenic. It a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsnower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for 6 days in February and could not have been more pleased. Denise and David are excellent hosts and each of their staff (some family) were equally gracious and kind. Literally 5 minute walk from the ferry and just about everything else in Cruz Bay. This is where you want to stay...rent your car from Conrad's next door and parking is a snap because they let you park in the rental lot (except Saturday, Saturday is a very busy day mon). Fee parking is available over by Fatty Crab restaurant (also stellar). We could smell the coffee each morning out on the porch and the breakfast was not lacking a single thing. If you want to be healthy plenty of options if you want pastries and breads they were bakery fresh. Beach towels and chairs at the ready upon request and we were given an awesome little cooler which made spending the day at the beach a luxury experience. We filled the cooler with ice, fresh fruit (compliments of Cruz Bay Boutique), sandwiches and snacks from Del Grotto Deli and plenty of water and perrier!! We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room #2 did the trick for us!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent a week in this beautiful hotel and we can immediately say we are definitely coming back again. The staff are friendly, very accommodating and smiling all the times. The owner was very helpful as well ensuring that all our needs were fulfilled. The room was clean and also the bed was comfy just like bed at home. I would recommend all the tripadvisor users to book their holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0nd0nlad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here alone for a business trip, and it was the perfect location with its proximity to the ferry, restaurants and shops. The owners and managers are warm and friendly, and I felt immediately welcome and comfortable throughout my stay. My room was super clean and modern -- all white, high ceiling, with a brand, spanking, new bathroom. I used their beautiful community porch/terrace as my "office" which was was lovely. That is also where breakfast is served from 7-10am. I had to take the 8am ferry every morning, and was delighted that coffee (really good coffee) just happened to be ready when I showed up on the terrace early. They even had agave nectar for the coffee and probiotic yogurt, which is what I have at home and don't expect when I travel. They also had this locally-made fruity (mango?) bread, which I loved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARLnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A short 5 minute walk from the ferry to the hotel and we were already starting to get a feel for the island. Denise met us when we arrived at the hotel, greeted us by name and immediately made us feel at home. As “first timers” to St. Johns we had a million questions: where to eat, where to snorkel, how to get around, where to hike, etc. Denise answered all our questions and offered additional suggestions to help make our stay both memorable and enjoyable.


If you need to stay on a beach, or in a hotel that looks and feels like any number of chain hotels, this is not the place for you. However, if you want quaint surroundings and friendly people, or if you want to be within an easy 10 minute stroll to all the great restaurants, shops, national park headquarters, harbor, taxies, etc. this is the only place to stay. A short hike through the beautiful forests will get you to a number of beautiful beaches. For my money, you couldn't find a better location.


Our room (room 2) while a bit small, was well decorated making it feel light and airy. The room was fresh and spotless. Not an easy thing to do in the tropics. It was equipped with a ceiling fan, a/c unit, mini fridge, dresser and flat screen tv. The room has a queen sized bed up against the wall which made getting in and out without waking ones partner in the middle of the night a bit of a challenge. The shower is on the small size, about 2 ft. square. This may be a problem for a larger person. The downside to being in the heart of Cruz Bay is the noise from the traffic, bars and restaurants. By closing our window and turning on the a/c unit we were able to cover the outside noise with the “white noise” of the a/c. We had no problem sleeping.


Sipping coffee with your continental breakfast on the front balcony, enjoying a warm morning breeze while watching the town wake up and sharing suggestions about things to do and places to eat with other guests is the perfect way to start your day. I must warn you to watch the time. You may find yourself lingering longer than you had planned.


To make your visit a little nicer, the hotel has beach towels, soft-side coolers and beach chairs for their guests to use.


For location, value and hospitality they can't be beat. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $262 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing