We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time better than the first...FAMILY STYLE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Foster, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second time better than the first...FAMILY STYLE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Last year, my husband and I stayed at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel for our 20th anniversary, and thought that things just couldn't get any better. Well, they did get better - Family Style. This year, we brought our children back with us and found that the central location of the hotel was fantastic for all of us. We love the fact that the hotel is within walking distance to the best restaurants, beaches and attractions (including shopping) on the island. Our hosts David, Denise and Cathy were very helpful with dining suggestions for our family (Miss Lucy's in Coral Bay-on a budget), plans for hiking the Reef Bay Trail, and even renting a car for a 24-hour period. Our family stayed in the Penthouse Suite, and found that it was just perfect for us. We could cook our lunches, and many of our dinners (if we weren't eating out...) in the kitchen, and this was a HUGE help in keeping us within our family vacation budget. By the way, if you are a clean freak, like my husband, you will be SO happy here. We found our room was spotless every day after we came back from the beach. All of our fellow guests in the hotel felt the same way about the hotel as we did. We know this because we chatted with them every morning over the complimentary breakfast. I recommend that you give your business to this family run hotel, because they treat YOU (and your entire family) like family, too!

Room Tip: If you are tall, ask for room 4. The shower in that room is the biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoraLeeLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    82
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
283
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

There are pros & cons to any hotel:

Pros: CLEAN. Basic but nicely appointed. Complimentary continental breakfast, water bottles, beach towels. 3 minute walk from the ferry. Right in town which is great if you want to walk to restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Car rental next door. You can catch a cab right on the street. Fair price. Nice & helpful staff.

Cons: Loud air conditioner which didn't do much. Very thin towels. Tiny TV. Window blinds that didn't really keep any light out. Loud very late at night - music from bar next door. No view.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidney2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent 5 nights in St John and loved staying at the Boutique hotel. It was so close to everything in Cruz Bay. We could walk to dinner, to shopping, and to the beach. It was also close to the National Park and where some of the hiking trails are. The rooms were a little small (we were in room 3), but it was a good size for just the 2 of us. There was a minifridge and A/C that worked well. As other reviews stated, it could be a little noisy, depending on what night you were there, but that is to be expected when you are so close to everything. We didn't find it a problem. We would definitely stay here on our next trip to St John

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVLandBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent a week on St. Thomas in a condo but after staying here for a night St. John proved to be the better fit.

This hotel is unique and allows for privacy. The owners are incredibly helpful. We were allowed to check in hours early, they provided us with a map and went over all of the local hotspots. They even made reservations for us etc.

The hotel is centrally located, safe with a locked gate and for a family the penthouse is the perfect fit.

Great dinners at the Westin and Trunk Bay was stunning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbeaucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel for 2 nights in late May. First, the location is awesome. The hotel is one block from the ferry terminal and in the middle of many restaurants and bars. The owners are super nice and very helpful with suggestions. The morning continental breakfast was good, especially the mango-coconut bread. Finally, the room rates are very reasonable. Stayed at the Westin for 2 nights while in St. John, but frankly, preferred the CBBH. Stay here when in Cruz Bay!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been known to 'watch' new places emerge before taking a plunge. We've been coming to the Islands for 21 years - kinda like it. We love supporting the locals and thought it was time to give this little Boutique Hotel a shot. I am SO glad we did. It was just perfect!
David, Denise & Davids mother - wish I could remember her name - are just awesome. Down to
earth, informative, friendly & helpful. The rooms are clean & bright and are equipped with exactly what you need. A cool air-condition, a little balcony, a mini-fridge with cold water, beach towels, hair-dryers, soap, shampoo, lotion and a continental breakfast to fuel your morning.
It's a perfect little B&B & at such a fantastic price - certainly don't need a car while you're there - town is right outside the door!
This is a must for the no-fuss traveler. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to bring some ear-plugs just in case 'FRED's' is having a little party but even with FRED, we'll be back!
Thank you guys for bring your dream to reality - we are so glad ya did.
J & L from NC

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUR5RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed 6 days in St. Thomas and got married on St. John, so we needed a room for one night. We arrived on the ferry and realized the hotel was literally around the corner from the ferry terminal. We got there early and decided to go to the hotel and ask if they could hold our things for us. I certainely didn't want to lug around a wedding dress and suit case. David met us on the balcony, welcomed us and graciously took our belongings and held them so we could venture out on the island. When we arrived back to the hotel, our room was ready. Denise greeted us and introduced herself. I absolutely fell in love with the room. Yes, it is small but perfect for the two of us. The room was extremely clean, up to date and had a very fresh feeling. It was a little bright in the room at night, but we are used to sleeping in the dark. The location is perfect!! We were able to walk to eat and found several beach bars that were a lot of fun!! We have decided that on our next visit, we will be staying st Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel on St. John our entire trip. We enjoyed the island much better than St. Thomas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red8017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Property: Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing