We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I had a relaxed and comfortable stay. Denise and David were super helpful in the planning of my day with advice on what to see and importantly what to skip. (given a three day weekend.) The hotel is new, modern and very clean. Great location close to the ferry dock and is walkable if your luggage is not super heavy. Also is within a shout of restaurants, shopping, bus / taxi stand to get around St. John. As a solo traveller,safety, comfort, cleanliness are accesibility are most desireable to me and this hotel offers all of that and hence my rating.

My suggestion would be around improving breakfast. It was somewhat lacking for the room rate. I would have liked a hot breakfast so as to get on w/ my day. It was a bit inconvenient for me as I was taking off on all day hikes and wanted a head start w/good breakfast at the hotel and not have to make a stop elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RFfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 476 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

We loved our week at Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel's penthouse apartment. The apartment is very spacious and appealing and provides for all your needs. The kitchen is truly a kitchen. The location near the ferry dock was perfect for us because we wanted to travel by "open air" taxis to St. John's famous beaches; and to be able to walk to restaurants, the National Park Service, shops, groceries, etc. David and Denise are an amazing couple; they make you feel that you've known them forever, and are very generous with their time, offering their knowledge of the island. They are also very responsive to their guests' dietary needs. Because I cannot eat gluten, they provided me with ample gluten-free breads for my stay, and advised my husband and me of restaurants that are aware of this restriction. We adored the island and David and Denise and you will also!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthernOregonLt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed for one night before our rental was ready. The hotel was very nice and centrally located. The room was very quiet even though it was in the middle of town. Nice complimentary continental breakfast on the porch were you can meet with other guests and share ideas for activities. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TillyCinnOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Recently came back from St John USVI, my friends and I stayed at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. Outstanding we had the penthouse room and it was great. Denise and David make you feel at home. After a week of camping on the island the room was just what we needed. We stayed for one night before we got the ferry over to STT in the am. We checked in the afternoon before showered and took the short walk to downtown for dinner and drinks. In the morning they have a complimentory coffee, breads, and fruit in the common area which is a great place to chat with fellow travelers. It was great meeting with other people and talking about the island. David and Denise have so much information to share on where to go and how to get around. We are certainly going to stay there next trip, probably book more then one night to take advantage of the kitchen and bar area what a place. It was so great a really great way to end our trip to the island.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We came into St. John a day early and found this amazing windfall, Dave and Denise were great hosts and we will certainly be back. Bob and Pam, Ontario Canada

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobPam1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I visited St. John for the first time recently (first week of February) and stayed at Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel for the entire trip. I won't go over too many boring details, but without a doubt, the hotel and island were incredible. Denise and David (and David's Mom) were all great host(esses). Great people in general and great to talk to about the island. The rooms were pretty much exactly as advertised which was perfect for us. In addition to the accomodations / breakfast (wonderful), the location was perfect for being able to spend a night out in town for dinner, drinks, people watching, etc. Cruz Bay was the perfect little town for us. Easily very walkable. Restaurants ,bars, and shops were all great. Our favorite was Rhumb Lines. For a really good inexpensive meal, get take out from Deli Grotto in Mongoose Junction (they do close early). The Tap Room was our favorite of all the bars that we went to, although went to several others that were all great as well. Regarding the island itself. Well, let's just say that if things work out the way we would like, we will be living there some day. A perfect place to be as relaxed or as active as you want without all of the negative things (at least from our experience) that you hear about happening elsewhere. We did rent a vehicle for most of the week which was a good idea, but probably only for a day or two next time (and there will be many of those).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were recommended to this boutique hotel by a local resident for the night before we took over our week long cottage rental. It was perfect for our needs - central (walking distance from the ferry dock), spotlessly clean and the owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. We also enjoyed meeting other guests in their tiny breakfast area.Be aware that you are downtown so there may be some noise at night. It didn't bother us. A great start to our wonderful week in St John.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $253 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Expedia so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing