We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel on stunning St John”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surf City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming hotel on stunning St John”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have traveled to St John several times in the past. On my most recent trip I brought my mother along as a birthday present as she had never been to the Virgin Islands. We stayed in the spacious penthouse which was well worth the price. The hotel is convenient to all Cruz Bay has to offer (bars, restaurants, shopping, daytrips to the BVI, etc). Denise welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The penthouse was spotless and was cleaned everyday. As stated in previous reviews, Dave, Denise, and Kathy could not have been better hosts. Breakfast is served on the veranda in the mornings which allows interaction with other guests. I noticed apple and grape juice was provided at breakfast but not orange juice. I usually drink orange juice at breakfast and asked Kathy if any was available. She said there wasn't but would see about getting some. The next morning not only was orange juice available but Dave brought me a fresh container for the room refrigerator. On another note, I had forgotten to bring my collapsible cooler for the beach. Dave loaned me his cooler which avoided me having to purchase one. My mom is a diet coke drinker and several cans of diet coke that were left behind by a guest were placed in our refrigerator. The above are examples of lodging owners going above and beyond to satisfy their guests. I will definitely be coming back to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel on my future trips to beautiful St John. I recommend this little gem to anyone seeking a clean affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    85
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
284
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Penthouse Apartment for one week while visiting friends in Cruz Bay for the first time. Between the island and the hotel.......you will not want to leave!!!!

Location: Amazing! You are within walking distance to everything that you need in Cruz Bay

Penthouse Apartment : The apartment is immaculately clean. The kitchen was fantastic because it allowed us to prepare our lunches for the day. Once you are at any of the beaches, the last thing that you want to do is leave to go find something to eat! The apartment allowed us to do some island grocery shopping! The rooms were all very spacious and had just what you needed for an island stay.

Inn-keepers : Dave and Denise were FANTASTIC! :) Laid back and super friendly! Gave great advice on places to eat and grab a drink! After their suggestion, Spyglass for happy hour fish tacos is where its at! :)

When we return ( not if....but when! ) we will definitely be spending some time at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Penthouse is worth every extra penny! Even for two people it felt like our own "home" away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyMariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Boutique Hotel was perfect . Dave, Denise the wonderful owners made me feel very welcome , secure , comfortable and gave me some great tips of the Island as a solo traveler . The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable . Location is perfect , and do be prepared for the nightlife of this wonderful Island .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed in room 1 and was very clean. We enjoyed the breakfasts and meeting other guests. It is right in town so some noise but AC's drone out. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The bed could have been firmer for us both, but we would return and great for grabbing drinks or dinner very close by!

Room Tip: Room 1 was not too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Symsonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We completely enjoyed our stay on St. John's and at Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. Dave, Denise,and Kathy were amazing host. We stayed in the penthouse which was very spacious, clean, and relaxing. The beauty of this hotel, besides the reasonable price, is that you are within walking distance of anything within Cruz Bay. Denise, Kathy, Dave steered us right on where to eat and how to navigate the island. You are within two blocks of the taxis that will take you anywhere so we didn't feel a need to rent a car and never felt as if we needed one during our 7 day stay. Honeymoon Beach and Salomon Beach are amazing, but you will have to walk to them no matter where you are on the island. FYI - we brought along a collapsable cooler bag that we packed with water, chips, trailmix, and sandwiches from deli grotto to take with us to the beach so we could stay as long as we wanted. Thank you to Dave and Denise for providing a wonderful hotel at a resonable price.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I'm sure one of the other rooms would be great. If you are not, spend the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our first time on St. John & we were very pleased to find this wonderful gem! I was attracted to it by the website description & pictures and it was exactly as described and better! Our room was perfect size for my husband and me: furnished simply, tastefully, and very comfortably, with just the amenities we needed, small fridge, small tv, AC, but also windows that open when we didn't want the AC. Denise and David provide island hospitality at its best, with very helpful info about beaches, restaurants, and everything! Their love of the island is evident and they take the time to share it with you. We loved being able to walk everywhere, to several small beaches, and all around town. The communal balcony is lovely, and the continental breakfast they serve is delicious and relaxing. We will come back to St. John, and we will stay at Cruz Bay Boutique hotel! Thanks to Denise and David for opening this wonderful little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just returned from St.John after a 9 day stay at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel....Loved the place, We stayed there with my son his wife and my grandaughter in the Penthouse. Great hospitality from the moment we arrived, Denise and Dave the owners are the greatest...They both provided us with great information on where to eat and the great beaches to visit with our grandaughter... Super Clean Hotel and in walking distance to everything . A must is Roma Cafe, super good food for the $. and make sure you ask for Ann Marie she's a wonderful waitress. Beautiful island and we will be back at this hotel to rent the Penthouse again very soon!

Room Tip: Penthouse worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
457 reviews
3.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
824 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Property: Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing