We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy hotel at a great value with friendly hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy hotel at a great value with friendly hosts.”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Our days started with breakfast on the covered landing - a nice variety of pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, juice & coffee. We enjoyed visiting with the hotel owners and other guests there. The hotel was convenient to shopping, restaurants, the docks, and nightlife at half the price of a resort we looked at. The hotel had recently been remodeled in island contemporary with nice furnishings. When we arrived, the rooms were open to the island air, but the a/c made things much more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShadeTreeAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    86
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
289
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My fiance and I did a lot of research before heading to St. John this past March. We wanted something nice within our budget. After reading countless positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to go ahead and book Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel, and we could not have been happier with our decision to do so. When we travel to St. John, we don't spend a lot of time in our hotel room. This hotel is perfect for people who share that sentiment. The rooms are impeccable as far as cleanliness and comfort, but yes, they are on the small side. When we were in our hotel room winding down at night, we were completely satisfied with our accommodations. Staying at Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel feels like staying at a friend's house. The hosts are warm, friendly, helpful, and present. One of our favorite daily rituals of the trip was waking up in the morning and having coffee on the porch while chatting with fellow travelers or the owners themselves. My fiance actually proposed to me on this trip, and David and Denise (the owners) went out of their way to help my future in-laws help us celebrate the occasion. After a long day of snorkeling, we arrived back to our room and found flowers and a bottle of champagne waiting for us from our family. There isn't a FTD on the island, so David and Denise took it upon themselves to go out and get the flowers and champagne for us from our family. It was such a nice gesture and confirmed our already glowing review of the hotel. We are getting married in St. John next February, and we are definitely recommending Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel to our guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lbreneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We loved it here. Denise and David are delightful!! The rooms are cozy with mini frig and flat screen tv. Our's had a little balcony overlooking the street, which was very cool. Denise was there to greet us upon arrival. Told us all about the $1 bus and other things we might want to check out while visiting St. John. We really enjoyed our stay and would defiiately stay there again when In Cruz Bay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynniem126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were lucky enough to get a room here. The hotel doesn't have many rooms and they tend to book well in advance, and for good reason: the island accommodations are pretty much only at the far ends of the spectrum. All inclusive resorts on one end, camping at the other. Not only does this hotel fill a much needed niche, it does it with style. Situated 2 blocks from the ferry landing, the hotel is in the perfect spot to start your stay on St. John.
The young couple who own the hotel are very friendly, they seemed to truly enjoy the company of the hotel guests. They are also very helpful with tips about the island, whatever you need to know; from where to eat to which beaches are best to the finer points of hitchhiking. The small breakfast was lovely and the small patio offered an intimate setting to engage with other guests.
The one drawback is that the rooms are (or at least ours was) fairly small, but they are well designed and quite comfortable. But who's spending time in their hotel room when they're on St. John??

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ekawika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

After a bareboat charter in the BVIs we were looking for a place to stay for a night or two to re-enter land life before the trip home. This little jem of a hotel fit the bill perfectly. Not only did they allow for a short stay, they were inexpensive and located within walking distance of the ferry.

After years of traveling in the islands I have a fairly open mind and the objective issues above were enough to make me book the rooms sight unseen. Imagine my surprise on how neat and clean the rooms were and how friendly Denise and David were. We felt like old friend five minutes after arriving. We enjoyed the A/C, in room tv (Bruins!), in town location (we rented a car next door, and ate in a restaurant downstairs) and most of all the chit chat with fellow travelers around the continental breakfast each morning.

This isn't a resort, but for someone looking for a charming, neat, friendly, convenient place to stay I cannot recommend it highly enough. I plan one or two charters a year and Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel will be on my itinerary from now on.

Room Tip: Call David or Denise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richsbr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our honeymoon and our first trip to St. John. The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the ferry dock and pretty easy to find. The rooms are small and comfortable. Very clean. We loved the location. It is a short hike to honeymoon beach, which is beautiful, or walk to the dock to get a safari taxi to trunk bay or one of the northern beaches. There are lots of restaurants nearby. We liked this spot because it wasn't necessary to rent a car. We explored the east side of the island by using the $1 bus that runs along centerline road and did a little hitchhiking. Each morning David and Denise, who own the hotel, had a small breakfast set out. Denise does some of the baking! A great way to get the day started before heading to the beach or a hike. They were very helpful recommending hikes and restaurants. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awc412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel was the perfect place for our family to stay. It was close to the ferry doc where you could also find taxis waiting and the Vitran Bus Stop. We loved being downtown in the middle of everything, and the wonderful hosts made it feel like home. Everything was spotlessly clean, beds were super comfy, breakfast got our days off to a great start, etc. We booked two rooms, one for my husband and I that was (as noted on the web site) very small, and the other for my daughter and family that was the "penthouse" with plenty of room for the little ones to play and a kitchen as well. The owners and staff were so helpful with anything we needed and also with all the answers to our millions of questions on "how to get to...." or "where is the best..." or "what should we..." And we loved meeting the other guests at breakfast on the balcony to swap stories of the previous day's adventures. It was really hard to say goodbye at the end of our week!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Property: Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing