We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good beers, great happy hour, friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway's - CLOSED

Castaway's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good beers, great happy hour, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was so excited to see a good selection of Rogue beers when we got there, but the happy hour prices were so good I had to get some cheap well drinks until happy hour was over. There was live music so we were happy to stick around a while. The only food we had was nachos, but they were good. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davekleikamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    64
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Be Prepared to Stay A While”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

After a morning of snorkeling at Waterlemon Cay and getting our lunch stolen by the resident mongoose (I'm not kidding), we were in the mood for some burgers and fries. We did not have a good experience here. The waitress was either very new or very inefficient because it took forever to get our drinks. Then it took forever to get our food and the order was not correct. We'd waited so long that we just ate what she brought. I had a Mahi Mahi sandwich that was like eating cardboard. It was a piece of dried up fish on a bun. Nothing else! The fries were good, but nothing to write home about. Then I had to practically beg for a refill of my drink and it took another 15 minutes to get it. We were there more than an hour and a half just to eat burgers and fries!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatDaneMomDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Night Life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Went in Oct 2012 and can't wait to go visit again next month! Fun karaoke night, great nightlife scene and just overall a really fun place to visit! It's a must try :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicianlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ask for Jason to make you a cocktail - any cocktail. This guy is a cocktail champ. No, really, he actually won a competition!

The setting here is pure St. John - laid back, cozy, relaxed, with music. Haven't tried, the food, but it looks good.

Can't wait to go back here on my next visit. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleMiltieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cranky Karaoke guy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Bartenders were fun and the bar had the Red Sox game on. Good place to get sloppy drunk, and take a Taxi home. If you put your named on the Karaoke list, better show or he gets nasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevboston2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway's also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing