We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
other travelers have booked this property
Little Palm Cottage with great ocean views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Palm Cottage with great ocean views
Same view now with mature palm trees to provide shade.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Little Palm Cottage with great ocean views
Same view now with mature palm trees to provide shade.
Hear the sounds of the surf below in your private retreat.
Paradise right outside your door!
The views are breathtaking!
Hear the sounds of the surf below
Pool w panoramic ocean views
Shimmering Glass Pool Tile
Lounge at the pool deck w ocean views
Relax on your own private deck & shaded porch facing the ocean with fabulous views.
Spacious, beautifully furnished Suite
Mahogany Kitchenette w Glass Tile backsplash... cook full meals here along with grill w side burner
comfy king size bed
Large Mahogany Dresser & 42' TV with HBO
Luxurious White Carrera Marble Bath
Shower w tile glass tile accents
Enjoy the sunsets from your private balcony.
Can you imagine a more beautiful spot?
Catch a rainbow
Handcrafted fixtures and island stone walls
Beautiful tropical flowers & palm trees cover the grounds
Private Covered Porch - great spot in the shade to enjoy the ocean views and relax/read.
Enjoy a game of Bocce right on the premises - fun for all!
The stars are so close you can almost touch them!
HGTV filming 'Caribbean Life' show at Little Palm!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mbembenek...
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This place is amazing. My only regret for posting this is that it may get too popular and not be available when I want to rent it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Autumn R
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“paradise found!”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This place is right out of a dream! The villa is tucked away in a private neighborhood with very few neighbors (other than the wildlife) and the views from the main living area and balcony are beyond amazing!!! The place is fully equipped with everything you will need for a fantastic and romantic getaway. Michael was a wonderful host and made us feel right at home. We can't wait to return very soon!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
The most wonderful thing next to a great review is the fabulous people I get to know while doing this! I especially like the fact that Autumn is using a picture she took from the suite as her identifying image (see above), Hurry back! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted W M
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exactly as advertized”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great unit for a couple seeking privacy. The views are breathtaking. AC and TV make for a real hotel-type experience but with the kitchenette bonus. If you dont mind the drive up the hills from Cruz Bay (and we didnt...) this is perfect place. Michael is great owner, with everything right: cleanliness, beach chairs, 2 coolers, grill. Everything you need for a secluded island vacation - except lots of ice (which is a non-issue). Just stop at any store with your 2 coolers, and off you go. Go see Angie at Tony's food truck on the way to Centerline. $3 for a large bag of ice. Goat soup and a cold Carib are optional !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
Always appreciate guests feedback. FYI, a few months back I finally found a new kitchenette size fridge with a frost free freezer that will hold 1/2 dozen ice cube trays. This provides enough ice when you are lounging around, but definitely not enough to fill a cooler for the day. I do provide a couple of cool packs for your cooler.
Just wanted future guests to know when you get back from a perfect day at the beach and you are ready for the cocktail, the ice will be there for you. PS: Forget about those small counter top ice makers; tried 2 of them, they last about 5-7 months, unfortunately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa S
1 review
“Awesome view”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Such a wonderful place to stay on St. John. Michael the host was very accommodating and the Villa property is breath taking. You have everything you need with a small kitchenette, nice pool, deck and parking. There is a lot of privacy and room is very comfortable. I will definitely be back. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Palm Guest Suite stay in St. Johns”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Little Palm was a great place to stay at St. Johns. The view is tremendous and provided us a great place to relax, enjoy and explore St. Johns. Michael, the owner was extremely attentive to all of our needs or questions and yet gave us the privacy to have a romantic time to ourselves. He was also an excellent source of information and guided us to some wonderful food experiences. It was a great trip and one that we will never forget.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhughes44...
Helena, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing view and property!”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to St. John and friends that had been before insisted we spend the week there rather than St. Thomas, they were right! With around 4,000 people on St. John (vs 55,000 on St. Thomas) we made the right call to enjoy our vacation there! It is extremely laid back and relaxing with great people! Cruz bay at night is a must!

The arrival and greeting was great! We were meet at the ferry and taken to St. John Rentals. After this we were guided to the house and after one trip it was easy to find on our own and took only about 15 minutes to arrive there from Cruz Bay. Michael went above in making us feel welcome, he even helped me in handling a flat tire issue so it was quickly resolved!

We only had a few questions as Michael provided great detail with documents and answered many questions via email before our arrival. The property is very well kept and the amenities are great. Our view was simply fantastic, the pictures of the property cannot do it justice! We overlooked Fish bay and had a huge range of view such that we could see much of that side of the island. At night you could leave the doors open and use the screens provided to hear the waves and enjoy the night air without seeing all the city lights as those are all hidden. We always had a great amount of privacy at the house and had everything we could think of included in the rental.

Air conditioning was included, many places do not have this. The pool was well kept with a great view of the bay. A very comfortable huge king size bed was also provided. The refrigerator (with freezer for ice) was a perfect size to hold cold drinks and food for breakfast/lunch. The bathroom was huge and the shower has a great view of the bay. Towels, beach chairs and two coolers are provided also which were a great help in our daily travels. You will not need an umbrella as the beaches almost all have natural shade from trees.

Overall the unit is amazing and once you stay there I believe you will also agree. After being on the island for 7 days and and seeing many of the other units we looked at up close I can see we made a great decision to stay with Michael. If we would have chosen one of the other locations I feel we would have been let down and not enjoyed our stay as much. After staying here it is easy to see why he has so many return guests.

If you visit St. John you owe it to yourself to have a great place and an amazing view, this is it!

Additional Trip Info (just some tips and info for those traveling!):

Car Rental:
We rented on St. John as the car ferries can take longer and some have been broken down. It is FAR easier to rent on St. John so I would not recommend renting on St. Thomas. After arriving at the air port take a taxi (we used the provided personal taxi through Michael for only 15-20 more dollars and this saved us an hour of waiting on the next ferry! it was WELL worth it). Normal taxi's are 15 to get to/from the ferry from the airport. It takes about 30 minutes to get to the ferry and they leave every hour on the hour. I highly recommend St. John rentals, they are a very short walk from the ferry. Parking in Cruz bay is limited and costly. If you rent from St. John rentals you can park in their lot free! and its only steps from the main area. This saved us tons of money and was extremely convenient. Only Saturdays vary as you can only park in their lot after 5pm on Saturday, otherwise any day any time. Cost will be around 450-500 for a 2 door Jeep. Gas is about 3.75 as of July 2016, while on the island we used about 1.5 tanks of gas, or about 70 dollars worth. Also you drive on the left side of the road, but its easy to get used to.

Beaches:
I recommend buying your own snorkel gear as renting is costly and buying your own will run you around 40 dollars (CostCo). You dont want to miss out on snorkeling. I will list the beaches in order that you come to them when driving from Cruz Bay as to where we went. Watch your food! Birds will take it right out of your hand and leaving anything sitting around to eat is not a good idea. Make sure you park in safe spots as they will tow your car or boot it if you dont! No glass on the beaches, dont take any glass bottles (dont buy a ton of them to take to the beach, go with cans)

Hawks Nest - Great area with a great view, not much to see when snorkeling, but the trees have good cover for shade, though not quite as much cover as other beaches. Sand is fine with no rocks. We went here early and had the entire beach to ourselves for about an hour. No real showers etc to rinse off here.

Trunk Bay - Visit on non-cruise days (can ask what those days are). The cost is 5 per person to get to the beach (only beach that charges) and they have a snack bar, but its not cheap so you can bring some lunch. The current is not much here so its easy to snorkel and probably the best spot we did snorkel at (assuming easy of access as some spots took some hiking to get to). They have a snorkeling trail etc that other beaches do not. The sand is not rocky and is great, this is an amazing bay. Good tree cover for shade. Parking can be a struggle here as many go here, if you pull in at the first entrance on the left if you park before the orange cones on the left you will be ok, after them is where the taxi's go and you cant park there. Get there early for a good spot. Great facilities to change and clean up here.

Oppenheimer Bay- As you drive around the beaches you will see a white fence on your left, then a gate with only enough room for about 3 cars. This is a very private little beach, get there early as parks go fast! We never had the chance as it was always busy. If you dont mind a slight walk (about .5 of a mile) up the road is a parking lot you can also park at.

Maho Bay - Great little area with a great view, the beach is right next to the road so it can be noisy, it has good tree cover for shade. If you want to see turtles this is the place, we found one with in 5 minutes, the grassy area is great here and that is where you will see them. No facilities here really either. The sand is fine, but there are some rocky areas more so than the others.

Cinnamon Bay - This once has a bit more current but not bad, ok snorkeling but not great. Beautiful views and the sand is great. Good coverage for shade. We went to this one more than once. The facilities are really good here also. Parking is pretty good here with plenty of area. If you turn into the parking lot and its packed go on around and there is a dirt area on the right you can park in also. There are also camping spots here which was interesting. Also, people rented all sorts of things here (no jet skis)

Salt Pond - This is down on Coral Bay, there is a beach there you can hang out at that is nice, but a little rocky. On past the beach on the left is the Salt Pond where you can collect fresh very nice high quality salt. The trail to get down to the beach is maybe half a mile at most and the hike is easy as its mostly a road until you get to the beach.

Rams Head - Take hiking shoes! This is a hike you can go on to the southern most peak. If you continue on past Salt Pond you can get there. This is a good hike with ups and downs, the entire hike from Salt Pond to Rams head is about 1.4 miles (so about 3 miles round trip). I would not recommend doing this at night without experience hiking and a good light source. Its said the sun sets and sun rises are great here! Plan to have enough time to get there as it took us about 40 minutes to make it from Salt Pond. The view is amazing! it can be windy so hang on to your hats etc. Its rather isolated as only passed a couple people going out there around noon when we did. You will also see many hermit crabs (HUGE ones) and other wild life.

Eating Out Prices:
sandwich/fries or sides will cost about 15 bucks
appetizers 8-15 bucks
Sit down full meal - 20-40 a person depending

Bars on Cruz Bay:

Beach Bar - is great, happy hour from 3-7 every day. The food is also very good here. You can hang out on the beach or at the bar, they have a live web cam to see it if you want to check that out also. The sunset at either the beach bar or joes rum hut is great.

Joes Rum Hut - It is right next to the Beach Bar (can walk there in about 10 seconds). The pizza here is very good and so is the rest of the food. They have happy hour from 3-6, your choice only 3 dollars so good value. You also have nicer chairs and tables on the beach here for hanging out. The sunset at either the beach bar or joes rum hut is great.

The Bowery - This is an air conditioned inside area right behind the beach bar (you access it from the beach bar or from the side between beach bar and joes rum hut). They make custom cocktails and have a great selection (best on the island as far as I saw).

Banana Deck - Great restaurant with good views, it can be a bit pricey, but everything is there.

On the other side of town is Mongoose Junction, they have many great bars, shops and restaurants, but we didn't have the time to visit any other than the Taps beer bar which has a great selection so if your into beer go here.

Coral Bay:

Skinny Legs - great hamburgers, get the special of the day! I would make sure to check them out when down that way.

Grocery Stores/food to go

Sam and Max's Deli makes GREAT and HUGE sandwhiches, call them and place an order and pick it up, we really enjoyed them. They are located up top (drive on behind) the star fish market. Its very close to Cruz Bay. They are cash only FYI.

Grocery Store Shopping:
Star Fish Market or St. John Market are both about the same, not huge but have a good selection. Most anything is the same price at any of the stops so be prepared for sticker shock.

Ferry - It is 7 a person plus 4 per checked bag one way. Takes about 15 minutes and they leave on the hour every hour~ Most go to Red Hook from St. John, they all come to the same spot on St. John as far as I know. There is one that goes over closer to the air port (Charlate Amelia) but it was not running when we left.

Excursion - Go to Low Key Dive shop (in Cruz bay around the corner from the Beach Bar right across the street from the beach). They can help you pick something, we picked Bad Kitty snorkeling. We went to the British VI's and checked in, went to the Bass (was GREAT!) and then went for lunch on cooper island before a great stop snorkeling (they have a few spots they pick the best on any given day). They have snorkeling stuff if you dont. Finally they took us to Joost Van Dike to hang out for an hour, soggy dollar bar is there along with many others. There are many boat etc here and many people hanging out. After snorkeling its open bar also. Great tour and great crew, cost isnt bad either at around 130 a person. It picked us up at 8am and dropped us off at 4:30. You have to go through customs which didnt take very long (10 minutes as we beat the rush). Also, you have to pay 45 in cash per person to travel to the British VI's so keep that in mind.

Packing - pack very little! You will not need much honestly, its a very laid back place. I packed many dry fit shirts to keep cool with and wore swim trunks most everywhere. I was there for 7 days and packed light so I thought. I came back only using about half what I took. Honestly you could probably take everything on a carry on that you need. Dont forget bug spray.

Driving - You drive on the left but its easy and quick to get used to, no where on the island can you really get above 30 MPH if that due to the curves and hills so its not a big deal. Make SURE you wear your seat belt and do not talk on the phone though. Most anything else is fine. The island is small but it takes a while to get places.

Credit Cards: Visa was fine everywhere for the most part

Cell Phones - ATT worked good most places on the cruz bay or coral bay area. Trunk Bay or Cinnamon bay you can get on the British cell towers so watch out. I keep my phone on air plane mode until needed. I had phone and LTE signal in those areas.

GPS - Do not count on it at all, pick up a big map and you will be fine, there are not that many roads.

I hope this helped as when we were planning we would have loved this information. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing view and great unit
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than we could have imagined! Perfect romatic get away.”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We are just wrapping up an amazing stay at the Little Palm guest suite. We cannot say enough fantastic things about this villa suite. Even though it is located on the lower level of the owners main house it is complete separate and very private. Michael is the perfect host. He has been exceptionally helpful through the entire trip. Even arranged a private boat charter for us!

Prior to arriving he made sure We had all the information needed, including jeep rental recommendations, maps to the property, recommendations for provisioning and more. When we arrived he met us at the ferry and took us to the jeep rental co. He had us follow him to the villa, which was great as it is located toward the top of the mountain overlooking Fish Bay. It is a little daunting for the first trip up but after you know the roads it is fine. The road is paved all the way up.
The suite itself has a beautiful large bedroom with a kitchenette and eating area. There is a grill outside in a covered sitting area with a side burner that works great as a cooktop. The king bed is very comfortable and has nice linens. The AC works well but we only needed It at night. The breeze on the mountaintop is wonderful. It has a large bathroom with plenty of storage and counter space and a large tiled shower.
There is a perfect little balcony that overlooks the most spectacular view of fishbay. It is to die for!
You have all of the cooking and eating utensils needed to cook a meal including small dorm refrigerator and 2 coolers to store cold items.
We used Blue Sky provisioning company and placed the order prior to arrival and all was stored when we arrived. I highly recommend doing this so you can start enjoying the suite ammenities immediately upon arrival. So relaxing after a long day of travel!
The pool is perfect! Its over looks the bay and even has a shelf in the water to sit on to sip a cocktail while enjoying the amazing view.
The suite is so quiet and peaceful that you can even hear the waves below.
All and all this visit was more than we could have ever hoped for and we will DEFINTELY be returning to Little Palm as soon as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2016
Thanks for the very descriptive and positive review. Makes it all worthwhile as an owner that works hard to provide a great experience.
Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing