We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to get to St. John”

Virgin Islands Ferry - Red Hook
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun way to get to St. John”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We took the ferry three times while we were in St. Thomas/St. John. Our hotel was on St. Thomas but we loved St. John so we kept going back.

It arrived on time and was a beautiful way to see the islands. On our way back, we watched the sun set and it was absolutely stunning.

Just remember that taxis on St. Thomas are quite pricey to get to and from the Ferry. (You have to pay per person.)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    426
    172
    43
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Where can you go for a boat ride in the beautiful Caribbean and see islands and scenery for only $6???? Take the red Hook Ferry. And once you get to St. Johns explore the beaches at Maho, Cinnamon and Trunk Bays! On the way back explore the area by the docks in Cruz Bay and shop and eat. It makes for a beautiful day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PJBLTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great way to visit St. John's”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We took Captail Vic's car barge over to St. John's. It was an easy trip and it was nice to have our car with us when we got to St. John's.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy way to visit St. John”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

It's a great way to get over to St. John, one of our favorite places to visit. The Ferry has a pretty good schedule for coming and going, especially if you're only taking the "walk on" ferry instead of the "car ferry". The price is $6 per person each way. The car ferry has slightly different prices depending on which one you take. It's $42 - $50. Also, the schedule for the car ferry is different than the walk-on.

St. John has a lot to do on it, and the ferry takes about 20 minutes to get there. The car ferry lands at a different place on St. John than the walk-on ferry does, so be aware of that.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, MA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cheap transportation to St. John”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

When visiting St. Thomas many tourists spend the day on neighboring island St. John. The island is largely held as a National Park and preserved undeveloped. Trunk Bay, in particular, is a destination for tanning and snorkeling. It is labeled as one of the ten most beautiful beaches in the world by National Geographic. The easiest way to get to St. John is by ferry. The terminal is clear, offers restrooms and the price to cruise over is only $6 each way. It seems that many people land in St. Thomas, make their way to Red Hook and ferry over to St. John for the week. This island is about 2/3 the size of St. Thomas and much less built up.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dpw1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Islands Ferry - Red Hook also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Virgin Islands Ferry - Red Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing