We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Vacation with Todlers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Vacation with Todlers”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I did a VRBO here last week. The design of place has a few design quirks. Anytime you leave your unit, you have to go through a garage. It's kind of like hitting a bunker on the island from the TV show Lost anytime you go outside. The pool is always in the shade during the high season. The building design has some incongruous Spanish and Italian elements that don't really make sense on St John. But once you get past the head scratching design elements, you've got a vacation property with an excellent location with some great suites and some of the best courtesy staff that you'll find in that part of the world. Our unit had plenty of space for outdoor dining, which is important for avoiding ants, and the fully stocked kitchen and washer/dryer came in very handy traveling with a 1 and a 3 year old. The units are also very sound proof.

Room Tip: The lower towers are a lot more accessible if you walk into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
128
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went to St. John to celebrate my cousin's wedding. Stayed in condo with my mom and two sisters. Great location, we could walk everywhere. Minutes from ferry dock, easy to wharfside village. Beach across the street. Business center to print my boarding pass. Would definitely stay here again. Other family members stayed here also, so made it very convenient to coordinate activities.

Room Tip: Ask for pictures, each unit is different. Also some have beach chairs and other things included or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my wife and my first time to the Virgin Islands and we had 20 of our friends travel for my wife's birthday. We concluded our trip at the Grande Bay and are already talking about returning. The staff was great and the facility exceeded our expectations. Would definately return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroom which as very spacious and ours had a wrap-around balcony which over looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Danc
Glad we could assist in making your wife's special day memorable here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club...same time next year?
Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We love the island of St. John and have been going there for years. We usually stay in another resort but decided to try out Grande Bay this time. We are so glad we did. There are so many good things to say about this resort from the location to the rooms. We stayed in a 1 bedroom on the lower level which was perfect. Can't say enough about the view!! Love having our coffee and mimosas every morning and cocktails in the afternoon looking over Cruz Bay watching the boats come and go. The location of the resort is a plus for not having to rent a car or pay taxis. Within 2 minutes walking distance of Cruz Bay bars, restaurants, and shopping it is so easy to come and go as you want. This was one thing that made us realize how convenient it is to stay here.
The rooms were spacious and clean. Can't say enough about friendly people who work there. Everyone was also pleasant and helpful and willing to go our of their way to do whatever they could to make our stay perfect.
We will make this one of our favorite places to stay in St. John.

Room Tip: ask for the lower level to have a great view of everything going on in Cruz Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Grande Bay is located in Cruz bay, at a walking distance from the ferry point. It has good amenities like a swimming pool and hot tub with a deck area with awesome views of the sea and the mountains. All the condos have a great view of the waters. We lived in the upper row of condos, which may have offered a better view. The condo was really well furnished. The kitchen had everything that we needed. It was very clean when we arrived. The pictures on tripadvisor reflect the truth.

Pros:
1) Pool, hot tub, gym, deck
2) Views from the balcony
3) Parking
4) Water sports' rental available right outside the building.
5) Many good eating options in town (all within walking distance)
6) Easy to take taxis to any of the beaches from the taxi stand in town.

Cons:
1) The beach right in front of the hotel cannot be used much as a beach since there are many boats just around there. Yet, it is fun to play there for some time and the water is super clear. This is not really a big deal since you can get to many of the nice beaches via a fun taxi ride within a few minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having vacationed at quite a few places on St. John (both Coral Bay and Cruz Bay), we have determined that Grande Bay Resort and Residences is the place to which we will return for years to come. Located just a few minutes’ walk from Cruz Bay, you don’t need to take a taxi to town, to the ferry dock, or the grocery store. Restaurants and shopping are very close and walking the short distance is both convenient and safe (well lighted and less traffic).
Hiking to the beach is just 30-40 minutes away and Grande Bay provides beach chairs and towels so your day at the beach is as relaxing as can be. Or you can take a short taxi ride to the north shore beaches but you can walk to the taxi stand from Grande Bay in 10 minutes or so.
And if the surf happens to be high and the beaches are closed (yes, it happens) or if the beach is not your cup of tea, Grande Bay offers a nice sized pool, hot tub, and deck area for sunbathing or hanging out.
We especially like the fact that Grande Bay has a sizable gym with treadmills, a stationary bike, and elliptical machine. You can work out looking through large windows out over Cruz Bay and watching everyone prepare for the upcoming day, be it the dive boats, charters, or ferries. It is also convenient to go for a walk or run through town if you want to exercise outdoors. And the ocean with a sandy beach is right across the street if you want to stay close by.
Another feature we really like is the quality of the residences. We feel really safe and secure due to the sturdy doors and locksets and the materials of construction are top notch. Air conditioning really helps us sleep well and the walls are thick and dense, which helps keep noise out. Flat screen TVs with cable service allow us to keep up on current events and weather forecasts. The sizable kitchen allows us to prepare our own meals if we so wish.
Grande Bay is by far the nicest and most convenient place we have ever vacationed, including stays in Mexico and the BVIs.
Because we love St. John and plan to vacation there regularly, we felt it was worth the investment (initial outlay plus maintenance fees) to purchase two weeks under a fractional agreement. We are now guaranteed two weeks every year for only the annual maintenance fee, which is pretty reasonable. And if for some reason we cannot make it, we can rent the week out or trade it with a fellow resident for a different time. There are also other options but we are hoping we are always able to return. The sales process was not a high pressure pitch and because we plan to always come back to St. John, the simple payback on our investment is around 7 years, which we found acceptable. Grande Bay also has a financing program at reasonable rates if anyone happened to need it. The sales team was very helpful and answered all of our questions while not being pushy.
Lastly, once someone purchases a time share or fractional interest in a property, one might think that the sales people and property management would move on and forget about you. At Grande Bay, this could not be further from the truth. We are treated just as well, if not better, as before we purchased the fractional. The sales staff remembers us by name and invites us to all the social events they sponsor while we are on island. We get the chance to meet other residents who have already invested and also some who are prospective buyers. We feel we are treated like family by the sales team, managers, and staff. By the way, the staff keeps the facility in great shape and maintenance is top notch. Like the old Cheers TV show theme song, it is fun to go “where everybody knows your name, and they’re glad you came”. We can’t wait to get back.
Gena and Paul VanderMeulen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear GenaV,
Many thanks for the excellent review and insightful comments! We are pleased that you have purchased here at Grande Bay and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come. As the "Cheers" song also says "Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot" and that is our job to help you relax and take away all your worries!!
Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We go on 1 family vacation per year so we really did our research when deciding on a location and where we would stay. 25 years ago, my wife and I visited Saint John while on our honeymoon and it has always been one of our favorite places, so the location was an easy choice. We looked on line and read a lot about the Grande Bay Resort, including many customer reviews. The Grande Bay exceeded our expectations. We had 5 people in our party, ages 17-balding (me). The 3 bedroom unit that we had was very spacious, with a great kitchen, and nicely decorated. We had a bay view, which was beautiful. The bottle of rum on our kitchen counter was a nice surprise and kicked off our week in style. I am now addicted to Cruzan Rum and blame the Grande Bay. The staff was tremendous. During our vacation planning process, we worked with Emily, Colby, and Danielle. They were all extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and great to work with. Danielle did a fantastic job connecting us to dive/snorkel activities and restaurants. The entire staff had great energy and was very nice. The location of the Grande Bay is perfect. You can walk to any restaurant, bar, or local shop. You can watch Ziggy the Pig do his morning walk to the beach. The on-site Jeep rental is the way to go and I would recommend that to anyone staying at the Grande Bay (thank you Dawn). The island is beautiful and the Jeep is needed for the hair pin mountain turns and creative parking challenges at some of the beaches. Speaking of beaches, thanks Emily/Megan for suggesting Salt Pond.......what a raw, undiscovered jewel! The only thing I can think of in terms of improvements is the small health club area. Due to the limited dumb bells, I was forced to do more 12 ounce curls at night. I guess that's a decent trade off.....
I hope we can come back next year. Great vacation and facilities!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have wrap around balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John and Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
824 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Property: Grande Bay Resort
Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing