We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get a better location on St John”
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Monrovia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't get a better location on St John”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have stayed at Grande Bay twice and are headed back again this fall. The resort is only a few years old so everything is still quite new. The properties are individually owned so the furnishing will vary from unit to unit, both of the properties that we have stayed in were very nice and fully equiped for a day at the beach. My favorite part of Grande Bay is the location, your just minutes from the Cruz Bay restaurants, shopping, the Ferry and the Taxi's. No need to rent a car while staying at Grande Bay. We have stayed at several condo properties on St John and none compare.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GRB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
135
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We needed some downtime after a busy summer before school started back up. The Grande Bay resort met all our expectations and more. This beautiful resort is brand new, had great spacious rooms and was perfectly furnished. The materials and finishes are all very high end. All rooms look directly out onto Cruz Bay and are an easy 100 yard walk into town for restaurants and shopping. The pool and hot tub were great with a large sun deck for catching the rays. The fitness center had nice gear and those same Cruz Bay views.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, offering coolers, beach chairs and extra fluffy beach towels for our daily Jeep trecks into the beaches of the National Park. Even when Tropical Storm Irene paid us a visit the staff helped to ensure we had a good experience. Joe, James, everyone had a smile and aimed to please.

We found the property to be very quiet and peaceful despite the nearby bustle from town. If I had any cons, they would be that some pastries would go well with morning coffee and we did have some ant issues (to be fair we had the same ant issue at the Ritz on St Thomas as well. Twas ant season I suppose).

Gorgeous resort. One of our favorites anywhere in the Caribbean. We will definitely choose Grande Bay Resort for our next St John visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
I am glad Irene did not "dampen" your experience with us! I always share these reviews with my associates and I thank you for your kind words about Joe and James. Not sure we have an ant season but they do seem to appear with the rain so we will aggressively treat the room.
As for pastries with the morning coffee...good idea! I promise next time you return I will personally ensure they are available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

There is no other place to stay than grand bay!! The property is gorgeous! Units are new, spacious, gorgeous views, and fabulous sunsets! The staff is amazing and very professional. They go out of their way to make you feel at home.
Plus it's close to "downtown". You can walk to everything! Or take a taxi to anywhere you want to go! A+ in my opinion. It's my second trip and I will be back! Thank you grand bay for all you do! LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: Grand bay is right off the boat. How can you not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hfishburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your post and it was our pleasure to have you here! I hear the third time is a "real charm" and the fourth and the fifth...hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Just returned from my third stay at Grande Bay Resort and it was just as great as the previous times. These villas are really beautifully done and quite comfortable. The staff is quite pleasant and very informative on excursions, restaurant recommendations, etc. I think the location right in Cruz Bay is fantastic with all of the shops and restaurant choices just a short stroll away.

Room Tip: Rent directly from the on-site company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I went for a 4 day get away to St. John's. We rented from an owner of one of the Grande Bay units. Our room was beautiful with a full kitchen, balcony view, and great access to local restaurants and a tranquil view of the bay where residential ships were docked. The resort was clean, peaceful, with great access to Cruz Bay's restaurants and shops. The rental had beach chairs, and coolers. While not immediately near the spectacular beaches, access to the beaches via local taxis was relatively simple. The beauty of St. John's is what you envision when thinking of a tropical get away. If you are okay with not being right near a swimming beach, this is definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmike_0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville,Ma.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Clean with many ammenities. Snorkle gear, kayak, option to stock fridge a nice plus. The only problem was 2 infants sceaming next door for 3 days in a row. It would be helpful to limit infants.:

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeCenterville_Ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family and I went on a much needed family vacation. Traveling with 3 children, twins 12 and the oldest 13, we needed some space to spread out in. The Grande Bay Resort not only gave us the space we wanted, but so much more! Wonderful staff from Paul the GM to James another manager and the conceirge Mike. They were so attentive to the many questions we had as to where to go and what to do! They not only supplied upscale toiletries, but the complete kitchen had everything you would expect. So nice to have a washer and dryer in the unit with ample detergent too! The staff provided us with clean beach towels everyday and a large cooler and beach chairs for our daily trip to the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen! There is not one negative comment. This was the most PERFECT vacation we have ever had! I strongly recommend Grande Bay Resort if you plan to visit beautiful St. John! I do hope to return... I miss it already!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Planet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
I am glad you had a good time and enjoyed the many amenities we have in our suites. I forwarded your comments along to James, Mike and all of my fellow associates. It was very thoughtful of you to write and we miss you already...hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Property: Grande Bay Resort
Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing