We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Happy Hour with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass - CLOSED

Spyglass
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: American, Bar, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
SGV, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Happy Hour with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great happy hour, right on Cruz Bay, great view of the bay! There are several happy hour spots in the area, but Spyglass has the best view. Good food and drinks. Try their wings with different dipping sauce--they taste so good, I almost bit my finger.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoSeeKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous happy hour & wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just finished up a week on St. John and we went to Spyglass every night. We did not eat a full dinner but we did enjoy their happy hour wings and tacos multiple times. We like to sit at the bar and enjoy the sunset and the perfectly priced drinks. Tacos were 2 for $5 and were good size. The wings are $1 each, large and there were a lot of sauces to choose from. Our favorites were the chipotle honey cilantro & habanero mango. Elly, Marcus and Matty were some of the nicest bartenders and we look forward to going back to see them. The view of Cruz Bay is beautiful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever in St. John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I have visited St. John, USVI, several times. We have gone to many of the restaurants and have had nice meals. This week, we tried Spyglass. We arrived just before sunset with a party of 8. We were seated quickly at a table with a view of the sunset. The waiter, Bob, was attentive (and even funny). We shared the mussels as an appetizer and I ordered the lobster risotto and my husband ordered the crab stuffed Mahi. These meals were incredible and the portions were huge. Every aspect was perfect even down to the side of broccoli being cooked to perfection. Our table ordered two portions of deep fried key lime pie and everyone was eye-rolling over it. Three people at our table took left-overs back to the hotel and ate them for lunch the next day. All in all, this was a wonderful experience. We love ZoZo's but they have moved from Gallows, we were not impressed by Asolare and will never return there. Spyglass is our new favorite restaurant on St. John.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine31412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bad service, bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

To start the night, our party of five was seated at a table that had a drip bucket sitting on it...it was pouring down rain, and the ceiling was dripping all over our table, not just where the drip bucket was located. We also had some 10 gallon paint buckets behind us, one filled up with water and my husband had to change it with the empty one so it wouldn't spill over on him. The waiter came by and asked to take our order...I said, "I think we need a few more menus" HE ROLLED HIS EYES and ran off, soon we were greeted with menus being almost thrown at us. He was rude when he took our order too. My mother-in-law asked which rum drinks he would recommend and he said "I don't drink rum." We don't care if he drinks rum or not, he's supposed to know about the menu, he's should at least be able to tell us what people normally like. He then stormed off when one person in our party wasn't yet ready to order. He didn't say he'd give us a few minutes, he just rolled his eyes, AGAIN, and stomped off.
Then, the food was burned. When he was asked to compensate the person who ordered it with some small discount, he said he would take off a dollar, but he ADDED a dollar instead. We were forced to pay him a 20% tip, the person whose food was burnt didn't want to pay that, so she paid about $2.50 less and she left the table because he had made her so angry. The waiter came back to the table and asked the rest of the party to cover the remaining balance on her bill! OUTRAGEOUS! I will never, EVER go back to that place. I hope they go out of business quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Operzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy hour - spectacular food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were tired, hot and hungry and stumbled on spyglass' happy hour. What a spectacular surprise.

The view is amazing as was the service. The conch fritters were spectacular as were thethe tilapia tacos and sliders. I had fruity rum drinks for $3 a drink and hubby wasn't complaining about the $2 beers. Kids loved the boats coming and going. Perfect little stumble

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parmesan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing