We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waited 2 hours for our meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Spyglass - CLOSED

Spyglass
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
St. John
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waited 2 hours for our meal”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Thought it would be a great place to watch the fireworks... We were seated at 8pm and didn't get our meal till 10pm! We weren't even offered bread. Several tables around us just walked out. When we finally got our meal is was just ok, they also ran out of a food too. The owner was rude and did never apologized... I am sorry goes a long way!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRM5378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spyglassvi, Owner at Spyglass, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
the spyglass regrets that your evening was not what you expected nor what we desire for your dining experience.
with sincere apologies we regret we failed to provide the level of service and food for that evening.
the spyglass holds all our standards high , unfortunately we did not come close that night to our standards......
please forgive us.....

brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Only had drinks but what great service and views”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped in for a drink and the view and we very impressed with the service and the bartenders. We were there at happy hour and the place was really alive. With 3 dollar drinks and cheap eats everyone was having a great time. We will be back for dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brianccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and View”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A lovely restaurant with a great view. In the evening lights can be seen for miles. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. Definitely visit!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Happy HOUR!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

First night in St. John after a long travel day we ended up at Spyglass for happy hour drinks and happy hour snacks. The prices on the drinks was great ($3) and the prices on the happy hour food was good. Wings, fish taco's and burgers etc...standard bar food but at great prices, given the prices of food on St. John!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gidget265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view, NICE fans, and good food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had an enjoyable dinner at Spyglass with a waterfront table overlooking beautiful Cruz Bay. The service was extremely personable, and the fish was perfectly prepared. The best thing? Like most restaurants on St. John it's an open air setting, but this restaurant had a really good fan system keeping things cool and pleasant. I'd recommend this for a nice dinner with a wonderful view right in the heart of downtown.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken7821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing