We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only had drinks but what great service and views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spyglass - CLOSED

Spyglass
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
213 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Only had drinks but what great service and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped in for a drink and the view and we very impressed with the service and the bartenders. We were there at happy hour and the place was really alive. With 3 dollar drinks and cheap eats everyone was having a great time. We will be back for dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brianccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A lovely restaurant with a great view. In the evening lights can be seen for miles. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. Definitely visit!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Happy HOUR!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

First night in St. John after a long travel day we ended up at Spyglass for happy hour drinks and happy hour snacks. The prices on the drinks was great ($3) and the prices on the happy hour food was good. Wings, fish taco's and burgers etc...standard bar food but at great prices, given the prices of food on St. John!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gidget265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view, NICE fans, and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had an enjoyable dinner at Spyglass with a waterfront table overlooking beautiful Cruz Bay. The service was extremely personable, and the fish was perfectly prepared. The best thing? Like most restaurants on St. John it's an open air setting, but this restaurant had a really good fan system keeping things cool and pleasant. I'd recommend this for a nice dinner with a wonderful view right in the heart of downtown.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken7821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FRIED KEY LIME PIE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had dinner at the Spyglass on Fathers Day. Was hoping for a sunset but did not get one. However, the food was very good and the Fried Key Lime Pie was excellent. Would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing