We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food and nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spyglass - CLOSED

Spyglass
Price range: $15 - $49
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice view”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Went for dinner service was excellent. Food was very good and plenty of it.
Owner was on premises very nice and thanked us for coming in.
Would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somanyplaces56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go for the food -- enjoy the view!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I ate brunch today at Spyglass, drawn by the sign promising two-for-one mimosas and bloody marys. Who could have guessed that the drink special would not be among the top three reasons I enjoyed my meal? I ordered the "special" omelette, three eggs caressing an ideal combination of crabmeat, spinach, brie, and sauteed onions. The plate included an english muffin, fresh slice of orange, and diced fried potatoes. The meal was satisfying from first bite to last. And of course, the mimosas helped. But more enjoyable than the alcohol was the attentive service I received from Kelli, a charming Kansas City transplant -- in her element in the laid-back atmosphere of St. John. In fact, were it not for Kelli, I would not have developed an appreciation for Spyglass's signature dessert: deep fried key lime pie. Now I am not a key lime pie person. In fact, I really do not like key lime pie. But this dessert -- pillowy, mild, key lime filling inside a lightly fried outside, dusted with sugar and cinnamon -- may have made me a convert. All in all, a VERY enjoyable way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Oh, and did I mention the second-floor view of the harbor at Cruz Bay? It was the ribbon on the package that is Spyglass. I enjoyed it all -- you will too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JusticeTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Nice restaurant overlooking Cruz bay. Good food and service.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Krispy831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good spot for Happy Hour”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Went to Spyglass for Happy Hour and the happy hour menu was fun and all the items sounded good. Had the fish tacos and they were great. Other folks in are party had the wings and said they were fair. Drinks specials seemed reasonable priced.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Freedomgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location and service, horrible expensive food that made me ill”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We went here because we heard they have good fish tacos but we didn't realize that the tacos were only for happy hour, which we missed. We still decided to eat there because it looked like a nice romantic place with a view and the host was a nice and friendly guy. This was a bad mistake! We ordered the conch fritters and the conch chowder for appetizers. The chowder was just tomato soup and the fritters were just fried balls with very little conch. We had the surf and turf for our main course and the steak was extremely dry and tasteless while the lobster was the same. The wine also tasted corked. And to top it off it was all very expensive for mediocre food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bajomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing