We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent streetside food”
Review of Candi's Barbecue

Candi's Barbecue
Ranked #29 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: It is really a small shack type place but has the most amazing bbq i have had in the carribean. please contact me with any Q's.
Restaurant details
Description: It is really a small shack type place but has the most amazing bbq i have had in the carribean. please contact me with any Q's.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent streetside food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

just before you get to the Starfish market, this small restaurant with just a couple of tables cooks to order great food, we will stop here everytime we come to St john. If you see it you'll love it there.Can't miss and enjoy talking with Candi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSW37601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    42
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just average.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to Candi's solely based on the great Tripadvisor reviews. We ordered the 1/2 chicken with fries and pasta salad. The bbq sauce was great - tangy and sweet. The chicken itself was very average - lots of dark meat. The fries were cold, and the pasta salad wasn't the best. Everything was edible, but just average. Maybe the ribs are better, but the chicken is nothing special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xtopheralan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome sides, good BBQ”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We couldn't wait to try Candi's after reading the reviews and thankfully she opened right before our trip ended. We had the pork ribs, cole slaw, plantains, and french fries. I'm dreaming about the plantains and cole slaw and can't wait to come back for more. Want to go on a Friday to try the mac-n-cheese, bet it's awesome. The ribs were pretty tender, but def not fall off the bone. I was surprised she could get them so tender with her limited kitchen, prob can't cook them for a few days like others at home can. The sauce was pretty good too, thick and sweet with a bit too much vinegar to make it my favorite, but it is right up there. Want to try the chicken next time. I would def be back. Only had Skinney Legs ribs on the island and there is no comparison (see my review on those ribs). Can't wait to come back for more of Candi's yumminess!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank snorkeler-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ribs”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Candi's offers a lot of good food for a great price in Cruz Bay. It's a little ways up the road from downtown Cruz Bay (on the way to Starfish market) and tucked in a corner, but it's worth the walk. We went there with a pretty large group - about 8, and she handled it well. She ran out of macaroni and cheese, but otherwise, she had plenty of food for all. The jerk ribs were good, but the sauce was more like a spicier version of tomato-based barbecue sauce than typical jerk spice. Tasted fantastic, though, and you need a lot of napkins! I highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We come here several times every trip”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We start and end every trip at Candie's! I dream about her ribs and slaw-seriously. Easy Parkin, fast and friendly service, best ribs in the world, terrific sides, for $12???? Unbelievable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mindehankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candi's Barbecue also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Candi's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing