We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome sides, good BBQ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candi's Barbecue

Candi's Barbecue
Ranked #30 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: It is really a small shack type place but has the most amazing bbq i have had in the carribean. please contact me with any Q's.
Pa.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Awesome sides, good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We couldn't wait to try Candi's after reading the reviews and thankfully she opened right before our trip ended. We had the pork ribs, cole slaw, plantains, and french fries. I'm dreaming about the plantains and cole slaw and can't wait to come back for more. Want to go on a Friday to try the mac-n-cheese, bet it's awesome. The ribs were pretty tender, but def not fall off the bone. I was surprised she could get them so tender with her limited kitchen, prob can't cook them for a few days like others at home can. The sauce was pretty good too, thick and sweet with a bit too much vinegar to make it my favorite, but it is right up there. Want to try the chicken next time. I would def be back. Only had Skinney Legs ribs on the island and there is no comparison (see my review on those ribs). Can't wait to come back for more of Candi's yumminess!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank snorkeler-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    38
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Candi's offers a lot of good food for a great price in Cruz Bay. It's a little ways up the road from downtown Cruz Bay (on the way to Starfish market) and tucked in a corner, but it's worth the walk. We went there with a pretty large group - about 8, and she handled it well. She ran out of macaroni and cheese, but otherwise, she had plenty of food for all. The jerk ribs were good, but the sauce was more like a spicier version of tomato-based barbecue sauce than typical jerk spice. Tasted fantastic, though, and you need a lot of napkins! I highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We come here several times every trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We start and end every trip at Candie's! I dream about her ribs and slaw-seriously. Easy Parkin, fast and friendly service, best ribs in the world, terrific sides, for $12???? Unbelievable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mindehankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sublime BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have come to St. John many years and have always sought the best food on the island. After hearing people debate Candi's and Joe's the way locals in Philadelphia debate their cheesesteak favorite spots, we cancelled a reservation at some pricey, fancy joint and did take-out from both Candi's and Joe's....Candi's won by a landslide. The service at Candi's was super-friendly, the prep time less, the portions larger, and of course, most importantly, the BBQ and sides ruled the day. If your like a thicker and tastier sauce, Candi's is the place. And you will know why it is called there the "comeback" sauce! Make sure to try the plantains. Oh, and the cole slaw and corn were better at Candi's too. My daughter gave it 4 "S"'s for service, sauce, sides and skin (the skin on the chicken is crispier and more flavorfully cooked at Candi's). Both Joe's and Candi's are great.....Candi's wins.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eat Early”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Informal in the extreme, with only a few tables. Had the barbecue fish, and I didn't think it was very good. The problem we had was that although it was only about 7:30 when we ate, the place was out of most of the dishes we wanted to try. I have given it a three because given what I have heard of the place I expect that other dishes were better than what I had, and I wouldn't be surprised if the fish were better on other occasions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candi's Barbecue also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Candi's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing