We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of the Motherland (USA)”
Review of Deli Grotto - CLOSED

Deli Grotto
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Andover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A taste of the Motherland (USA)”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This Grotto is located at Mongoose junction which has one of my three favorite bathroom locations on the island (important side note). The deli was a morning favorite for bagels, cream cheese, and a fantastic cup of coffee (anyway you like it). With the plan of spending our entire day on the beach this deli provided a great sandwich, wraps, and baked treats. We really like their food for lunch on the beach. Plan a little wait, and make sure to double check that your order is ready, often times we never heard them call our number/name. Reminded me of great food from home, and we will always return to this location.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    66
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice deli”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

THey have pretty good food and reasonable prices. Sandwhiches and breakfast are good and they also have a few desert items. The Coconut Chocolate cake is amazing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely fresh baked bread!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

They bake their own multigrain bread, which is awesomely good. Get some of the amazing spinach dip to go with it. The hummus is good (could use more garlic, for me). The curried chicken salad was good, but could have used a dab more mayo to help mellow the sharpness of the curry.

Lots of drinks here, from bottled water to rum. Try the Island Brewery Ginger Beer. So good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Island breakfast.....best French Toast with their freshly prepared bread!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good breakfast! French Toast rates as the best choice in my opinion. Bread prepared at the deli that was excellent. Egg scramble was tasty as well. Great start to a great day of exploring the beaches on St John. Don't leave without ordering a peanut butter and banana smoothie!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbr1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Deli!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The sandwiches here are fantastic! The only not so good thing is the pervasive smell of bleach in the place which transferred to the sandwich I got to go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reneezd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deli Grotto also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing