We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast sandwiches and breads”
Review of Deli Grotto - CLOSED

Deli Grotto
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast sandwiches and breads”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

on two different occasions during a week stay in St john my wife and I enjoyed Deli grotto's breakfast sandwiches before a busy day of boating/hiking and snorkeling. They were simple egg/cheese/bacon/lettuce/tomato on a croissant, but had a lot of the intangible "TLC" that makes a good simple sandwich and were made fresh to order while we sipped coffee. We like this kind of place because their food tasted great, and the experience of stopping here for a quick bite that was tasty, fresh, and not overly heavy facilitated our vacation plans rather than impeding or becoming them. In addition, we took a loaf of their bread to go, which was also fantastic for thick sliced french toast back at our villa.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoogFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    66
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Perfect spot to grab a sandwich for the beach. Fresh food made on premise. House made salads where delicious

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CtLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John
2 reviews
“SIMPLY FABULOUS”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great food for breakfast and lunch ( both in air conditioning AND to take to the beach or boating )
Great friendly staff and the best baked goods on island.....especially the struedel......
Don't miss the beautiful outdoor dining setting and the great service....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedStJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulously Fresh & Healthy!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Deli Grotto is a daily event when I visit St. John. Their amazing smoothies, baked goods and sandwiches are the best on the island in my opinion. Deli Grotto bread is a must when you order a sandwich!This is a great place to grab lunch in the morning to pack for your hiking and boating adventures for the day. Stop in and give them a try. You won't be sorry.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank VBSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cut above the ordinary”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We followed several other people through the door, figuring all there must be some reason it was so popular. The sandwiches and bakery items were fabulous, both more interesting and tastier than I was expecting to encounter. Service was a little slower than we expected, but the food was worth the wait. We went back again later in the day for another round of smoothies. ;-)

We'll definitely head here again if we find ourselves on St. John in need of breakfast or take-out. Also, have cash with you because they don't accept credit cards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deli Grotto also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing