We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Reasonably Priced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden by the Sea B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cozy and Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We stayed at GBTS in January 2007 and found the place to be quite cozy and charming-- it's definitely not posh, but we were certainly comfortable. We stayed in the Wild Orchid room and never had any issues about privacy or noise. The vegetation is dense enough though that you shouldn't expect to get any sea breezes wafting into the lower rooms-- the air conditioning is a must! We loved that they provided coolers, towels, and really convenient beach chairs/backpacks-- these came in handy as we traveled around to the different beaches on St. John. There is a useful binder with most of the menus of the different restaurants in town, so you do get a really good idea of what you're in for with your dinner choice. They also have many of the guide books for St. John, so if you haven't found any by the time you get there, they are a nice resource. We only had three issues that gave us pause about this inn. First, they really need to update their driving/walking instructions to the inn and provide a map with their confirmation mail-- since there seems to be a prohibition on street signs in Cruz Bay, directions with really accurate landmarks and distances are a necessity. Second, we were not that keen on the manager's choice of background music. Third, the bed in our room has exceeded its comfort date and is in need of replacing. We didn't lose sleep (we were exhausted most every night) but we did both comment that we could have been more comfortable. Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Liked — Tourist amenities and close location to restaurants
  • Disliked — Bed and music
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dzhenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
166
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Me and my wife spent the first half of our honeymoon here and we can't say enough about it.
Our Garden Room was absolutely relaxing and romantic. The shower is the true highlight here. The hosts were more than accomadating. Whether it was their deluctable breakfast or their recommendations for dinner or beaches, each was fantastic!
Rent a jeep and and get to know this island! Garden by the Sea is a truly great place to call home weather you are here for a night or a week.

  • Liked — Very open and relaxing
  • Disliked — Did'nt stay long enough
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a jeep and discover it on your own. The best way!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank <~~KPatrickO~~>
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

My husdand and I just returned from St. John. We stayed for 5 glorious nights in Garden by the Sea. It is a wonderful 3 room b-n-b. We arrived all hot and sweaty on Monday. Nancy greeted us, made us welcome drinks, and bumped us from the Wild Ginger to the Terrace Room as we were going to be the only guests until Thursday. The hotel is beautifully decorated with lots of island charm. It is a short walk to downtown Cruz Bay so going out to dinner was a breeze, never any parking worries. They made delicious breakfasts with fresh fruit smoothies every morning, and they even accomodated my non-egg eating husband by making mostly pancakes and french toast. The location is perfect, the building is charming, and the hosts are knowledgeable and gracious. This is the perfect spot to stay when visiting St. John. ----

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank baxterstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2005

This was the perfect place for us to enjoy our honeymoon. We stayed in the Garden Suite and it was great. There is air conditoning and plenty of it. We were never hot. The garden shower being open was not a problem for us. Theres really no way someone could see in. The house is a short walk from downtown but there are not any really nice beaches around. You need to drive or taxi to those. There will be new owners after this summer so I dont know what will change but it will still be a B&B and im sure will be just as charming as it is now. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2005

We just got back from a stay at The Garden by the Sea B&B and we had a great experience. It has been under new ownership since last year and those old reviews don't really apply. Our room (the Garden Suite) was immaculate and very charming. The room did have air conditioning (which is definitely neccessary in April) and a cool outdoor rock shower which would be almost impossible for people to see you in so don't worry! The inn is also very convenient to Cruz Bay and the owners are very nice and accomodating. They make a great breakfast and set it out and then let you do your own thing but are around for advice and they happily booked me a massage in town. There is construction quite close - but there is a building boom in St. John so that's pretty common. The builders started around 8am and were always done by 5pm so it was not that big of deal. I highly recommend it but book ahead because there are only three rooms.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 14, 2003

First off, I have to agree with some of the comments in the previous review - Garden by the Sea is definitely located at the bottom of the steepest hill I have ever driven on (but we never had any problems negotiating it on foot or in our rental car)! There were some mosquitoes but we didn't find them to be a problem and very few got into our room. There was a rooster wandering around the area and some construction noise but not enough to bother us. There is no air conditioning, television, or phones in the rooms so if you need these amenities to survive - don't go here! We never missed any of them, though. We went in late november and the temperature was great (80s) with a breeze a lot of the time. We stayed in the upstairs room and I agree with the previous reviewer that there is probably some lack of privacy if you stay in one of the downstairs rooms, but our room was great - we had all the privacy we wanted with our own deck and non-"open air" bathroom! Everything is pretty much identical to the pictures on their website, and is a beautiful place to stay. I think the new owners just took over the place in summer 2003, and they were very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were great and they provided a lot of information as well as beach chairs and coolers. I think that Garden by the Sea is best for people who don't want to hang around all day in their room but instead like to get out and explore the island, with a great little place to come home to and relax in the evenings! We definitely enjoyed our stay tremendously and would not hesitate to return here.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2003

First, let me further explain why my husband and I give Garden by the Sea the "1 star" rating of terrible. It may be an acceptable place to stay for someone that is traveling on a budget and doesn't mind sweating to death, swatting insects and lack of privacy. My husband and I found Garden by the Sea on the internet. We were charmed by their website which contained the most beautiful pictures of tropically colored rooms, beautiful gardens and lush tropical vegetation. It looked like a romantic little paradise. When we arrived at St. John, a cab driver took us down the road leading to Garden by the Sea. The slope of this hill rivaled many of the most thrilling roller coasters I have ever ridden. We got out of the cab and went in. We had reserved the garden suite. The entrance was a sliding screen door with several holes in it -- portals for the ravenous mosquitoes. The room was nicely decorated, much like I remembered it from the website only it seemed a bit smaller. Not much room to walk around the bed. As I swatted a few bloodsuckers off my arms and legs I decided to check out the bathroom.
It was fairly large, had a good amount of light coming in from the big screen-covered skylight over the "garden shower". The garden shower idea would have been nice, however with the other guests and the owners of the Inn being in such close proximity, privacy is a big concern. Not only does the screened skylight offer the upstairs guests a spectacular view of whoever is the shower, but also I would imagine that a guest in the garden suite wouldn't have much privacy sitting on the toilet either. The thought of my husband and I spending our first night together as a married couple sweating and swatting insects and having to worry about other guests overhearing us doing the things that all newly married couples do on their wedding night did not appeal to us at all. So we expressed our concerns to the owners and told them we needed to find accommodations elsewhere. They suggested we try Gallows Point and only refunded us a small portion of the $750.00 we placed as a down payment. We did end up staying at Gallows Point and we highly recommend it! For a slightly higher price per day we had air conditioning, a large bedroom, bathroom, living room, kitchen and beautiful balcony overlooking Cruz Bay and excellent service from all the staff.

Helpful?
45 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loislouis, Owner at Garden by the Sea B&B, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Hey there to all you Trip Advisor readers. I just want to allay any fears about this review. John and I have owned Garden by the Sea B&B since 2005. When we bought the place AC had been put in all three bedrooms in 2004. When the honeymoon couple came here in June, 2003 there was no AC in any of the rooms. And they are right, it would have been HOT. All three bedrooms are comfortably climate controlled. The garden bathrooms in the Garden Suite and in the Wild Ginger room are NOT AC'd tho. They are both screened in and have lots of flora and fauna and lush vegetation up top over the screening. Over the years the plants and trees have totally taken over and there is no way anyone can see into the bathrooms.
John does an incredible job maintaining all three units so the screens are very "un holey" and intact. In the cooler winter months, it is feasible to leave the doors and windows open in all three bedrooms. All doors and windows (in the bedrooms) are screened to keep the voracious skeeters out. Of course it's just about impossible to open the door and get inside without one following you in. But we give lessons when you arrive!! We are very sorry the aforementioned honeymoon couple had such a problem when they arrived, but all of those issues have been addressed and corrected. Garden by the Sea is truly a wonderful respite with lush vegetation surrounding the property and we face the Audubon Bird Sanctuary in the Salt Pond at Frank Bay. Do check out our web site. Thanks again. Nancy Louis, owner GBTS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden by the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden by the Sea B&B

Property: Garden by the Sea B&B
Address: PO Box 37 | Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831-0037, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden by the Sea B&B is the quintessential Caribbean home: bright, colorful walls; local art and paintings; gingerbread trim; lush gardens with coconut and banana trees; & nesting birds, iguanas, and peacocks. We are located in the heart of Estate Contant and Enighed – a funky little neighborhood within walking distance of Cruz Bay and 1 ½ blocks from Frank Bay Beach. Your hosts have lived on St. John for over 12 years and are very familiar with the island and the national park and are very willing to help plan your daily activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden By The Sea Hotel Cruz Bay
Garden By The Sea Bed And Breakfast
Garden By The Sea B&B St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing