We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All true.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden by the Sea B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hard to do anything but say that all of the compliments that others have offered are true.

John & Nancy are wonderful hosts (They are the owners and are there about 5 months of the year and have other caretakers for the rest of the year.) Breakfasts are tasty and imaginative. Location is very convenient. (FYI - The location shown on Google Maps is not accurate.)

We stayed in the Terrace Room. It was terrific.

Room Tip: Terrace room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our stay at the Garden By The Sea was the perfect oasis for us in a long overdue vacation. On the short list of what stood out to us and made our stay a lasting memory are: the genuineness of Mickey and Frank and the quiet and comfortable rhythms of the day set at Garden By The Sea- starting with a delicious breakfast on the veranda, daily smoothies made for us, helpful guidance about what we might like to do each day, and a lovely friendly small place where we could meet and connect with other travelers.

Garden By The Sea is pretty much a perfect place from which to venture out and get to know the beauty of St. John.

St. John is hilly, so be prepared for that if you are walking into town to get a taxi for your excursions. We actually loved that daily walk since it more than helped balance the eating that we did!

Room Tip: We loved the Terrace Room for its comfortable size and privacy as the only room on the second floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rcbwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Writing this review a little late, like almost a year! The wife and I stayed here for the second time in April 2012. It was just as we remembered although there was a new host with Peter and his wife. Same great breakfasts and coffee, beautiful setting just set back enough where you feel you're in the jungle but close enough to walk into town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clarkvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our hosts, Mickey and Frank, made our nine-night stay the perfect vacation on St. John. The rooms are well appointed with a caribbean flair, and they are absolutely spotless. Frank made wonderful breakfasts; my personal favorite was Eggs Benedict, but the piña colada French Toast and everything else was equally as yummy. We enjoyed talking to Mickey, and she shared many things about the island and the things surrounding the Garden by the Sea. I would love to visit again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MexicoMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The B&B was a welcome change from our first four nights at a resort on St. Thomas. Upon arrival, one of our hosts, Frank, greeted us and said, "Welcome home." This pretty much sums up how we felt throughout our stay. Frank and Mickey were delightfully warm, knowledgeable, and sweet. We felt truly at home at Garden by the Sea, and hope to visit again. In addition to chatting with the hosts as a great way to pass time, they were both ready with suggestions and lessons learned from their time on the island. As if the stay couldn't be better, Frank's cooking was a great way to start every day. With only a 15 minute walk into town, we really couldn't more highly recommend Garden by the Sea.

Room Tip: The open air showers in the 2 lower rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I picked The Garden of the Sea after I read the reviews and it did not disappoint. I will echo all of the other positive comments and reiterate that Mickey and Frank are the most gracious hosts we have ever experienced at a B&B. The breakfasts were incredible and we really looked forward to planning our day with Frank. He checks weather and tide conditions so that you get the best beach/snorkeling experience. His recommendations for food were spot on! The other people staying with us were so nice to talk to as well- The location is perfect because you can walk to town. The Wednesday night cocktail party at the art gallery is awesome and don't miss the karaoke at Sun Dog! We did rent a car for part of our time, but could have had just as much fun with out it- We are already planning our trip for next year! Counting the days until we return to Garden by the Sea-

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. We had the terrace view room which is the most private, upstairs and gets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lisasamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I very really write a review, but having stayed at Garden By The Sea for the second time and again having a great time, I was prompted to write. This is a small intimate B and B on the lovely island of St. John. The rooms are all very unique, some with open air showers. What makes it so special are Mickey and Frank. I want to thank them personally for such a lovely time. They both are very knowledgable about the island and offer great suggestions on how to plan your day or where to eat. A shout out to Capt. Phil on the Wayward Sailor for a great day of sailing and snorkeling. So not only are they helpful, but Frank has a wicked sense of humor and great to talk too and Mickey is so sweet and very creative. Please buy one of her paintings or craftwork, as I did. It will constantly remind you of them and the great time at GBTS.

Stayed: March 2013
5  Thank gman8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden by the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden by the Sea B&B

Address: PO Box 37 | Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831-0037, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $160 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden by the Sea B&B is the quintessential Caribbean home: bright, colorful walls; local art and paintings; gingerbread trim; lush gardens with coconut and banana trees; & nesting birds, iguanas, and peacocks. We are located in the heart of Estate Contant and Enighed – a funky little neighborhood within walking distance of Cruz Bay and 1 ½ blocks from Frank Bay Beach. Your hosts have lived on St. John for over 12 years and are very familiar with the island and the national park and are very willing to help plan your daily activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden By The Sea Hotel Cruz Bay
Garden By The Sea Bed And Breakfast
Garden By The Sea B&B St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing