We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Acworth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, nice property”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Gallows Point in unit 1D, an upper unit with an amazing view toward St. Thomas. The location was perfect for us, quiet too. Loved listening to the waves breaking below us. It is well equipped and beautifully decorated in Caribbean style. Our family of 4 stayed here (2 adults, 2 teens).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    142
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
157
517
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

You will be hard pressed to ever find a place this beautiful. The condos are absolutely gorgeous, swimming pool, hot tub and beach. Wonderful views from your balcony and a great place to visit, restaurants. bars and many fun places within walking distance. You can do quite well without any transportation. Visit, you will love it!!!!

Don Miller, Lubbock, Texas

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My family of 4 went to St. John for first time Feb. vacation, and it was more than we could have hoped for. Gallows Point sounds a little gloomy, but was in fact PERFECTLY located at the mouth of Cruz Bay Harbor, a wonderful place that could not be more beautiful. The Resort was perfect--friendly, quiet, country-club-lovely grounds, terrific pool, great snorkeling (at least for the novice), and the most accommodating, friendly staff we have encountered anywhere. The Resort is also located just above Cruz Bay, which we found to be a terrific, fun little town--great restaurants, shops, bars, and all were welcoming and great to be with. We would also highly recommend St. John Car Rental just a few blocks from the dock--they were very helpful, had all new Jeeps, and were scrupulously honest--we overpaid them (a long story) and they mailed us a refund. There may be other good car rental outfits, but for an agency to send you a refund when you are back home and 1800 miles away is pretty impressive. And the Jeep will get you to some amazing places--ZoZo's (restaurant), Trunk Bay, Hawksnest, etc.--the finest beaches anywhere, and easy to get to, if you have a Jeep....St. John is an amazing place--if you'd like a small, friendly, "hip" town for home-base, an idyllic resort, amazing food, and great people, this is the place.

Room Tip: Any of the units would be great, but we enjoyed a unit on the second (top) floor, with a corner view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Gallows Point is where I will go for the first six months after I win that 100 million dollar lottery. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Zozo's is a fine restaurant (and bar), or you can walk just a block down the hill to the Beach Bar (which is probably the very center of the known universe). Gallows Point was actually in a novel by Jack Higgins titled "Thunder Point" involving sunken ships, WW2, etc. >>> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thunder_Point <<<

So you take the ferry over from Red Hook and you can walk through the Cruz Bay downtown, past the Beach bar, past the old graveyard, and there you are. First time they will gladly pick you up, but after that, why bother? Think they have a webcam at Gallows looking north on the bayside.

Room Tip: Don't like the one next to the graveyard (spooky) or the ones right across from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank docJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Gallows Points was so relaxing for the five days we were in St John. We had reserved a first floor ocean view room, but were a bit unsure where it was in the property. We got room 15B which was awesome. I say room. It is a condo unit with a full kitchen, sitting room, big bath & shower & bedroom, but the best part is the porch. Why the porch? The view from the porch is fantastic. Looking left you see St Thomas & the blue water between the islands & looking right is Cruz Bay with clear, green water & waterfront restaurants. The other awesome thing about the unit & the porch is the waves. The gentle, breaking waves are only 20 to 30 feet away & the continuous sounds are so soothing, it was another major contributor to the relaxed state. Open all of the windows at night & soak it in. There is nothing luxurious about the unit & it's furnishings. It is quite comfortable, but not fancy. The bedroom was pretty small, but was just fine for my wife & me. The unit was closest to the pool. The pool is small, but satisfactory for the mostly adult guests using it. They have a beach which is little, but if you want beaches go the beaches on the north side of the island. Many people snorkeled off the point & seemed to enjoy it. Gallows Point is a short walk to Cruz Bay which added to the relaxed state sense we did not have to fool around with a car & parking to get to many restaurants & shops. Also convenient is the Gallows Point Gourmet Provisioning Shop. We bought snacks, soft drinks & wine from there & their costs are not a whole lot more than the grocery store. All of the staff including the ladies at the shop were very friendly & added to the relaxation. Although we could hear the partying from the restaurants & bar as we walked to the unit, we did not hear anything other than the waves after getting inside.
GP in high season is not cheap, but what is on St John? It was worth every penny & we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonDog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We rented a one bedroom unit that included a kitchen. Our living room/kitchen overlooked a small grassy yard and the sea. Three of the walls had multiple louvred doors, so that we never needed air conditioning, with just left the louvres open, so we had constant pleasant breeze and the sounds of the waves and birds at all times.
The whole property is beautifully landscaped and maintained with a variety of trees and shrubs.
Our stay was peaceful, and the other guests were pleasant. The desk provided towels and beach chairs. I am very pleased with our stay here.
We enjoyed the food at the restaurant here better than at any of the many restaurants we tried. Many of the dishes had a suggestion of Southeast Asian seasoning. I like the mahi and for appetizers the pulled pork dumplings, tuna tartare, prosciuto with poached figs, and a squid bruchetta.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzyQ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We just returned from our 3 night stay at Gallows Point. This is our second time staying at the resort ( last time 2005). Apparently, all of the rooms have been remodeled and updated since our last stay. This time we stayed in room 11C. The rooms were beautifully updated... big neutral colored tile floors, granite counter tops in kitchen and both bathrooms, lot's of natural light from the windows, comfortable beds, big glass enclosed walk in shower, etc... You could hear the sounds of the boats in the harbor. The landscaping around the resort is still very lush and serene. We used the convenient store on the premises to rent snorkel gear, purchase lunch, and buy souvenirs. Without a doubt this is the best place to stay on Saint John. It is so close to everything that you never need to rent a jeep. Almost forgot, I did see a turtle while snorkeling of the small beach at Gallows Point. Someone told me that there is a resident barracuda named "Frank" who is frequently sited under the diving platform. Unfortunately, I didn't have the chance to meet his acquaintance :>)

Room Tip: 11C on the harbor. You can hear boats in the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
486 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing