We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful with Breathtaking Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jonesboro
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful with Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I have just returned from a five day vacation on St John.
Gallows Point Resort was lovely and very relaxing. We stayed in an upper
Ocean view unit and loved it! Gallows Point is a romantic place if you are
Looking to spend some quality time with your partner. The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. Thank you so much Gallows Point Staff! We will return next year. The four star rating was because the restaurant wasn't open yet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D10Jonesboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    142
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
157
517
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Came here on our honeymoon, fully expecting to be disappointed. Normally when I see a gazillion pictures/read awesome reviews, my expectations are set way too high. I was totally wrong in the best way!! The resort was more beautiful in person than any of the pictures could capture. Though you can't reserve specific rooms, you can often request them.

The rooms are HUGE. We went with the upper ocean view, which has a full-sized kitchen/living area downstairs, and a bedroom space upstairs. More than enough space for the two of us to lounge about for the day. The bed was not very comfortable, but good enough. The fact the rooms have AC is a huge plus as many of the other places we researched did not. The way the resort is built, it really feels like you are some of the only people staying there. The grounds are beautiful, though creepy at night with all the hermit crabs walking about.

The view from the rooms is purely magical. The balconies overlook the ocean. The worst part about the resort is that the area for swimming right off the property is more for snorkeling-lots of rocks/fish, but not for beach lounging. That's such a small complaint considering you are on a beautiful island with tons of small beaches to discover. Most of the time, when we would go out at 10 am, we would be the only people on the beach for quite some time.

Great location to downtown, close enough to walk. The worst is that you pass a creepy graveyard on your way to downtown while on foot. The little shop on the property is a great place to go for service. We visited a few of the other resorts for meals/beach visits, but nothing compared to Gallows Point.

If you are going for a honeymoon or special occasion, I highly recommend the packages they have. The cost is almost the same, but the things included are amazing. We had a private chef our last night, which I was a bit apprehensive about as a picky eater, but it, too was amazing. I definitely recommend this resort for honeymooners since there are no kids around.

Not sure if the restaurant on the grounds is still there, but if so it is SO good. We went with a gift certificate, but were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Look through other visitors' pictures to see specific rooms. They are all good though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coconutkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Let me start by saying I give Gallows Point 4 out of 5 stars. Very good....but not quite PERFECT as some people claim.

The Good:

1. Great location. Close to everything downtown and all the fun happenings. Walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. The grounds are well manicured with beautiful exotic plants.

2. Great pool & hot tub. Not too big, not too small. The hot tub is colorful at night. There are posted hours, but no one seems to care as we went in the hot tub past 11pm and no one bothered us.

3. Great for couples. Quiet and couple oriented - no kids! Finally a place that doesn't cater to the screaming, crying, annoying little ones!! Very romantic. Lots of hammocks, little covered areas to sit for 2 people, etc.

4. Great snorkeling. We saw a sea turtle, stingray, tons of fish, and more! RIGHT from the ocean in front of the resort - steps away! The entry area "dock" is perfect, as is the floating dock as it's great to snorkel, rest on the dock, and snorkel some more. Some of the best snorkeling on the island STEPS away from your door!

5. Friendly staff. They always seemed to have a good attitude and were VERY helpful. Great group.

6. The little shop on site is excellent. They have anything you'd want - without going to a store! The prices are high, as are all things on the island, but barely higher than the local grocery store (we checked.) They have souvenirs, food, pop, breakfast items, sunscreen, etc - I can't think of anything we wanted that they DIDN'T have!

7. Oceanfront rooms are very nice. Updated kitchen and appliances, steps from the ocean.

So no on to the bad/not so good.

1. Number one was the internet. Half of our stay it would connect to the wireless network but it couldn't access any websites. It was this way on all of our devices (laptops, kindles, etc.) Then magically, some days it would work fine for a few hours. We called the front desk to complain and were told "Keep trying." Keep trying!? For what.....10 hours? Literally, there were days the internet didn't work at all - no amount of "trying" would fix that. The days it DID work, it was slowwwwwwwwww. There's definitely an issue with the Wifi at this place. Yea yea, I know - we're in paradise, who cares about internet. Well, at night we love keeping our family posted with out photos and travel updates via Facebook - something you can't do without Internet! This was VERY bothersome for us.

2. Parking. EXTREMELY limited parking. Many times you have to double park (park behind someone, blocking them in.) On the plus side, the resort is VERY good about letting you double park, giving your key to the front desk, and they will move your car for you when able.

3. Nice....but rough around the edges. Now this is just being a bit picky....but the resort is showing its age. It's still well maintained, but small things such as trim boards being loose in the room, to bad paintjobs when they painted the trim, to rusting lamps.....things that don't mean much, but things that you notice nonetheless. The overall condition on a 1-10 scale, 10 being brand new, 1 being run down.....I'd rate both the room and the resort a 7. Not bad by any means, but definitely not "perfect" - and for this price, it could be better.

Overall, a beautiful resort in a great location with excellent snorkeling, great for couples. Not quite perfect, but close :) We'd definitely recommend it to others, and may return ourselves one day - hopefully with the Wifi fixed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xtopheralan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This "resort" (if you want to stretch the definition of this word to cover this place) feels more like a condo rental property. We actually asked the front desk attendant how to get onto the resort property not knowing we were standing on it. If you're traveling as a couple and want a resort experience, I wouldn't even consider this place. Try Caneel Bay or The Westin.

If you want a beach on your property, good luck. It's "waterfront" but there's no beach. Hard to call yourself a resort and you don't even have a beach on your property.

There's just a breathtaking view of a rundown old disgusting cemetery with above ground graves adjacent to the property.


The pool looks like something at a 1990's motel and the condos inside gave me the feeling I just rented a beach condo in 1995 in OCMD.

The staff was nice but the rooms were just ok. If you have a family of four and want to save money on food there is a full kitchen. The bathrooms were new and gave you the feel you were in a luxury villa, then you walked out of the bathroom and realized you're in a beach condo. Again, the staff was fantastic, it's just not a romantic luxury getaway spot.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jacarr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Will definitely stay here again. Great location in Cruz Bay. Just a short walk to the heart of town and all the restaurants and shops. Beautiful ocean and harbor views from our room. Very clean and comfortable. The suite was extra spacious, and we loved sitting on the balcony and watching boats come in and out of the harbor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Gallows Point three years ago, and staying here again was the main reason we came back to St. John. We stay in room 10B which is a lower unit with a great view of the gazebo and the bay. Snorkeling is good and the pool is very peaceful and relaxing. We also went for the beaches, but when we thought they would be closed due to the U.S. government shutdown, we did not get too upset because we knew that we could have a great vacation just staying at Gallows Point. This is the only place that we would consider staying when we visit St. John.

Room Tip: We like 10B because of the view and closeness to the pool and snorkeling area. As seniors, it is eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was my second year in a row staying at Gallows Point, and I can't recommend this condo resort highly enough. We stayed in unit 15d, which is an upper level ocean view room rented via Suite St. John. This unit has one of the best views on the property, and it is very convenient for pool use and for snorkeling.

I've also stayed at Caneel Bay, and I prefer Gallows Point due to the fact that it is a close walk to Cruz Bay. Also, I prefer the accommodations at Gallows to the rooms at Caneel.

Here are the pros and cons, from my perspective.

Pros
Large, modern condo-style rooms
Well appointed kitchen for cooking and eating in
Wonderful service
Short walk to restaurants/Cruz Bay
Great snorkeling on extensive reef
Beautiful views from entire resort
Oceanfront pool and jacuzzi (great after snorkeling)
Quiet and peaceful (most of the time)

Cons
Can be loud on weekends when bands are playing in Cruz Bay or when the bars are crowded
No sandy beach (although it is oceanfront)
Loft style bedroom is not separated from the living room via a wall

The snorkeling at Gallows Point is very good, and the reef is extensive. This year we saw - reef squid, nurse sharks, turtles, several octopi, moray eels, christmas tree worms, feather dusters, filefish, peacock flounders and many other reef fish.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv4travelNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
486 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing