We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in disguise ! :-)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Tamarind Court
Ranked #5 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Your comments on here worried me, but I went ahead and kept my reservations! I knew it was not a beach front resort, it was a place to sleep and get ready at befor my ventures out on the beautiful Island of St. John. It turned out to be clean and comfortable, I NEVER saw ANY bugs in my room or halls!!! unlike my friends staying at the resort!!! they had them in there room everyday!!! I sat in the cafe and on the porch with the managers and other guest who stay there often and even employees of the island that live there short term. they were all very friendly and very accommodating! the food was great and the drinks were perfect! I had use of FREE snorkel gear and fresh clean beach towels every day! and a short walk into town everyday was perfect! the price was right for me and I would stay there again! I had a wonderful experience!!!
THANK YOU TO ALL AT THE INN of Tamarind!!! Debbie :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

I have stayed here numerous times & have always had a great experience. True that it is not the Westin, but it's an awesome value. I paid $110 for a room with king bed, private bathroom, window A/C unit & tv. No frills but who's gonna do more in their hotel room than sleep when in beautiful St. John. I've always found the staff to be very friendly & helpful. The courtyard restaurant serves an awesome breakfast & features theme-night dinners 6 nights a week. The food is excellent, fairly priced & portions are huge. It's also a great gathering spot for drinks with the locals who always have a funny story to tell & tips to share. The Tamarind is located within walking distance of many restaurants, bars & shopping. If you're low-maintenance and don't need all of the amenities a large resort has to offer, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdldallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you're looking for the Westin, then go to the Westin. If you are looking for a laid back, fun, friendly, family style local vibe then this is it!

Located in Cruz Bay, it's close to everything. No need for a car, just a short walk up the road to this friendly establishment. If you do have a car, the parking lot is right behind the inn and very convenient.

Get to know the others at the Tamarind bar located in their courtyard. Breakfasts are great and very affordable. Big screen TV's with sports and news.

The rooms are simple, but comfortable. Each has it's own air conditioner, TV and a place to hang your clothes. The towels and bed linens are clean and there is a "spiff up" service offered at no extra charge.

This is a great place to stay because it is very affordable and family friendly. I will be back and it won't be soon enough! Thanks Tamarind!

Dean

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deandoeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Location is th only thing thats really nice about the Inn. Room is small but ok if you just need a place to sleep and shower, Staff was not frinedly or really cared if your there or not. I am surprised that the owner is not very friendly and a spent more time talking to locals instead of guests , the old saying goes you never know who your talking to and treat ever one the same..This place needs a new proprietor plan and simple , one who cares about her guests , I was never told that breakfast was comp , or that there where beach towels , or that there were coolers until i spent all day gone to the beach ...The only plus was the A/C ... no blanket at all just a old sheet and two hard pillows oh well once you go you know...Location is the only selling point and far as price goes its hard to believethat they get 100.00 a night for a room the size of a childs room with no bathroom in the room ..

Room Tip: Choose a condo elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEVigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just up the hill from the Cruz Bay ferry dock (literally 5 min walk) is the Inn at Tamarind Court. I stayed in the single room. Think cheap hostel and you'll be happy. The room/facility isn't dirty, but it's not clean. So, floor is those cheap tiles, many of which are broken, cobwebs, bare lightbulbs, etc. Room: single bed is good, window AC worked well, tiny TV on a desk. Rusty metal rack w/ a few metal hangers. Bathroom was fine - shower, toilet, sink. There are two bathrooms, shared by 8 rooms or so. I was there in the low-season, so the 'amenities' like bar, restaurant, etc closed at 8 pm. Breakfast looked decent but I didn't eat there - lots of choices 2 mins walk. Staff was reasonably friendly at best. Again, I was there in low season. For $65 total it's a bargain and the location is good (20 min walk along a rocky trail to Honeymoon bay!). Don't expect much in the way of amenities, consider it a place to simply crash or seek relief in the AC and you'll be happy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank neuatomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed at the Tamarind June 6-9, 2011. I'd never recommend this place nor would I ever return. It's terribly overpriced at $120 (single room)/night, no shampoo, no blanket on the bed, dirty, AC making a loud racket all night and dogs barking behind the room all night. The place has a bar/restaurant which was also very expensive. I got the feeling that no one really cared whether the guests were comfortable because it was St. John.

Won't be back.

Room Tip: Best tip is find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ultrarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The photos made our room look simple, spacious and clean, It was simple, spacious and fairly run down. The property needs a serious sweep of maintenance. The wall switch/socket had layers of dust that hadn't been touched for a long time. To be fair, I think the floor, shower and bathroom had been cleaned in most areas we had contact with. The linens were very thin and cheap. The free continental breakfast was a cut up orange, a couple of thin slices of melon, coffee and an english muffin. People were friendly and nice. I'd say it's tolerable for one or two nights but the rates make it a poor value even for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColoradoDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cruz Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tamarind Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tamarind Court

Address: Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quant Inn blends island charm, resonable rates and conveniently located in the town of Cruz Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tamarind Court Hotel Cruz Bay
Inn Tamarind Court
Inn At Tamarind Court St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing