We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Hill Suites
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Lavender Hill is charming and quiet although it is just steps from downtown Cruz Bay. My hubby and I felt very comfortable staying here. We had a wrap around balcony and it felt like the place was all ours. Nice view of the harbor and a short walk to food, bars, etc. We liked it so much that we called Charlie and asked to extend our stay by 1 day. Charlie and Brian are extremely easy to deal with and more than helpful. Make sure to adjust your expectations before staying there. It could use some updates as the decor is really outdated and drab. Don't expect luxury or modern facilities. We felt like this was home away from home. The free laundry room was a super nice touch! Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachorBust613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at Lavender Hill and we loved it once again. You just can't beat this location-- a couple of minutes' wallk into the town of Cruz Bay, yet perched up on the hill with spectacular views of the harbor. We were very comfortable except for a few minor issues with the unit, described under Room Tips.
We have not stayed elsewhere on St. John but when we priced a few other places for early December there was no comparison with the value received at LH. We will come back a 3rd time if at all possible!!

Room Tip: Unit 10E needs a little attention as of this writing (12/11). The shower temp control was broken (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is the best place I've stayed at while on vacations. Been to nice resorts, hotels etc all over the Carribbean and nothing has even come close to what Lavender Hill offers you. The convenience of proximity to downtown Cruz Bay, the amenities (beach chairs, coolers, dishware, etc) and the comfort of being a home away from home is unparalleled. Brian sets you up from the start and Charlie is the very helpful on-site caretaker. They give you everything you need and let you enjoy your vacation. The suites are spacious and modern enough to make your stay very comfortable and enjoyable (not to mention the balcony views are phenom). I'd highly recommend Lavender Hill to anyone planning a trip to St John.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We travel to St John 2 or 3 times a year and have stayed in all of the downtown biggies in Cruz Bay. Out of all of them Lavender Hill is the best bet for value and accomodations. The units are all very well appointed and have really nice balconies with beautiful views. They are large and roomy for this area and have been well cared for by their owners. The management staff is great and they are always available if needed. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a wonderful and relaxing place to stay in Cruz Bay. Everything is right there so you can walk to dinner, grocery or the bars. I will definately stay here again and again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in 3 different units and they were all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoodleGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My best friend and I had an amazing time at Lavender. It was truly amazing how seamless everything was. We showed up and walked into our suite and literally never had to deal with anyone. They provide everything you need specifically the small stuff that at some resorts could be a pain in the neck i.e. cooking materials, utensils, coolers and chairs for the beach, this is all there for your use. it's as if you are staying with a good friend who is a local. I'd highly advise checking this place out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We just got back from St. John after a week at Lavender Hill Suites in Cruz Bay. I've been a Trip Advisor user for a few years, but this was the first time I felt prompted to write a review myself. We can't say enough good things about Lavender Hill Suites and what a great place this was. Before we even arrived, we had a great impression of the place from all the assistance we got from Brian. He was very helpful in answering all of our questions and giving us all the information we needed to make sure that we were all squared away prior to our arrival. Upon our arrival we were completely blown away by how great the place was. After a very long day of travel to get to St. John it felt like coming home when we walked in the front door. And the view from our balcony made all the travel to get there completely worth it!
The property sits up on a hill overlooking Cruz Bay and is only a short walk into town, so you can be at the shops, restaurants, and bars within 5 minutes and you don't have to drive or mess with any taxis. The suites are very large and comfortable with a great kitchen in case you want to make some of your meals at the house instead of eating out every night. They also have a couple of decent gas grills out by the pool that we used to cook some fish we caught during our trip! Our suite also had 5-6 nice beach chairs, 2 coolers to use for our trips to the beach, plenty of beach towels, and there was on-site laundry for FREE which was awesome because we like to pack light. Really, the only thing that we had to worry about for this vacation was getting to Lavender Hill. Once we made it, it seemed like everything else was taken care and our biggest problems were which of the great beaches to visit that day and where to eat dinner that night.
We have been to a bunch of places in the Caribbean and done all-inclusive resorts and condo rentals and everything in between-- This was far and away the best, most relaxing time that we've had and we will definitely be considering Lavender Hill and St. John again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Don't think that there is a bad room here. The whole property is up on a hill with all the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linus9399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I only have wonderful things to say about Lavender Hill Suites. Before we left for vacation I had many questions as I always do. Brian was always very responsive and helpful. Also when we were delayed by a day due to TS Maria, they allowed us to extend our stay by the day we missed. And then when we left, we forgot to pack our hanging clothes and they are sending them to us. Customer service is A-1 at LH.

The condos have a wonderful view of the Bay from the living room as well as from the bed rooms. We loved to eat breakfast and have cocktails on the patio and watch the boats. The condos are very spacious and tropically decorated. The new King bed was very comfortable. They provide everything you need for the beach including beach chairs and towels, coolers, etc. Also, the condo provides everything you need to cook. The close proximity to Cruz Bay was awesome. I really cannot say enough about this place. Stop looking and book LH for your next STJ vacation! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taramyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Suites

Property: Lavender Hill Suites
Address: 3 Abb Cruz Bay | PMB 456 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Hill Suites(R) - 1 and 2 bedroom luxury suites all with spectacular Caribbean views just steps away from the shops, restaurants, ferries, and nightlife of Cruz Bay, St John. Each unit has its own unique tropical motif, and each offers fully equipped kitchen, TV, beach chairs and towels, coolers, fully AC, etc. We are the onsite owners and managers of units 1W, 2W, 3W, 5W, 7E, 8E, 10E and 12E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lavender Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hill Hotel Cruz Bay
Lavender Hill Suites St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing