We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
260
58
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
58
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the managers sound of the waves beach chairs rocky beach st john laundry facilities short walk salt pond hot tub noodles the kitchen cross breeze frank bay snorkel gear excellent hosts small pool great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 329 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018

As former St. John residents, we have been coming back to visit for decades and have usually stayed at Caneel Bay (for the beaches and security). Unfortunately, it is closed as a result of last year's hurricanes. So we selected Coconut Coast, which turned out very well for us. The management is very helpful and friendly, the room we stayed in was clean and everything seemed to work - although the shower was more of a spray mist, but water is always an issue here. The furnishings are nothing fancy, but are all you really need on an island. We never turned on the tv.
The location is pretty - between Turner Bay, Frank Bay and a salt pond. Lots of native wildlife, especially birds and iguanas. The rock / shell beach is tiny but pretty. A 5 minute walk around the pond and artist's studio* will bring you to Frank Bay, which has some good snorkeling, especially to the left toward Gallows Point. Also a good spot for sunset watching with the local peacocks. We did rent a car** so we didn't make the hike to town. We would definitely stay here again.

*Elaine Estern's Coconut Coast Studio is right on Frank Bay. Be sure to check out her work if you visit. We had several brief conversations with her and find her work fascinating.

**Cool Breeze car rental in Cruz Bay.

Room tip: The Orchid is on the top floor on a corner - good views in both directions.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank MrG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thanks for the wonderful, informative review. We are so glad you gave Coconut Coast Villas a chance since Caneel Bay is not open. We will be here for your next trip if needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here! It's so peaceful being on the water. The room was clean and had everything you could need. The view was great!
Julie and Dave are perfect hosts! They are so helpful and friendly. We look forward to returning again for another getaway in July.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank donnaroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

We had a group of 14 stay at Coconut Coast in June 2018. Everyone in our group loved the property. 4 of our group have stayed with Coconut Coast on two previous occasions. We weren't sure what to expect after the hurricanes, but the property is in great shape with little sign of the storms. The view is amazing, the proximity to Cruz Bay allows you to walk into town. The rooms are clean and comfortable with kitchenettes! We love the honor bar, the beach chairs, ice chests in the room to take to the beach. Julie and David, the management team, are very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend Coconut Coast on your next visit to St John!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you! It was great hosting your group and hope we can do it again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Nothing fancy or over the top, Coconut Coast Villas offer everything you need plus a few extras such as use of chairs to take to the beach, beach towels (good sized), and cold beer, soda, and water available by the can or plastic bottle. While good for families, it is better suited for those who want a peaceful paradise vacation. The view is stunning from Alamanda suite and I'm sure the other suites share such a view. You can feel safe to sleep with your balcony door open, listening to the waves come ashore and then trickle through the rocks. Very soothing. Grounds are well maintained and the managers, Dave and Julie, couldn't be more polite and helpful. Be sure to rent a vehicle (reserve it) for travel to beaches. However, a 12-15 minute walk (hills involved) will get you into Cruz Bay and the markets. My husband and I would most definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank judithbowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, General Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love to hear that guests were happy and enjoyed their stay! See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Just a short review on our stay at Coconut Coast Villa.
First and foremost, ST John’s and the rest of the Virgin Islands are still in disarray from the disaster of hurricanes last year. St John’s is for the most part open, but the damage is still evident.
Our trip down this time was for a family wedding event, and in planning we decided to extend our stay. It was just my daughter and I attending, and originally we planned for a short weekend. But in research my daughter found Coconut Coast, and what a find it was!
I have to state, Julie and Dave (who manage the villas) are two of the nicest people we have met. From the initial contact until our departure they were the most helpful of all. Anything we needed was immediately handled, and it felt like we had good friends as soon as we arrived. A+++, 5 stars is not enough to rate them!
About the accommodations. We stayed in the Lily, a small studio with a view of the water. Or should I say, we were basically on the water. A somewhat rocky beach right off the deck, with ocean sounds to awaken you in the morning. The layout was perfect for us, a bed in both the ground floor and the loft. A bit tricky getting into the loft, but once there is was almost a separate room for my daughter to stay in. The kitchenette has a fridge, microwave, stove (with cooking equipment) and coffee pot. Everything was extremely clean on arrival, and ready for use.
Outside there is a small pool, with an open area equipped with a barbeque grill. A couple of steps down and you are at the water. Ample parking is available, as well as a smoking area well away from the villas. Laundry facilities are available, and for the weary traveler just getting in there is a “honor” bar stocked with cold beer and drinks. Nice touch!
The walk to Cruz bay is a bit daunting, but in daylight hours you can take a nature path out to the road. For the most part we used the taxi services as we did not rent a car (wedding, drinks, fun = no driving). More on the taxi service in a different review, all was good.
I cannot praise the value of Coconut Coast Villas enough, what a top notch place. To note, we had over 80 people on this island for the wedding. The family and friends that visited our villa all said we made the right choice, and will be staying there for our reunion next spring.

Go visit the island, and say hi to Julie and Dave!
VI STRONG, forever

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Good day!

Thank you for the wonderful review and supporting us and St John after the hurricanes last year. Sounds like you had a great time and it was wonderful to host your family here at Coconut Coast Villas.

Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews