We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Coast Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Coast Villas
Save
You added Coconut Coast Villas to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Amazing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A wonderful location on Turner Bay on St. John. Our trip to St. Thomas started with a seven day live aboard sailing school. When that trip ended we easily walked to the St. Thomas ferry located at Red Hook where we then called Coconut Coast Villas and David met us at the Cruz Bay ferry and he brought us to the villas. Within five minutes we knew this was the exact location we needed after our working vacation. The hotel offers free use of snorkel gear, beach chairs, coolers, etc. Cruz Bay is a five minute walk through a private wooded path and the views are spectacular. We didn't rent a vehicle, everything we needed was within walking distance. Lots of restaurants, bars, grocery stores, banks, shops were right in Cruz Bay. We were sad to leave after only a two night stay. When it was time to leave, Julie took us to the ferry at Cruz bay where we then took a ferry directly to Charlotte Amalie and then a short taxi ride to the airport. My husband and I can't stop talking about our stay at coconut coast villas and we are trying to figure how soon we can return and stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lily suite which was right next to the pool and just steps away from snorkeling on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
So glad your trip was amazing! Sorry it had to be so short. We hope you can come back and stay with us for a week or so and get to spend more time in the sand and sun. Maybe next year! We appreciate the time you took to write a review about your stay at Coconut Coast Villas. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    53
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
141
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Julie and David were great hosts. Our party of 5 had a 2-bedroom for 7 nights with our days absorbed with snorkeling on the north coast (Trunk, Hawksnest, Maho Bay, Waterlemon Cay) and some in Frank Bay (a short walk around the Small Pond bird sanctuary), some right off the property on Turner Bay. We would grab towels, swimming noodles and beach mats (provided by CCV) and drive Route 20 to our destination. Towels were always available (thanks). Our unit (Bird of Paradise, 3rd floor) overlooked both the Small Pond with its inhabitants and the pool / Turner Bay. A breeze generally came from the Turner Bay side. We had good cooking equipment for those times when going to town did not make sense or to take some snacks for the road. So you did not have to absorb higher VI eating out costs for all meals. We recommend using Market Place for all food and drink shopping (also pharmacy). David recommended some eateries you should use when dining out - Rhumb Lines, Lime Inn. We also liked Sun Dog Café and, for takeout for breakfast or lunch, the deli on an upper floor of Market Place (Sam and Jacks?). You can walk to town via the path behind the Small Pond, but the hilliness really means driving - if so, use the municipal lot between the tennis courts and the car barge to get reliable parking at no cost and walk a couple of blocks. You must have a 4-wheel Jeep for driving - unless you are a mountain goat, the hillyness of the island is colorful and challenging - no oversized or underpowered vehicles will make you comfortable - we had a 5 passenger Wrangler from C&C - no problems.

Your hosts will do everything to make your stay comfortable. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had a 2-bedroom (each with a queen) and used the couch in the living room - a portable bed could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane_anthony_75023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to review Coconut Coast Villas. We are so glad you had great snorkeling experiences. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake County, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

As all have said, Julie and David are consummate hosts. The hospitality, snorkel gear, honor bar (great pricing), cleanliness, little pool, breeze and view made this a perfect home base for our long weekend on the island. It's not a resort, but if you want a great home base from which to explore and play and then come back and relax on your patio with a view and a breeze, it's perfect. The 10 minute walk to town is a safe and pleasant (both the daytime short cut and the evening route). The neighborhood around CCV is quiet. We'll definitely be back, and when we do return, we'll stay at CCV.

Room Tip: Bougainvillea was great for us (a couple) - vaulted ceiling, top floor and no one walks by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adelie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you! It was great having you here and can't wait to see you next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Relatively new managers at Coconut Coast Villas (CCV), Julie & David set the standard for hospitality and service: Some of the finest, most sincere customer service we've ever received, anywhere. Their communications prior to our arrival, including their coordination of our pickup from the St. Thomas ferry made the travel/check-in process a seamless non-event. Throughout our stay Julie & David provided us with so much useful info and tips on how to get the most out of our St John experience, including honest, well-informed advice on how to prioritize our activities without wasting time, or money. It was like having good friends who were "locals". Much appreciated over the course of our 5-night / 6-day stay.

The setting is peaceful with gorgeous southerly waterfront views, CCV is also conveniently located for excursions by foot, or jeep into the main town of Cruz Bay. The rooms are simple [in the best way] and comfortable. The property is well equipped with gear for the beach and snorkeling, and a crystal-clear pool/hot-tub (as well as a washer/dryer, and an "darn, we're out of beer" beer-fridge to hold you over until you can make it to the store). Overall, the property is immaculate. It's clear that Julie and David are committed to keeping the rooms updated and in good working order, which is no easy task on ocean waterfront property.

We traveled to CCV as a couple, but after our first day there we inquired about the availability of rooms suitable for families. We had already decided that we would return to CCV with our two children. The 2-BR room we were shown was fabulous (we were staying in the 1-BR "Petrea"). Now it's just a matter of finding a spot on our calendars...

We give CCV our highest, most unreserved recommendation. We can't wait to return!
Note: we have, and will upload pictures soon

Room Tip: Tell Julie/David your preferences/numbers, and allow them to recommend the best fit. That's what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write an in-depth review about your experience at Coconut Coast Villas. We enjoy interacting with our guests and giving them tips about the island. We are glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed beautiful St. John. Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed at CCV in mid April , as an ex- hotel manager I found the service and accommodations were above expectations. Julie and David really have hospitality down , from picking us up at the ferry taking us to CCV , to having beach chairs, snorkeling equipment and coolers available for FREE ! They even have a SUP they will rent you. I found it cheaper than the others renting SUP's, plus they will give you a ride and pick you up. Again AWESOME HOSPITALITY !
The rooms where super clean . I loved sleeping with the door and windows open listening to the small rocks rolling as the surf rolled in and crashed on the beach (very relaxing). After my visit to CCV & St John, I visited the rest of the BVI (U.S. & British) then spent another 3 weeks visiting Dem Republic, Jamaica , Cayman Islands, Honduras and Belize. My friends asked which of these I liked the best ? with a quick answer it was St.John hands down and my stay at CCV and the way we were treated was a huge part of that experience in St .John.

Room Tip: I really don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the review! We enjoyed having you stay at Coconut Coast and are so glad you appreciate our efforts here. We definitely want you to come back to St.John soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A nice location, and reasonably priced. I was dubious when I saw it on the TA site, so initially made the reservation for three nights. After checking it out, I extended for a week. I had opted to be economical on this trip and did not want to spend $400/nt at Westin or Caneel, simply because I expected to spend little time at the room, and wanted to spend my $$ on adventures and restaurants, not amenities. While others have commented on the easy walk to town, I found the taxis easy to deal with and so always caught rides. David even gave me a quick lift to the ferry to connect to St Thomas, which made departure easy. I stayed in the Ginger Thomas studio, which is less that 20 feet from the rolling surf of the bay, which made my friends jealous as they were in hillside resorts.
There's no maid service, so I didn't have to worry about people coming and going. I simply dropped off my used towels and picked up new ones as I needed them. They allow guests to do laundry in the evenings. I was also very happy with the WIFI and found the speed to be very good, even for three devices. I did not use the stove, fridge was fine. While the bathroom was a bit dated, everything worked well, including the AC. There is also plenty of free parking

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write about Coconut Coast Villas! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found that we are a great value here on St. John. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My experience at Coconut Coast Villas was everything that I had hoped for and more. The location is pretty much ideal in my opinion. It is located several blocks away from the downtown area, which makes it far enough away to be secluded and quiet but still close enough to be within easy walking distance (less than 10 minutes). The accommodations are tastefully simple yet comfortable with a "homey" feel, and everything was clean and well-maintained. Dave & Julie, the managers, are exceedingly personable, helpful and knowledgeable. They certainly did their best to make sure that my visit was a great experience.

I highly recommend Coconut Coast Villas and definitely will stay there again if/when I make it back to St. John!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you! We enjoyed talking to you everyday about all the exploring you did on St. John. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Coast Villas

Property: Coconut Coast Villas
Address: 268 Estate Enighed | Turner Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small oceanfront inn in a quiet family neighborhood with nine studio, two or three bedroom units. All with full kitchens, wide shady porches and en-suite baths. Easy walking distance to town. Parking, pool hot tub and ocean front grill. Free guest laundry and wireless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Coast Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Coconut Coast Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing