We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stress free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Coast Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I hesitate to share of my choice to stay here after a St Johns accom. research, but what ta heck. This place was stress free with no nickel/dimeing. An honor system of helping ourselves to amenities for the beach AND snorkeling [on the house]. Lulled to good night sleeps with the rocks rolling out with the waves. Had coffee, oven baked rolls, and fried eggs out on our private open porch. O.K. so you drink alot of coffee, bring extra. Need a firm mattress bring a pill, or do not want a wake up call from roosters along with 7:00 a.m. first ferry crusing out past your ocean view porch than perhaps go another place. As for my family it will always be this villa, good Lord willen!! Katie Tim and Angela from mn.January 2014

Room Tip: building two is even quiet on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megscouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruzbay, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your time here and that it was stress free! Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 308 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have stayed at Coconut Coast many times. We stay there either before or after a family comes.....we all stay together in a villa on STJ. CC hasn't changed at all over the years - clean, convenient to Cruz Bay and a bargain relative to other inns or hotels on STJ.

When staying CC, usually for 3 nights we don't rent a car and walk to Cruz Bay and to Soloman, Honeymoon and Caneel Bay beaches.

We love being on the water and the sound of the waves at night. The managers have changed from time to time over the years, but each one has been professional and very helpful. As said, each unit is clean, comfortable, but not fancy. Not a big deal, but there is a need now to upgrade and maintain some things, such as windows, screens, etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are okay. We much prefer on the upper level and like the upper room farthest from the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We take each review seriously and since your stay we have replaced all of the linens and most of the pillows at the hotel as well. We have also inspected the mattress in each room and have them on a schedule for flipping them and replacing them as they become uncomfortable.

I also checked the windows and found a couple to be a little hard to open so I lubricated the cranks and workings of the windows and they are much smoother now. The screens are replaced on a regular basis. During the busy season we make minor repairs when we check each room before guests arrive and have plans of making new frames and screens during the slower months. For right now they are in good repair and catch most of the critters.

Thanks again for staying with us! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our accommodations at Coconut Coast Villas and the location was perfect. we rented a car but location was ideal for walking into town and was right on the water and next to an interesting salt pond with wild peacocks and white heron, iguana and lots of chickens and rosters.
We felt like we were out in a sanctuary. Near by is Coconut Coast Art Studio which was a lovely walk around the salt pond. Our small unit had a kitchen and we also grilled by the pristine pool.
Property had an intimate, homey feel and manager, Tom, did everything to make us feel welcome.
We had beach chairs, coolers, beach towels and lots of good advise on where to go, snorkel and eat. Hated to leave this wonderful island but we will be back and we will stay at Coconuts!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan_Artist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave T, Manager at Coconut Coast Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the review and taking the time to write it. You gave great detail about Coconut Coast, which is great for other traveler's. We enjoyed having you here. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you're researching properties on St. John, you've figured out everything is expensive. If money is no object and you long to be pampered at a high class resort, bite the bullet and book at Caneel or the Westin; this property is not for you. If, on the other hand, you want a clean, comfortable room with a view after a day of beaches and trails, consider Coconut Coast.

My husband and I booked a studio, and we weren't sorry. For about half the cost of Caneel, we got a spacious room and bath with air, full kitchen, satellite TV, and sizable porch with a close-up, southerly view of the ocean - bring mosquito coils to use on the porch; the suckers :) were everywhere on the island. While some of the linens could be replaced, they were all clean and fresh and abundant - you have to swap out your own; daily maid service is extra. The property has a small, clean pool, a small rocky beach, beach chairs and noodles galore to loan, and a friendly manager (Liz) who's always around but only visible when you need or call her, a great resource for info on eating, shopping, parking.

It's not a bad walk into downtown Cruz Bay - 1/2 mile or 1 mile depnding on the route taken, an advantage since there's little parking there. Some people might consider the area a disadvantage - Coconut Coast is perched oceanside at the edge of a local neighborhood. It's safe (St. John is not Nassua or even St. Thomas) but it's not a gated resort or suburban Ohio. We found the locals to be polite and friendly.

While you can walk into town for dinner, you'll want a car to get to all the amazing beaches and trails. (The resorts have taxis, but you're not there, remember?) It's a short drive to the great beaches and trails from Coconut Coast, and driving on the wrong side isn't scary, even with all the hairpin turns, when the speed limit is 20 (or 10) mph.

One last thing: if you're considering some of the similarly priced properties in Coral Bay, make sure sure you realize that while it doesn't look like so many miles from Cruz Bay, it's really out there - an hour's drive of steep rises and sharp turns. I'd recommend Coconut Coast instead!

Room Tip: Second floor corner would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank dneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent an amazing 10 days at Coconut Coast. This was our second stay here and we can't imagine staying anywhere else. Such a welcoming place to come home to after a day exploring the island. It is in a perfect location...right in the middle of Cruz Bay. Once again we just walked over from the ferry with our luggage. We loved the supply of beach towels and chairs. The view from our room was beautiful. Tom and Liz went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed....they are the sweetest people! We love this place and will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baker497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am late in writing my review of Coconut Coast Villas. My husband and I stayed her for a week in April 2012. I thought I had written it, but just discovered I had not. Better late than never (I guess?). At any rate, Coconut Coast was an awesome vacation experience. The location of being right on the water was the biggest draw for me. Everything else was an added bonus. We are laid back travelers and do not expect petting and papmering. If you are this way too Coconut Coast will be an equally great experience fo you. It is great to have a small kitchen and refrigerator. We rented a Jeep so we went to the grocery store. We had breakfast on our deck each morning and watched the sunrise, made sandwiches to take in our cooler (provided by Coconut Coast) for lunch and headed out for a day of island exploration each day. The winds and the lapping waves greeted us on return to our room and lulled us to sleep like babies each night. No daily maid service which was fine with us. Plenty of clean towels are provided by the hosts so we just simply swapped ours out as needed. Washers and dryers on the premises if you need them. We did not as we were mostly in bathing suits and cover up clothing. I honestly took too many clothes and did not even wear 3/4 of them! The island is very laid back which is a welcome change from the hustle of normal daily life at home. Hosts were great with information on the island and recommendations on excursions, restaurants, snorkeling, etc. Did a day trip on the boat Bad Kitty (another of the hosts recommendations) and went to Virgin Gorda and The Baths (BVI), Norman Island, Cooper Island, Jost Van Dyke (gotta have a Pain Killer at the Soggy Dollar Bar there!). I highly recommend this excursion. Drove to the other end of the island, hiked Rams Head, hung out at Salt Pond Bay (another great recommendation of the hosts). Ate at the Lime Inn, Barefoot Cowboy Lounge (great for happy hour), Morgan's Mango, Spyglass (another great place for happy hour), Skinny Legs (famous for their burgers) and Woody's. We will return to St. John and we will definitely stay at Coconut Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariettaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was my first trip to the Carribean. My friends Joe and Gwen Fulkerson, Joe's sister Mary Faye Allender and myself had a wonderful time. Joe and Gwen had been to Coconut Coast the year previous and were very impressed. I think Coconut Coast is very unique. Balconies are only a few feet from the waters edge, and you can leave the door open at night and hear the waves crashing. If you are expecting a 5 star facility then it is not for you. It is clean, has beautiful views and a great value for the cost. Tom met us when we got there and was kind enough to take us to get a few things that we needed for the evening including dinner.

Coolers, beach towels, beach chairs and probably anything else we would have needed
was provided. Tom and Liz will be happy to suggest places to eat and visit. They were very wonderful hosts.

Waking every morning with the waves gently crashing having coffee on the balcony and watching the local goats parade in front of our room was just wonderful. I've never had a vacation where I felt so relaxed.

Great Beaches are just a short drive and the views you will encounter while getting there are just spectacular.

I would definitely stay again if I'm ever back in St John.

Cathy Blanford

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
3.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
477 reviews
9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Coast Villas

Address: 268 Estate Enighed | Turner Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $217 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Coast Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small oceanfront inn in a quiet family neighborhood with nine studio, two or three bedroom units. All with full kitchens, wide shady porches and en-suite baths. Easy walking distance to town. Parking, pool hot tub and ocean front grill. Free guest laundry and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Coast Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Coconut Coast Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing