We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on an expensive island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Coast Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed at Coconut Coast for one night in July 2007 before our week at another location. St. John is an expensive island, and trying to find a place for one night was a challenge. We stayed in a studio unit with a nice waterfront view.

Overall, I give Coconut Coast a high rating, but I'm not comparing it to Caneel or a high end villa. That would not be comparing apples to apples.

Coconut Coast is clean, basic and in a convenient location close to Cruz Bay. It's not luxurious, but it doesn't claim to be. The owners are nice and provide beach chairs and ample parking. You can walk to Cruz Bay (though you'll need to take a taxi back after dark). There is a small rock beach, and it's lovely to open your patio door in the evening and hear the ocean rolling the rocks back and forth.

It's located in a residential neighborhood, so adjust your expectations accordingly. CC doesn't have manicured grounds and pristine surroundings. For that, you'll need to pay a lot of money on this island.

The real gem on St. John are the North Shore beaches, so get our and explore. If you need an affordable home base in a convenient location, CC is a good option.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 311 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2008

When I initially researched this trip I did not find much information about Coconut Coast, so I hope this review helps someone decide whether Coconut Coast is appropriate for their own vacation.

Our unit was not fancy, but we found it to have everything our group needed. The property is ocean-front but you will not be using the beach or swimming in Turner Bay, especially once you see the rest of the island’s beaches. Honestly, unless you’re staying at Caneel Bay, which has fantastic beaches, you will likely be driving all over the island every day to explore the great snorkeling spots. Expect to have a somewhat adventurous vacation if you’re venturing to St. John. The driving can be harrowing, but the island is small and noone drives very fast.

Rent a jeep from Penn’s- super service and immaculate vehicles. They also have a lot in town, which is very convenient. ***Note: Andrew, from Penn’s, was extremely appreciative that our group called to tell them their flight was delayed and that the arrival time on STJ was pushed back several hours. Otherwise he simply shows up to every ferry hoping that the vehicle renters will be on that particular boat. I’m sure all vehicle rental companies would appreciate this same courtesy of calling regarding delays.

We loved staying right on the water, which is quite a commodity on STJ. In March/April we had a nice, comfortable breeze and never used the airconditioner. We left the screen and front doors wide open on many occasions and I received a total of 1 bugbite the entire week. Our unit looked exactly as the photos on the website depict, down to the cathedral ceiling and beautiful artwork.

Coconut Coast did provide beach chairs and a cooler. Most things in the condo were in great condition, from the bed linens to the appliances. I agree with the previous reviewer’s comment on the showers being in need of an update. Also, beach towels seemed to be a major commodity. We were provided with beach towels upon arrival, but it was not easy to nab clean ones the entire week. There were plenty of extra bath towels available.

We used the hot-tub on site many times. Make sure to run down and turn the temp up to 101 or so and give it a while to heat up before getting in.

I did lots of debating between staying near Cruz or the East End, and we were happy with our decision to stay West. Coral Bay is quaint, with a completely different vibe than Cruz, and I would love to stay on that end of the island sometime.

We found the distance to Cruz to be walkable, but I can see how others might not, depending on your preferred activity level while on vacation. The (unpaved) path is officially only open from sunrise to sunset and you really wouldn’t want to be traversing it after dark unless there is a full moon, because it’s covered in foliage and low hanging branches. The National Park hiking trails are also very close, which was handy.

I would not necessarily recommend CCV for a romantic getaway because I didn’t feel the units are very private, but if you want to stay someplace close to the action (using that term loosely because Cruz Bay is not exactly a booming metropolis- thankfully!) and an easy drive to the beautiful north shore beaches, this place is it! It is ideal for families or a group of friends looking for a great place to use as a base. Being a group of all females we felt very safe at CCV because it was not as isolated as a lot of the other rental properties on the island. We even forgot to lock the door one night.

Overall, it was a fabulous vacation and Coconut Coast was a great place to stay. Rachelle was always available to answer any questions and she had lots of great advice. Feel free to PM me with any questions about CCV or St. John. If you’re looking for a non-cookie cutter vacation on one of this planet’s most beautiful islands, with stunning beaches, blinding turquoise water, awesome scenery, fantastic food, and great people you will not be disappointed. I can’t wait to return to STJ!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iheartvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Our family of 5 stayed 2 nights at the Coconut Coast Villas. The suite was perfect. Very comfortable beds, spacious. Nice views. Quiet. There is a little pool and a hot tub (which was really only warm but still nice). Rachel, who greeted us and got us settled, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. She pointed us to good restaurants and routes to take.
There is a laundry room with a complimentary washer and a coin dryer. There is also a house phone in the laundry room for making free local calls. The little beach in front is not that nice, but this is St. John, there are lots of fantastic beaches.
During the day there is a path you can take which makes the walk into Cruz Bay very easy and quick. After dark, however, the walk is pretty gruelling (over "heart attack hill") and a taxi or car rental would be advisable.
Taxi's in St. John (and most of the caribbean) charge by the passenger and not the trip, so if you are travelling with a family I would recommend renting a car. Each unit at Coconut Coast has a parking space.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank MissFidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

The previous reviews are pretty accurate - the villas are nothing fancy, a bit worn, but very clean and comfortable. The shower stalls are probably the most in need of updating. Our kitchen was well stocked except for a few items that would have come in handy (scissors, cutting board). Extra bath and beach towels were easily available and it was great to have access to beach chairs and coolers. The best parts of Coconut Coast are the view from the balcony and the sound of the water lapping on the shore - heavenly. The owners were responsive with requests, and Rachelle in the office was so helpful with answering questions and offering suggestions. Reserve a villa on the top floor if possible. We were on the bottom floor and could hear guests walking above us, furniture moving, etc. St. John is great vacation spot! The beaches are absolutely gorgeous and Cruz Bay is a fun town. We would stay at Coconut Coast again.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiki09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My husband and I have stayed in Bermuda, St. Maartin (Dutch Side), St. Croix, and drove through St. Thomas on the way to St. John. By far - St. John is our favorite. We are looking forward to booking next year's vacation in St. John which we orginally were going to Europe... Oh well, I guess we can go to Europe the following year...

Coconut Coast Villas are simple and very clean even the dishes/plates/utensils in the kitchen were clean. The bed was comfortable, and the view was great (except for some construction next door during the day.) Although there is no security cameras or room safe, we aways felt very safe. The reason is that there is only one very steep road to access the Villa and it seemed that only people who lived on this road came down the street. Speaking of the hill, unless you are a star athlete, you need to drive into down for dinner. That hill is unbearable to hike in a nice outfit on the way to and from dinner.

The owners were very nice and helpful. The only thing I think they could have improved upon was providing a computer for internet access. My husband and I are in grad school and my husband had to submit his weekly homework from an Internet (Beer) Bar which was not easy to concentrate in.

Although there is not thing extra special about Coconut Coast, it is a great price with a great view and very nice owners.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pathrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

We found this property by searching TripAdvisor. We don't like hotels- we prefer something a bit funky with personality. There are just the two of us and we thought we would be lonely in a villa. We found the other guests to be friendly - they often gathered by the pool before dinner time. Our needs are simple - a clean room with a bed and a refrigerator. Twenty feet from the sea was certainly a welcome bonus!!!!! We ate every breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea, packed a lunch and ate out each night. Had we known about the coin washer and dryer on the property, we would have packed a lot less. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Just returned from beautiful St. John and Coconut Coast Villas.
These rooms are not fancy, but are comfortable, clean, and
walking distance to town, which is what we like. The bedding
and towels could use some updating, but other than that a
great value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nss1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Coast Villas

Address: 268 Estate Enighed | Turner Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $204 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Coast Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small oceanfront inn in a quiet family neighborhood with nine studio, two or three bedroom units. All with full kitchens, wide shady porches and en-suite baths. Easy walking distance to town. Parking, pool hot tub and ocean front grill. Free guest laundry and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Coast Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Coconut Coast Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing