We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and quirky Inn in a good location.”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and quirky Inn in a good location.”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

A boutique Inn with very friendly and helpful hosts. The relaxed help yourself breakfast and the free cocktails on the balcony at 6pm every day, gave an ideal oportunity to meet fellow guests.
One of the hosts arranged an excellent boat trip for me at very short notice and advised on the best local restaurants,
My bedroom was spacious as was the en-site bathroom, but don't expect luxury. air conditioning unit. But if you are looking for areasonably priced Inn with a friendly atmosphere and good service, then this place is for you. As a solo traveller I felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchesteranne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    121
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
89
272
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2010

What can I say to even describe how the St.John Inn feels to us. Our journey began when my daughter moved here and we were desperate to find a room on a Friday. Steven and Brandon came through and we were in a room even though most hotels were booked as were they, but they managed to have a room for us that night and for a few nights after. We loved every room we stayed in here. The beds are beautiful and very old world and the mattresses pure heaven. The rooms are clean and every one is different. A/C and a television! That means a lot when you are hot and tired. You are within walking distance to everything in Cruz Bay. Every night at 6 pm they put out complimentary cocktails and you can sit outside and enjoy the night air and sounds of the tropics. A complimentary breakfast follows with as much coffee as you want, and bagels and waffles. Steven, Brandon and Teri always were sweet and made us feel like we were part of their family and we could never imagine staying anywhere else. We have recommended this hotel to our friends back in California and Canada. We will definately be back especially if these ones are here. St John Inn is one of those places that feels like a big hug. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The St. John Inn is definitely a budget hotel, which is the type of place that I am comfortable traveling so I won't complain about that. Though I will say if you are looking to stay there because it offers air conditioning, be sure to ask for a room with glass in the windows, otherwise it is pointless.

Unfortunately, on my second day of vacation, I tripped and sprained my ankle and was on crutches for the rest of the stay (3 more nights). I made it to the room once, but realized it was almost impossible because of all the stairs and wobbly handrails. The next morning, my travel partner explained the situation to the person watching the hotel while the owner was on vacation, asking if we could possibly even get a partial refund because I could no longer really access the room or get out easily once in. He said he wasn't sure, we decided to go ahead and check out and go to somewhere with easier access. He promised to call back with an answer, which he never did. When I called back he asked why we didn't switch to a different room, but he never offered that in the first place. He then said the owner would not even offer a partial refund. It was definitely a frustrating experience made worse by bad customer service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgl199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveWolf, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
The management regrets that you sustained an injury during your travels around Cruz Bay, but our cancellation policy does not provide for refunds due to circumstances beyond our control. As is standard practice with many properties in the Caribbean, the windows on our exterior rooms are equipped with hurricane shutters and fly screens, but do not have glass for safety reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The short and sweet of it is this-- there aren't a ton of options for decent, budget-conscious travelers to choose from when visiting St. John. However, whatever you pay you want to feel like it's at least a okay return on your hard-earned money. Well, the St. John Inn just can't quite make the cut. The rooms are quite odd, albeit generally fairly clean. I was in something of a dungeon-like room next to the street. It didn't even feel all that safe to be quite honest since the door lock was incredibly difficult to use and the door itself looked and felt like a high school kid had made it in woodshop. The AC is more like a suggestion than a reality and when a very large bug visited the shower I had to call management to seal the woodwork from whence the critter came as it escaped my attempt of killing it. Despite the tone of this review, I am not a picky traveler, but this was just not worth even the "bargain" price I paid. Keep looking...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The St. John Inn is the worst place we have ever stayed. The website completely misrepresents the facility and experience we had. We actually had one of - if not the best - suite in the facility. We felt sorry for others staying in rooms with no windows, etc... The absentee owner obviously has not maintained the Inn in many years and the daily accoutrements are a joke. We really felt robbed - to the extent that we called the Westin mid-week to price out a room and just eat the cost at the St. John Inn. The $500+/night at the Westin (on top of the $275/night we had already paid) motivated us to tough it out. One positive at the Inn was the couple running it for the owner. They were doing their very best with the situation, were helpful, friendly, and upbeat.
Here are some of the things wrong at the St. John Inn: Disgusting smelly stained hole-ridden towels and sheets (two fitted sheets for the pull out bed? no top sheet to be found...); moldy shower curtain, low flow drippy shower (had to wear flip-flops in the shower); bathroom door locked by itself and would not unlock; toilet loose on the floor; ceiling fan clanked when starting up or slowing down; phone did not work during our week long stay - no way to contact the office or front desk; mattress very old; dead bolt lock on room door did not work; half the lights did not work; half the windows did not open; AC barely kept the room cool; kitchenette not really furnished (4 plates, 2 forks, 2 spoons, 2 knifes, no glasses); freezer that did not freeze but the refrigerator froze the juice and groceries at will; electric power strip directly behind the kitchen sink; tiny bugs all over the kitchen and bathroom; continental breakfast (what continent? - thawed frozen waffles and muffins, mealy fruit, two cereals, diluted OJ, coffee); loud local bar within a stone's throw, three rental car companies and an abandoned building on our street; dirty tiny pool; loose decking and nails; construction noise with a slight view of the industrial harbor and power lines.

We plan to go back to St. John (which we loved) again next year - but you could not pay us to go back to the St. John Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blessington7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, VT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We were on a week trip to St. John, first trip in ten years. Stayed here the first three night then to Concordia for three nights then back to St. John in for our last night. It was clean, the staff very helpful and it was close to downtown - we considered it downtown. It also is close and between to the Dolphin and Starfish markets. We had a wonderful meal one night at Candi's a local vendor on the way to Starfish.
I would recommend this Inn to most friends, but if you demand a four or five star Inn this is not it. But, the price is right for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheeprock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

As some of the other other reviewers have mentioned, St. John is a very expensive place to stay and you can expect to pay for a 2 to 3 star hotel here what you might pay for a 4 or 5 star hotel elsewhere. However, on St. John, a 5 star hotel costs more per night than many people pay for their monthly mortgage bills, so it is all relative. Just check out the Westin and Caneel Bay prices and you'll see. So if you want a decent place to stay, with a free breakfast, free internet (yes, it only worked intermittently, like everything on St. John), friendly and helpful staff and a fantastic location, then the St. John Inn is the place for you.

The location is fantastic. While it is not on the beach, it is a short hike to two of the most beautiful beaches around. The hotel is located between the restaurants and stores of town and a small mall type area, so you have many more options to eat and shop than if you stayed in one of the resorts. The location gives you the feeling that you visited the island and experienced it, rather than that you just visited a resort on the island.

The rooms are small and are not at all resort-like and frankly not all that nice. Basically it is a 2 star hotel from this perspective. We stayed in a "suite", and it consisted of a small sitting room, bedroom and tiny bathroom. We did have a refrigerator and a microwave. The rooms certainly could be updated and have improved decor, but we never felt that they were dirty as others have mentioned. We really did not want to spend any more time in ours than we had to, but that's OK since we weren't there to sit in our hotel room. The breakfast and happy hour are a nice touch; no they are not resort style spreads, but the breakfast will provide you with a little food at the start of your day on the nice deck, and the happy hour is a place to grab a margarita or punch and relax on the deck at the end of the day. If you are looking for a bar type happy hour experience, there are a number of options in town.

The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They will point you to the small local places, if that is what you are interested in, like the little barbeque place a couple of blocks from the hotel. They are also very accommodating to your requests. For example, our lock didn't work correctly when we checked in, but by the time we returned from our day's adventure, it was fixed. The hotel does provide beach chairs, towels and coolers, which is nice. The chair can be worn like a backpack for your hike to the beach. And the hike to the beach is a good thing - it help keeps these beautiful places less crowded and lets you get a little exercise and burn off the previous day's food and drink so you don't feel too self conscious on the beach! ;-)

St. John is a beautiful, fantastic place to visit, and the St. John Inn is a decent option for those not wanting to pay resort prices and who would prefer to be located in/near town and would be content with a budget hotel (NOT at a budget price). There are many rental options available, and if you have a few people to share in the cost, these can be the most reasonable way to go. However, many are not located in town, but in more remote areas of the island. Many people might prefer that, but if you like experiencing what it is like to truly visit a place, then consider the St. John Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing