We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
374
130
31
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
374
130
31
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rum punch happy hour beach chairs st john alice cooper snorkel gear small pool ferry dock every morning in town five minute walk boutique hotel bug spray the location is perfect the managers coral bay can't wait to go back
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 554 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

In November 2018 I booked 2 rooms for 2 days for my family. I spoke with the owner and told him we would arrive from St Croix via our boat. The day we were suppose to arrive our boat had mechanical issues about 7 miles out in open water and we were adrift in 6ft swells for over 3 hours. We barely made it back to St Croix later that afternoon. I called the owner around 1pm and let him know we werent going to be able to make it. When I asked him if he would refund our money he said he had to think about it and would get back to me. I talked to him later that day and he said he could only refund it if he was able to book the rooms. I asked if we could even get a credit for the 2nd day and again he said he would let me know later. I have messaged him and called him a few more times with no reply. Very poor business. We were so looking forward to staying here.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank steph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

I stayed at the SJI for r nights in mid-May. The accommodations were comfortable, and welcomingly cool. Free breakfasts and rum punch social each evening were nice opportunities to share ideas for activities among guests, and to learn a bit about island culture from the Inn Managers. The town itself is quite hilly, so it's a bit of a walk but easily do-able to walk into and home from town. Very reasonable taxies are available to help with shuttle, too. Two markets are close by, and rooms have fridge and microwave, and there's a grill by the pool. Comfortable and accessible, overseen by great stafg

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Nan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottyRohlfsen, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Thanks a lot for staying with us and for leaving a nice review. We're glad you had a positive experience, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

little place
good for rest
quiet
clean
nice location
very accessible from or to where you are going
great customer service nice people nearby restaurants beach ferry facilities
lots of taxi
nice music

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank etravelmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottyRohlfsen, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Thank you for the nice review. Come back and join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

We loved: the friendly staff, the low key ambiance, the cluster of small buildings with connecting decks, breakfast deck with view, the resident cats who came for visits morning and evening, the family of rooster, hens and chicks down the road, the vibrant colors, having other kids around, being a short walk away from the commercial area.

Room tip: phone ahead and ask, there is a variety
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylmydas008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottyRohlfsen, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Thank you for the good review. We're glad you enjoy all the charm on our cute little block. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

We visited 25th of April and checked in around 20:00 pm.
Unfortunately, we had no hot water in the shower and the water pressure was very bad. no one was at the reception through the evening/night after we checked in, and there was no one to talk to.
In the morning we told the lady at the reception about the water and she didn't seem to care or wanting to make us feel more welcome or comfortable. She only said "i checked and you have hot water in the sink", unfortunately we cant take a shower in the sink.

We were tired and after a very long day and flights and only needed a good shower and sleep.

It was disappointing to pay a high price for this kind of service and poor hospitality.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ofgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottyRohlfsen, Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

We're so sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience, especially because the issue in your room could have been solved in seconds if you just called. We always have a manager on duty that can easily be reached at any hour of the day or night. All you have to do is dial the number posted on the front desk and on the front door either with your cell phone or using the phone right there at the front desk. In a case like this, all you had to do was turn the shower knob the other direction and you would've had hot water with excellent pressure as we found out the next morning when we heard about the problem. We're happy to help out any guest no matter what time of day or night. We're very sorry your experience was unpleasant and we urge our guests to let us know if there are any issues we can resolve instead of waiting till the end of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews